What is your favourite pet and what do you think you receive from them as far as fulfillment, mentally, spiritually and emotionally ?

in #pet5 years ago

View this answer on Musing.io

My roommate and I have a lot of pets and I don't think I could pick a favorite.

But what do they all have in common? They've helped my depression immensely.

Knowing I have to be up every 8 hours to give our husky his medication because he's been diagnosed with epilepsy has helped me get a sleep schedule and stop sleeping 12+ hour days.

Knowing I need to be responsible every single day for their care has given me a reason to keep going and stave off suicidal thoughts when things get really bad. Thinking about what would happen to the cats, if they might end up at a shelter or get separated....Like, the one time we had to send Toby off to the vet for a few days Crow was so anxious and stressed it was actually upsetting to watch. I honestly think if we keep them until the end of their natural lives when one dies the other will soon follow because of heartbreak and depression.

I think about how our rats might end up with someone else, or maybe just back at a pet store and never go to a loving home because of how most people view them. Same with our snakes, especially Cassandra because she's still really spooky and tends to strike out when we're handling her and I know a lot of people who want snakes won't take one that is prone to striking. It's not her fault, she just wasn't handled a lot and needs to get used to it.

I am healthier because of them all put together. Mentally because of all the above, physically a little because I'm less stressed and thus don't binge eat and sometimes walk the dog and all that. My life is better because of the animals in it, 100%

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71