📷 Everlasting Flowers

in #petals6 years ago

Everlasting Flower

Everlaster

Paper thin petals that appear like dried out flowers on stems, pick them and keep them in special bouquet, they retain the colour for many years.

Most places where they do grow up in the Drakensberg (where this was photographed) these plants are protected. Only photograph you are not allowed to remove, to purchase I believe there are places in the Cape, where they are specially grown in nurseries for sale.

Quite a hardy plant with velvet felt-like leaves, part of the daisy family.

Pink Everlasting Flowers

Photography my own taken with a Canon EOS 500D


Communities I support: @qurator @steemitbloggers @steemthat @teamsouthafrica @kryptonia Photography with @juliank

@steemitbloggers

Steemit-Kryptonia-SUP

@joanstewart

Sort:  

beautiful flower

Excellent photos and a very interesting flower. I've never seen one like this. Probably, they do not grow here.

In South Africa I have only seen them in the Cape (Table Mountain) and Drakensberg mountain region.

These grow flat to the ground in the valley area, higher up on ridges they tend to grow longer stalks standing about 6 - 8 inches off the ground.

Drakensberg region I have only seen the red/pink and white blooms.

Clear. Thank you for showing such unique things, it's very interesting.

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Join us on discord:
discord invite

This is just so pretty and delicate. A good find indeed.

More common in your area @jusipassetti

Beautiful shot. I love the shallow depth of field in the top image.

Really awesome flowers, I have never seen them before. Great photos too. Thanks for sharing :)

Really do last, my Dad had one off Table Mountain most probably from the 1960's. Kept it in a case he used for shaving kit, it was still there looking good in the 1990's when I last noticed it @moderndayhippie

Waw really impressive flower 👍🏼

looks like a very lovely flower Joan

Thanks for visiting @macrophotography appreciated.

These remind me of my father. He used to grow a slightly taller variety in Bots in Grahamstown. Common name, everlastings and botanical name Helichrysum, I think. He and showed me how dry them to make them into arrangements. Thanks for reminding me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27