Merlin the magic cat

in #pets5 years ago

I have't posted much about my cats here on steem. I'm not sure why, maybe I have too much other stuff to say. Anyway, out of some 1150 posts I think only maybe 10-12 have featured my cats. Surprising considering the large role they play in our lives.

This is Merlin, the oldest of our cats. Due to his colour, and my limited photography skills, he is difficult to photograph although we still have many photos of the old fellow. Here is sitting in a basket. For some reason he loves sitting in things. Get a suitcase out to pack for a trip and he's in it. The lid comes off the laundry basket - he's in it. I put my laptop down and he's sitting on it. Weirdo.

He's twenty, an old chap in cat years. He's spritely though, runs around like a young cat and gets into mischief still. He came to us as a street-kid slinking around our back door, skinny and obviously in stress. I told my wife not let him inside as we already had our own indoor cat and true to form she ignored me. He was in and cuddling up with Dixie our own cat in no time. And so we kept him. That was years ago. I don't know if he was someone else's but after putting some signs up around the area no one claimed him. Fine by us. He was not chipped either so we figure just a stray.

He's a good natured-cat, loved Dixie and was fiercely protective, just like he is with Cleo now. Sure, he gets grumpy [like me] but he is a great-natured cat, loving, snuggly and funny too.

He's been slowing down a little lately though and whilst he seems ok we notice it and worry. Of course, we know he will leave us at some stage however we don't want that day to come too soon. We will be so upset. Each vet visit the vet says how good he is doing but he's started to loose a little weight now and certainly his muscle-tone is nowhere near as good as it once was. It's sad thinking about it I guess but even as I write this Merlin is sitting on his cat pole looking around, watching me and I feel fortunate we have him still. There's life in the old boy yet.

Losing pets is a terrible experience, although it happens. I recall losing Dixie (pictured above) and how devastated we were. It was in very tragic circumstances and took us by surprise. We invest so much into our pets as humans and when they go it hurts, but we do it again with the next. We cherish each day we have with our cats and, as a childless couple, pour a lot of love into them no different to people would with their children. We like our cats more than most people to be completely honest.

So the old fella, Merlin, is the head of our household, Cleo is his second in command, although she thinks she's the boss, and Faith and I are just the humans to be tolerated. That's how cats roll and we don't mind, they bring us a lot of happiness so we play along willingly.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺

Sort:  

I’m pretty sure all the described cat behaviour is perfectly normal 🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

My cats are exceptional...Not normal though. :)

Twenty is very old for a cat! I'm glad he's still happy and healthy. I completely fall apart when I lose an animal too. Every time I wonder if it would be better not to have them, because getting so attached and then losing them is such a gut-wrenching thing, but I honestly don't think I could live without them. I'm happy to meet Merlin. I've seen pictures of Cleo, but I didn't know Merlin was your elder statescat.

Merlin says, g'day! :)

Yep, Merlin is the wise old man of the household and pretty much slinks around knowing he is the king of the domain. He's a good cat though, looks after Cleo and rules over us human's.

I agree, not having a pet would be very difficult. Moving forward we want to travel a lot more and it will be hard to do with pets considering Faith's mum is also getting older and will be unable to look after them when we go. Contemplating life without pets is a difficult thing. I'm not sure what we'll do but for now we have the old boy and bubah (Cleo) and we couldn't be without them.

I get it!!! We lost one of our babies, Miss Kitty, last year and she was a foundling that was born in our front garden. (why my garden! I already had a dog horse, fish, pet squirrel that fell out of the nest, a cat, fish, and three cockatiels. God has a sense of humor.

She was 15 and became diabetic and was losing weight rather quickly. This was diagnosed and they wanted to put her on insulin and very expensive medication.

Le sigh. We changed her diet, got her diabetes in check without all the meds and she stayed with us for two more years. Did we do right by her not giving her the meds? I think so. She was so loved by us and she had a great life. She was purring as I was bringing her to the vet on the last trip. We still miss her as she was the most loving cat ever.

I can only hope that she knew how much we loved her.

I love your pictures and your cats are precious. The pleasure they give us is no able to be measured. Hug you cat for me.

!tip

Very difficult to lose pets although we'd not want to see them in any pain either. I'm sure Miss Kitty had a good life with you.

🎁 Hi @galenkp! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Sublimely Eclectic On A Beautiful Sunday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Wow 20 he is doing well 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

He's doing well for an old boy...Like me. Although, I have my moments. 😊

Lol we all have our moments 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely an old man! Glad he is still doing well.

We lost our 18 year old cat a few years ago and I still feel it occasionally. Our current cats are getting older, but we just try to enjoy the time we have with them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84