Can we help to cheer up this new(ish) Steemian?

in #pets4 years ago

I have a soft spot for doggos and all people that share my love for the creatures. I also have a great deal of dread about the eventual day when my doggy friend will inevitably pass on to the great doggy beyond.

We all know that day is coming sometime, and I don't think any of us are prepared for the sadness that will follow.

4bEjbgCbFMvA8T33kKpp3RsBvZue1Hns5Cwuz57pgmmNsNjVopxEVhYnc6n7C9FaUSfnm48cwdmzinJnGweoi2p2kGpiJuXgvBxPsXzM5p9eXCMq9aebv2Bi2CMxc84Vsf1D6dARJZaWe8JNBiDaZm48Z4txsuSo99HfiQ32zFr6VPdtm4.jpg
source

I recently discovered @tomoyan while scrolling through the "New" section as i tend to do an hour or so per day. I saw that he / she had put together a very touching montage to their beloved pet, who had recently passed on just a few days ago.

4bEjbgCbFMvA8T33kKpp3RsBvZue1Hns5Cwuz57pgmmNsNzqxDT66fiwumSTJTpmYk5BFpBn2Fn6mWyXYtUhA154kU2o4W5CSqEng4zVxtm4TRAZz1Cb2NTLLgxuiAK5dqupe1bUFMVq8t69RJwgGjyHuC6efFjDEdvYXbQuM6QprncAqU.jpg
source

The video was (in my mind) very well-made and of it made my eyes watery.

https://d.tube/v/tomoyan/i2jh4nzo2oe
I can't get the video to embed, someone teach me how to do that and I'll edit the post

I think it should be relatively easy to understand, whether you have a pet or not, that @tomoyan is really going through a rough time right now and I think it would be nice if we could give back to the community a bit in the way of support during this dark time. I don't mean to sound patronizing, but I think that if i were in the same situation, I would appreciate any little nice thing that people, even strangers, could do for me.

I have lost 3 pets in my life, 2 of which were of old age, and it was a terribly rough time for me. We invest so much time and love into these creatures and for me, since I don't have any human children, my doge-pal is like a child to me. I certainly behave like an overprotective parent anytime I take her anywhere and i have been to the vet multiple times that were completely unnecessary visits just because her tummy hurt for a couple days in a row.

@tomoyan 's original post can be found here

I would really appreciate it if everyone could get over there, upvote, and say a nice word or two. It's sad to see that previously this Steemian had been posting about the NBA, movies, and tourism locations in Japan (happy stuff) and abruptly, all of their posts are about sadness and grief. I know that one day I will be going through the same thing and I am very afraid of that day.

Let's see if we can be a little bit of sunlight in the darkness, if only for a little while.

I will be transferring all the rewards from this post over to @tomoyan

Sort:  

This is so kind of you. Losing ones pet is one of the saddest thing ever. Especially if there was a strong bond. I've been there before and understand how he feels. My cat got hit by a car in September and died. I was so sad and depressed for about two weeks.I had to get another cat of the same breed to make me feel better a bit, and it worked but still I miss my old cat.

Oh my gosh.. So sorry about your cat.. that's terrible. To lose a pet is a very sucky feeling and one I know that I will have to face again in the future. Not ready for it :-(

I tried to help out :-( that video really got me.. ESPECIALLY at the very end. Was choking back tears.. uggg. I hate this part about life.

yeah, i know, it got me too. I don't normally find anything terribly compelling on the new page, but this was truly tragic.

It is not easy when one of your beloved dogs go. I lost both of mine within two weeks of each other. The bull mastiff is a large breed and have problems with their hips late in life and they just give way. It was weird that they both went so quickly and had to have them put down. It is terrible being in the room when the vet puts them to sleep, but you have no choice. I have another bull mastiff today and he is on a special diet and he will last longer as there is no fat on him anywhere and his hips are good. Will go and upvote as well.

I went and checked out the post.

Yeah, it makes me sad to see people lose their dogs. My dog Harvey (Cocker Spaniel) is 14 now and having a lot of medical issues all the sudden. I know he probably doesn't have much time left, and I'm not really dealing very well with it.

I've had him since he was a puppy and it is devastating to see him in pain now. I don't think I'll ever be able to get a new dog. I really don't want to go through this again, even though I wouldn't change having him for anything.

this made my heart hurt just reading it buddy. I hope your doggo ends up ok for real.

I am with you. I will occasionally find myself driving to work and I start to think about how much time I have left with my dog or what will happen when she is now around. I start to tear up and have to remind myself that going into the ditch won't help anyone. I basically try to avoid any of the sappy movies where the dog gets hurt or lost or worse. It just isn't something that I want to watch. My sympathy truly goes out to the OP on this one!

ありがとう(Thank you) @gooddream and everyone!
https://steemit.com/dog/@tomoyan/thank-you-gooddream
I would love to your dog pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01