Your pet is constantly scratching and it might not be your fault

in #pets5 years ago (edited)

My doge is pretty much the most important thing in my life. I think if there was a life-and-death situation where I had to save one of a vast majority of my friends, or my doggo - I would have one less human friend than I do now.

48395413_228860558009440_7083864834613182464_n.jpg
special imported cheesy chewies!

So anytime there is something even minor wrong with her I look to alleviate that. One of these things is why is it that she appears to be so itchy? I mean she spends half the day scratching in one form or another and I can't figure out what it is.

49803780_371600473386608_4846428426652876800_n.jpg
she spends an awful lot of time sleeping as well

I check her out closely for ticks and fleas on a pretty-much-daily basis and there are never any and this is with good reason: I spend quite a lot of money on that prescription treatment that makes it very difficult for these pests to live on her. She also gets baths a normal amount such as once a week because I read that too much bathing can irritate their skin.

49691998_2245377242451618_5716376410394722304_n.jpg
one of those days where it is just so difficult to stay awake

After not being able to figure out what the problem is I thought maybe it could be a food allergy or fabric softener or something. So I went and had her blood tested and the results came back negative for everything. The only other thing they can do is to actually inject her with things that can encourage an allergic reaction and I declined because I don't like the idea of giving my dog 20 injections all at once - although I suppose it might be the next step.

50309752_2277132392311292_8461440410433093632_n.jpg
at the vet, her least favorite place

In the end, after doing a lot of online research, speaking to the best vet in Krabi as well as a friend who is a vet back in the states, the answer is this: Dogs just scratch a lot - sometimes it is just from boredom or even anxiety such as if they think something exciting is about to happen. For my ShihTzu, I can actually make her have a scratching fit every time i pick up my keys because maybe one out of every five times the keys are procured this means we are going to the park together.

I guess for any of you nervous pet owners out there this might be something you already know: Sometimes dogs just do dog things and it is normal. There is nothing wrong with my fluff-friend. Perhaps I, like many dog owners, just try to humanize her too much.

49348994_392556228233266_2487267126490955776_n.jpg
we're going to the park.... right?

Do you have a story about you going over the top for your pet? I'd like to hear it, or maybe just share a pic of your fur-baby for the world to see. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

Dear @gooddream, your dog is very beautiful and adorable. I'm one of your team, I would do anything for my three puppies, they win our hearts, they are faithful and unconditional. It's normal to scratch, so the vet told me too, don't worry. I'll leave you a picture of mine. They are father, mother and son.

photo_2018-04-19_18-48-13.jpg

awwww. little cuties!

I would have a friend less haha
What a good friend if you love your dog
My dog ​​died years ago

how tragic... sorry to hear that pal. :(

Oh, it's a tenderness! It provokes comerselo, it looks like a stuffed animal. hahaha his face at the vet is a horror movie.
I would also be left without a human friend, first my dog. Also, I understand that it is maddening to see them badly, there is nothing more that I detest in life than to see my dog suffer

At times when dogs scratch their body it is mainly because of loneliness or boredom, so I will advice to always take your dog outdoor or try and introduce her to some neighbour hood dogs as friends I this way she will be lively and active. I believe with such measures it will surely reduces or eliminate the scratching of your dog

Wao this dog to much beautiful. I really like dogs. 2 years ago my dog died. I m so sad. Many peoples like animals. Dogs very close to human beings. Your dog small house to good.

🏆 Hi @gooddream! You have received 0.5 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe and increase the reward for @gooddream :) | For investors.

Lovely god and pics. Good you have such a small and cute dog.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 850 posts. Your next target is to reach 900 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20