My old Dog....Follow up

in #pets6 years ago

This is a follow up of my Scooter,

Here is my original post :
https://steemit.com/pets/@hndmarshall/old-dogs

Well his new wheel chair cart came in and its maiden voyage did not go as expected...actually it was more like the Titanic!

I opened the box and pulled it from the box. It was an odd looking contraption, I held it up and looked at him. It took some adjusting to fit him they had it on the smallest settings for compact shipping. Scooter watched me with his head tilted to one side.

After the adjustments I picked up his leash and called him to me .

"Scooter want to go outside...go bye bye?".

He jumps up stumbling to me as usual. I clipped on his leash and then picked him up placing him in the wheeled contraption. He looked up at me like I had just taken him to the vet for neutering. Not a good look.

I walked a few steps and called him. He took a few steps , but I could tell he did not care for it one bit. I scooped him up and took him outside setting him on the drive.

"ok Scooter come on honey lets go to the lake" I said as me and the cat started walking away from him toward the lake.

Once I got across the drive I heard a bark. I turned and clapped my hands and he barked again. I knew he was yelling "What the hell momma!"

Scooter gave a few hops like a rabbit then barked repeatedly at me. I just know he was cursing me out because Scooter is not known for barking. Suddenly he came trucking to me his little wheels rolling. I bent down to praise him and he ran right past me to the tree. Scooter rounded the tree and discovered another frustrating impossible feat. How was he going to cock his leg and pee in this contraption?

Scooter took a bit of trying but soon figured it was best to just stand and let it flow. He looked up at me and barked once more telling me how he felt about his new assistance device... He hated it.

I reached down and scratched him on the head

"It will be ok, Scooter with practice you will get used to it" I told him.

Scooter huffed and walked a short distance then with everything he could muster tipped himself and the cart onto its side. He laid their pawing the air with his two little feet together as if he was begging to have this torture device removed. I sat him upright again and tried to get him to walk back to the house but he was having no parts of it.

With a bark and a flip he had it on its side again. I felt sorry for him and removed him from the cart and carried both back to the house. Scooter refuses to use the cart and it seems his condition has improved a bit. I figure I will let him stumble around as long as he is fine with it and improving. If he gets worse I still have the cart.

Sort:  

I hope he is going to get fine soon, he has very smart face

thank you, he is a smart one and I hope he gets better too

Awww, poor Scooter - but he has definite ideas about what he doesn't like, and I did have to chuckle about that. I wondered how he would do a poop if he needed to .... but obviously, you won't be worrying about that just yet, lol. Glad to hear he's had a slight improvement, and hope that keeps up. Keeping you both in my thoughts and prayers. xox

thank you, I just hope he pulls out of this but at least i have the wheels if he needs them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63868.85
ETH 3063.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10