PHC Top 3 Contest: My Top 3 Kids Tv Shows (null entry)

in #phctop35 years ago (edited)

Remember those mornings where we would wake up early on the weekend to watch our favorite shows when we kids?

We would stay in our pajama’s scurrying to get our breakfasts, running to the living room to sit 3 feet in front of the TV, on the old soft carpet with our plate or bowl on the floor.

Do your kids do that today? Now that we have streaming and Netflix, I doubt that many kids experience this rush of “HURRYUPITSON!” When your sibling would make your heart race, feeling like the house is a major obstacle course, jumping over the couch, tripping on your landing, fighting back the tears from the pain of almost breaking your leg, only to see that it is still a commercial. Then you turn to your left to look at your brother or sister only to see a face full of smiles, laughing at the prank he/she just pulled on you.

I used to watch a lot of cartoons as a kid. Even as a kid I kept to myself a lot so most of my days outside of school were spent drawing, playing in the forest trails with just myself and my imagination and watching cartoons.

I remember the days of watching the old Batman show where it looked like they created the show with real people acting right out of the comic strips.

Remember when they would hit the villain? You wouldn’t see them get hit but instead the entire TV screen would flash with silly words like “POW”. I can’t believe I was entertained by that.


Image from Pixabay.com

I was also entertained by Spiderman, so much that I can still sing along with the theme song.

Spiderman, Spiderman, does whatever a spider can. Spins a web any size, catches thieves just like flies. Look out! Here comes the Spidermaaaaaan. :D

Oh! Do you remember My Pet Monster? That little blue monster that would turn into a stuffed animal when the handcuffs were on, I used to have one just like it. He was fun, quirky, and mischievous even.

They don’t make shows like they used to anymore.

I had a wide variety in the type of shows that I watched. From He Man to Animaniacs, Ninja Turtles to Scooby Doo, Family Matters (remember Steve Urkel?) to Transformers Beast Machines! Oh! I can’t forget Reboot. Now who remembers Reboot?

I gotta share this one!

It took me some time to figure it all out, the meanings and terms of that show. Honestly it was one of the most well thought out show! Yes, I have been called a nerd before for enjoying this one and you’d think today I would know more about all this web and crypto stuff. NOPE! Still working on that.

With all this reminiscing of shows that I did enjoy watching very much, there is still a few that I haven’t named. There are 3 that do make the top of my list. One’s that will remain embedded in my memory.

In no particular order, because I liked them all just the same, I bring to you my TOP 3!

#1 Sailor Moon.

Aside from the horrible singing in the intro song, this was a pretty cool show. I mean ya, there is the annoying main character, Serena (Usagi). Always complaining and crying, but has a big heart… She’s dumb too.
With this, why did I like Sailor Moon so much?

For one I really enjoyed the art and imagination of their evil characters. As the series went on, they showed a romance in many more ways than one (tuxedo mask and Sailor Moon.) They even had a romance with the evil characters.

Another reason is that I was able to relate with one of the Sailor girls, my fav, Sailor Jupiter. She was bad ass! She was tough, caring, strong and also sensitive. She had love and she and friendship. Her power? Lightning, one of the most strongest and most awesome elements out there and the most intimidating. Who doesn’t like lightning?

"Protected by Jupiter, the planet of thunder, Guardian of Protection, Sailor Jupiter! I'll make you feel so much regret, it'll leave you numb!"
— Sailor Jupiter's stock introduction

I mean, who says that? Sailor Jupiter that’s who. And me. I would. So totally would.

#2 Gargoyles.

Ohhhh check out what I found after finding the first link…

Love it!

Another show that was so well thought out. It was packed with action, creativity, mythology and also held some type or romance.
It gave a dark gothic feeling as most of the show’s scenery was at night. The gargoyle characters held that dark feeling with their batwings and horns and other features.
Goliath, being the leader, was my favorite. He was strong, big, had immense wings and roared! He was mean, caring and loving. Ok, ok I have to admit something, I always had a thing for Scotland and without knowing for the longest time, these characters actually came from Scotland in the 994. How cool is that?!

Carrying on…
They fought for what was right, fighting alongside Elisa, a cop that seemed as though she was falling in love with Goliath… or maybe that’s what my imagination wanted them to do?
It has been so long that I have seen the 2 seasoned series, that I can’t remember everything but I do remember the impact it has had on me, that had me loving this show so much. I gotta watch it again! My kids might not be a fan though.
I think this is one of the shows that catered to my gothic likes in my 90’s childhood. See Goth isn’t just a phase. It’s always been there :p

#3 Mummies Alive!

Another show that was gone too soon, just like Gargoyles.
Mummies Alive was also action packed but also packed with humor. Ancient Egypt has always been a fascination of mine and what an awesome way to experience a bit of it through cartoon!
So basically the show is about a boy who was once a pharaoh in a previous life long ago. He was protected by 3 men and a woman; Ja-Kal the falcon, Armon the ram, Rath the snake, Nefetina the cat, in which come back to life as mummies to once again protect the boy from the evil Scarab in the 20th century.
My favourite character was Rath the snake. He fought and moved like the snake and I just love snakes. And to beat that, it’s not just any snake, but the best one of them all, the cobra!
He was also the smart one and to me, every battle is one with intelligence. Got to be smarter than your opponent.

While there is no romance in this show, it still gives that fun and imaginative thing like the others have, a creativity that is different from the rest and that is what has caught my attention the most with these top 3 choices.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I know today the cartoons are quite different. I have seen some pretty silly cartoons that are just filled with nonsense. A lot are quite pointless and it is sad that it has become that. The kids are missing out on some really awesome cartoons that do have some moral meanings. If you were to ask me what cartoon I like coming from the 21rst century, even though I am not a kid anymore, I would have to say it is Avatar: The Last Airbender (Not the movie!)

Oh my freaking god this show is so brilliant! It has everything you need to make it a great series, Real martial arts movements, philosophies, life lessons, relationships, morals,spirituality, comedy, like absolutely everything. They even talk about chakras! ~ along with onions and banana juice :p

If you haven’t seen it, even if you are an adult, watch it. This show is DEEP! It can even make you think about yourself as they have quite a few episodes of self conflicts. Honestly, watch it. I would love to talk more about it but I really do not want to give away any spoilers.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

So what are you waiting for? Get on this amazing contest for a chance to win some serious steem prizes. You could be surprised! Plus who wouldn't want to share their childhood shows? Time to reminisce!

Click on the link for more information on how you can join!

https://steemit.com/phctop3/@phctop3/phc-top-3-monthly-contest-june-share-your-top-3-to-win-a-steem-prize

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

What a sublime post! No wonder it got curied, well done meeuuuuuuuuuuf 🐮

I haven't seen or heard of any of your 3 though...before my time apparently 😛

Loved the energy and enthusiasm you brought to the post in true foxy fashion! I was laughing at the description of nearly breaking your leg to sit down and watch your favourite cartoon... Bastard sibling prank 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Brought back some great memories here!

Glad I could do that for you! You should join this fun contest, it really is nice to go back in time :)

This was really a great post @foxyspirit! I love how you wrote about your memories and feelings as well as made your nominations. Funny, I've never heard of any of your Top 3 pics, but now I've got the Spiderman theme song stuck in my head!

Thank you!

I think that's what makes this months topic magical is to be able to talk about all this so easily.

Happy to put the Spidermans song in your head :p ♪ do do do do do do do do do do do do do do .. Here comes the Spidermaaaan ♪

I love Avatar as well with the huge story arc. I like Danny Phantom and watched with my kids until we got into Anime stuff whoa lots of choices there.

YAAAAAAAAAS! My fellow Avatar friend!

Anime is a whole other world compared to regular cartoons. It's so much more. I mean, Elfen Lied is something on it's own that I find the western cartoons are unable to compare. Then you have the cute ones like Chobits :p Anime is just so much fun ^_^

Hi foxyspirit,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

How awesome! Thank you so much!!! <3

What an awesome post @foxyspirit

I confess that I haven't seen any of your three selections although Gargoyles rings a bell, but they are all right up my street.

I love the Gargoyles meets metal, vid. Awesome.

Spiderman, of course! Another one that I have overlooked. That was class.

Great job, Foxy.

Gaz

Thanks Gaz! After seeing your 3, I think you would enjoy them :D Too bad we aren't all overseas, I'd say grab a beer, or any drink that you fancy, and start watching some kids TV! I would.. and I might :p

As good as any other choice of tele at its best. I will check them out further.

Wow, this is such a fantastic post! I don't know what is more fun--reliving my own youth or seeing everyone else's own joyful memories of the fun shows they watched when they were young! I know about half of the ones you mentioned, so it's always fun to learn about some different ones. I'm sure many of these will be regional, which is kind of cool to see what types of shows played across the globe and in different decades! You definitely set the bar high with this one!

Thank you plantstoplanks! Apart from Sailor Moon being Japanese, I believe the rest is American.

I can't wait to see which ones pop up :D I am really loving this months topic. Can you tell? LOL

very true how you described it and how my kids were. I don't think kids do that today though anymore as they are more into games and stuff. When i was young I remember Bananas in Pygamas and Tom and Jerry. My kids loved other stuff including the Telly Tubbies.

I remember those and still remember the Bananas intro song. They still play it today but it really isn't the same... Banana's in pyjamas are going down the stairs, bananas in pyjamas are going down in pairs... or something like that lol.

Would you like to join the contest? Would love to read about your top 3 or even your kids top 3 choices :D

The funny thing is that the only show I recognize from your list is Scooby Doo :D We had different shows in Slovakia and as you said they were completely different to what you see now. I liked the moral that was present there and you can also learn so much just by watching them.. now it's just about consuming time watching mostly nonsense...

Thank you for sharing and good luck with the contest!

It is horrible that it's mostly nonsense because of the fact that our kids are watching it. These kids are ever learning and so they learn to act like what they see on Tv, just like we did. It's hard for parents in the sense that we want our kids to watch good things and they want to watch the dumb things so bad! Maybe our parents went through the same thing who knows but at least they weren't empty shows. I remember a cartoon series, 'Captain Planet', where it was about saving the planet from pollution and fight against that bad guys and big companies that harmed the planet. Why don't we have that today when we need it the most?

I am on the PHC Top 3 Panel, so this entry is void. It helps to encourage those to take part and even remember what they might have forgotten. We are 4 total on the panel and we don't submit our entries for the judging. Would you like to join? It is a monthly contest and every month is a different topic. It is simple and fun and the prize pool is ever going. If you are interested, take a look at last months winner's post. There was a nice amount that had been won. Well worth participating ^_^ Here is the contest post if you would like to take part :)

https://steemit.com/phctop3/@phctop3/phc-top-3-monthly-contest-june-share-your-top-3-to-win-a-steem-prize

Great selections, I forgot about most of these :)

Thanks! The more people post of their top 3's the more I get to remember. Pretty awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72