My Fears: My Nominations for the PHC Top 3 Monthly Contest – TOP 3 Scary Characters

in #phctop35 years ago

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

This is my entry into this month’s PHC Top 3 contest.

This months topic is Scary Characters

My Nominations are:

Nomination Number One

The Bogeyman





My Reasons for the Nomination

The only thing that I get chills from at this point, is the occasional, surprising chill I get sometimes when I see a video of a “ghostly” figure moving around somewhere, usually in a house. It’s more a reactionary chill I think, because I personally don’t believe in ghosts, having never experienced an encounter myself.

The very first thing that I recall being terrified of was the Bogeyman. I can still remember the way my young brain imagined what the bogeyman was like from my parents’ and relatives’ descriptions; he was outside waiting for kids to come out, but he couldn’t be seen because he blended in with the darkness.

He would come out of nowhere and grab kids and take them away. I remember when I was about 2 or 3 years old, that I would stand inside and look out the screen door at night, trying to get a glimpse of the bogeyman. I wasn’t scared to do that, because I knew he could only get you if you went outside at night. He couldn’t come inside, which perhaps was based on some law of physics. I’m not really sure.

Nomination Number Two

The Boris Karloff Frankenstein Monster

My Reasons for the Nomination

Actually the first Frankenstein monster that I saw as a pretty young kid, (around five), was in the movie, “Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein,” which was made in 1948. Glenn Strange played the monster in that film.

Glenn also had a long-running job playing Sam, the bartender at Miss Kitty’s Long Branch Saloon on the Gunsmoke TV show. It was about five years later when I actually saw Karloff’s monster, but the Glenn Strange version was enough to make me think shadows I’d see at night were the monster in my room!

Here is the trailer for the first Karloff Frankenstein movie. His monster looks much more menacing and dangerous, than Glenn Strange’s version or Bela Legosi’s version. I think it’s Karloff's eyes, but I just thought his portrayal of the monster was so scary!

Here is the trailer for the “Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein” movie. You can’t really get a good look at the monster’s face like in the Karloff trailer, but like I said, it wasn’t as scary to me as a kid, but the idea of the monster and what it looked like and all, gave me the chills and fear of shadows even more than the bogeyman had earlier in my life.

Nomination Number Three

Daredevils and Heights

My Reasons for the Nomination

There is absolutely nothing on this earth that frightens me more than heights. It is so bad with me that a video with characters doing what these people do is sheer torture.

I simply cannot watch a video of this kind of craziness that some, I guess, call “daredevil” escapades. (I only watched a short part at the beginning of this video to make sure they were doing crazy tricks on high and narrow placements that no one should be on.

Being on something high is my worst fear and it’s gotten increasingly worse as I’ve aged.

When I was a kid I used to go to summer camp, and every year we’d hike to this cliff where we’d have to crawl on our stomachs to look over the edge, it was so high. It scared me, but not so much that I didn’t do it, but I only did it the first time and I passed on it after that. I wouldn’t do it now or ever.

It’s weird too, because flying doesn’t bother me, and if I were to go skydiving, I don’t think that would bother me, but I wouldn’t trust the parachute enough to actually do it. My fear seems to be totally centered on falling off something, and doesn’t include stuff we willingly and normally do at heights.

This is also the one fear I have complete control over, so it’s not something I think about much.

These are my top3 scariest characters. Thanks for reading!


Source for Bogeyman picture: Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Hi free-reign,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you Curie community!

Awesome choices! I do recall hearing stories that made me shiver about the bogeyman as a child, as well. I think that's part of why I still like to sleep covered up. I had it in my head that there were some physics with having a blanket on that the bogeyman couldn't cross that barrier either, haha. Spot on with the Frankenstein pick, as well. The daredevils was a creative one, but makes total sense since a lot of people really are afraid of heights! I think claustrophobia hits me harder than heights, but I still don't think I'd be riding bikes on the top of a skyscraper or free climbing the sheer face of a cliff, haha. Congrats on the Curie and good luck this round in the poll!

Thanks! I'm the opposite - dreadfully afraid of heights, but not bothered much in cramped spaces. I think claustrophobia would be a worse fear to have, because sometimes we encounter cramped spaces when we don't have a choice, whereas with scary heights, we can avoid them pretty much all the time.

I think I've seen the sheet or blanket covering me as a block against all kinds of scary entities, lol.

I never found Frankenstein scary, my bogeyman was Candyman but in general I hate Horror movies cause they scare the piss out of me. It was enough to know that Cannibals exist let alone have monsters around lol. Heights are scary especially shitting yourself when a gust passes, given you avoid the urge to just jump. !tipuvote 1

Hey @penderis! I'm sure you can overcome that fear of Horror movies to write a post for the contest for a chance to win some steem ;) ?

More information is on our contest post here or if you'd like to join the fun and crazy community, join our Discord!

Top 3 Panel

I can understand why you wouldn't find Frankenstein scary. You grew up during the onslaught of gore films. When I grew up there were no gore films at all, which is probably why I was so afraid of the Frankenstein monster - it was probably the worst and scariest thing we had back then! I think I would have probably turned out a bit different if I'd seen gore movies as a kid, and not in a good way.

Brilliant post @free-reign

All terrifying stuff. I have a very up down relationship with heights. Sometimes I am fine other times I can't deal with it. One thing for sure that sets me of is the thought of throwing something over the side and following over like an obedient puppy!

The Bogeyman is a universal story. Parents can be pretty shocking sometimes! Lol.

Frankenstein's monster is a classic pick. There is something absolutely terrifying about an unstoppable force slowly coming to get you. Definitely a theme of some of my nightmares as a kid!

Great job.

Gaz

Thanks! It was fun remembering what scared me the most. This was my favorite of the top3 contests in which I've participated so far.

Brilliant news @free-reign

We will always try to create topics that will inspire people to get involved. We also want to make it link to the moment if possible. Hence the pumpkins! 😉

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the SP and then transfer the STEEM and/or SBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @phctop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Steem Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.014 SBD and 6.587 STEEM over to the @phctop3 account as your entry fee. We’ll take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

unknown-1.png

text16.png

Great nominations and totally bang on the sentiment that we were after @free-reign.

Best of luck with the contest.

G

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Thanks, I enjoyed playing!

Just watching that person on the bike at the edge of the building gave me a fright.
Good ones, @free-reign.

Hey @redhead! We'd love to see which top 3 scary characters made it in to your list, maybe you can do a post about it and have a chance at winning some steem?

More information is on our contest post here or if you'd like to join the fun and crazy community, join our Discord!

Top 3

Thanks @phctop3. I just submitted my list. 👻 🧛‍♂️ 🐍

Ah, so you know exactly what I'm afraid of with heights! I think the thing that scares me the most about heights is that I know I'd never be able to keep my balance if I was standing on something. There seems to be a force that pulls at me from the ground when I'm at heights lol.

This post is supported by @tipU upvote funded by @penderis :)
@tipU voting service + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Boogeyman was the reason why I never stuck my foot out to hang over the bed and just had it wrapped in the blankets for added measure.

Frankenstein is a creature of what should never exist. Made from different people parts, dead then alive, against nature!

Heights!! Ong I hate Heights and I totally know what you are talking about. I would be playing a game and if my character falls off a cliff or something, my stomach turns upside down...that feeling when driving fast down a hill.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know - that Bogeyman was really a bad, bad guy! As I explained to penderis above, I think the younger among us grew up with the gore movies as horror. I grew up with Vincent Price, cheesy effects and obviously not real monsters in horror movies. Other than Frankenstein, that is. I really couldn't watch that daredevil video I posted!

I remember movies that scared me like Sleepwalkers and The People Under The Stairs. Watching them today... The only thing that makes sense as to why it scared me is because I was a kid? Lol

Ya, I can definitely say, I'm not a fan of that video 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I really missed something with the bogeyman as a kid but now even I'm afraid to go outside after reading this one haha!

Goodness, there are some scary characters going on in the top 3 contest this month. I'm with you on the heights thing as well... Eesh!

Good luck with the contest and well done on the curie too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! You DID miss something if you didn't have the Bogeyman to be afraid of as a kid! You know, when you're 2 or 3 years old and peering out the door to see him but too afraid to put one foot outside the door, it's a pretty compelling fear. But boy did it work!

Hello Hello!

My favorite genre is terror or suspense, I feel more emotion to see that fear is a human feeling, a terror that accumulates in our veins ready to shine. Your descriptions are common, although the sack man is something strange but he also usually has a chill to see things without senses haha

Greetings from Venezuela :)

Hey @iamsaray! We'd love to see which top 3 scary characters made it in to your list, maybe you can do a post about it and have a chance at winning some steem?

More information is on our contest post here or if you'd like to join the fun and crazy community, join our Discord!

We hope to see your entry ☺️

Top 3

Hello to you in Venezuela! :)

I loved terror and suspense as a kid in a different movie-making era. Terror and suspense later became focused on movies heavy with gore. I never liked gore though. To me gore's not scary - it's disgusting and affects me emotionally (sadness) if I watch.

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73