Sort:  

Wow Joan, what an epic write up and I was singing along to the Timewarp when I watched the video back.

My mum really loves Peter Sellers and Pink Panther. I used to watch the cartoon growing up but didn't know it was actually a movie until a few years ago. Still need to get around to watching it.

The classic Monty Python never fails - I was laughing at the trailer watching it!

But the deep point at the end about the sad state of movies now is very real, particularly with the advent of DVDs, Blu-Ray and the ability to stream movies on demand - it takes away from the movie experience, which you still can't beat.

Thanks for sharing your choices and good luck for the contest!

Going to the movies was a huge part of life growing up, where you would go depended on how much you could afford.

Special nights out with friends, with or without dinner for evening event. Meet at certain coffee shop prior to afternoon shows, where we would congregate after again to discuss the show.

Thanks for enjoying the selection Nicky.

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Remember to transfer 50% of the post payout as SBD to @phctop3 with a link to your entry in the memo, otherwise it won't be eligible.

text16.png

You have brought a fantastic entry to the table! Excellent movie choices, but then such a thoughtful reflection on entertainment in the grander scheme of culture and social change. Though going to the movies might not hold as much glamour as it used to, at least we are not so far out from those times that we have totally forgotten that joy!

We appreciate the perspective you have brought to our contest!

P2P

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

The Pink Panther has to be one of the most funniest movies ever; didn't really see much of the Rocky Horror Picture Show; but did see Holy Grail which was crazy funny...

After Laurel and Hardy, Three Stooges the old black and white comedy productions, Pink Panther really came into it's own.

Monty Python was Brit humour at it's best!

Such a great write up @joanstewart! I enjoyed learning that bit of history you added at the end, as well. You totally made my day with your selection of Rocky Horror! That is one of my all-time favorite movies! Tim Curry is brilliant. I'll have to pull it out later to share a picture with you, but I still have a Dr Frank-N-Furter doll hidden in a closet that I got as a gift years ago. Some of my girlfriends and I went to a local midnight showing when I turned 21. There were only a few other people in the theater, but we had a blast!

Your other entries definitely stand the test of time, as well. I've definitely got to catch up with watching some of the ones I haven't seen! Thanks for joining us!

Posted using Partiko Android

Never knew they had dolls, will be interesting to see what they looked like.

Yes the seventies was a time of experimenting in more ways than one, music world was up in arms about war, injustice in certain regions. Movies progressed using different ideas, thinking outside of the box and norm. Teenagers were starting to rebel more often, people debated change over coffee, face to face.

Must be a collectors item now, still a very popular movie and live stage performance, really lived the test of time.

Anything by Monty Python, anything.

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha either loved them or hated them, those who loved the humour watched all the other shows @donald.porter

Sooooooo true, I have friends who never understood the dry humour and couldn't understand why I'd watch them over and over back in college. The meaning of life is one of my all-time favs... I still watch it almost every year around christmas 🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

TRHPS!!!!!!!! Now that is one crazy movie!

I like how you added a little history in your post. It gives us a new way to look at things and how they were compared to today. Once it was considered like magic and today it's as though we've always had it and there's nothing to it.

I really like the proverb you wrote at the end. That has a lot of meaning to it ^_^

Blast from the past, still gets people up and dancing today.

Variety of shows today available to watch when you feel in the mood has totally different feeling.

I agree. It can still be a magical thing, just different.

Three brilliant choices and one cracking post. We really appreciate the effort in producing a good nominations post @joanstewart

I feel almost ashamed that I didn't include Peter Sellers in at least one of my three choices. The guy is a genius and a legend.

Holy Grail is top drawer funny. The Python boys, doing their thing with their clever humour. I'm more of a LOB fan but Grail is right up there.

The Rocky Horror Show kind of passed me by a little. I'm a big fan of Richard O'Brien and Tim Curry though. It used to drive me insane when I was clubbing in my younger years; not so long ago (stop it!), and the cool stuff we were dancing to got pulled for the Timewarp! Everyone one seemed to love it except me. :(

Love the information about SA from years ago. It's fascinating to see all the different experiences we have all gone through to get to this point.

Brilliant post and best of luck with the contest, Joan.

Gaz

Time warp fired up dance floors still does. Movie at the time many genders were frowned upon, this broke with the 'normal', being banned in South Africa to only make appearance years later in a stage performance.

About 40 years ago a handful of lucky South Africans managed to catch a screening of The Rocky Horror Picture Show just before the authorities banned it in the country. Back then, in Apartheid South Africa, the film was hugely transgressive.

Time has changed outlook, perhaps the movies had a small hand in this.

Monty Python have been a hit in our home with our sons loving the humour and quirkiness, we took them to the drive-in to watch when a lot younger and drive-in's where still around.

Peter Sellers in Pink Panther movies have been around for a long time (1963), always fun entertainment.

Thanks for visiting Gaz.

Billiant selection @joanstewart. I confess that Monty Python was on my list, too - Life of Brian. Rocky Horror would (have) feature(d) in my top 3 musicals....

Movies mentioned they now refer to under a few categories, some identified as cult, musical and comedy, all slightly over the top at the time.

Saw the Rocky Horror and the Pink Panther Lady Joan. Not much time for movies those years as I was always out on country jobs. Had my first child at age 20 and the last one at age 23, so I had a family to look after.
You certainly have a great post here!
Blessings!

Having a young family does put a stop on going out, glad you got to see two out of the three Stephen.

Great choice! I watched 1 and 3. I love Monty Python very much.
Now I want to see "The Rocky Horror Picture Show".

Enjoy the movie , it was a good laugh with progressive ideas at the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21