The Best From Out Of Space: My Favorite Extraterrestrial Movies - A PHC Contest

in #phctop35 years ago

This month's PowerHouseCreatives contest is all about 'Extraterrestrial Movies'. I know it's not exactly what you're used to on my blog, but take a look and discover my all time favorites.

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

I don't always join the PowerHouseCreatives contests, but every once in a while, the topic catches my interest. So did this one.

Since I'm still struggling to get content written, I thought I'd might just as well join. What's a girl gotta do on a Saturday night when she's home alone - and a little bored -, right?

I'm actually a HUGE horror fan, but I can really enjoy some science fiction at times.
When I saw that his month's Top 3-Contest was all about extraterrestrials, I honestly didn't know where to begin. I've seen such a truckload of films in my life...

Next to horror, I have this 'thing' for B-movies.You know, those low-budget commercial films that are often so bad that they are hilarious again. So, first one that came to mind was - of course - Day Of The Triffids, in which aggressive, carnivorous, mobile plants land on Earth and kill everything that crosses their path. But since I had already used that one for my Hard Fork post, I thought I'd take a different approach.

The three films I've selected are totally different from each other, but I can recommend all three.

Here it goes:



This is my entry into this month’s PHC Top 3 contest.

This months topic is EXTRA TERRESTRIAL MOVIES

1. The Dark Crystal (1982)

When I met my ex-husband, in 1997, he couldn't stop talking about The Dark Crystal. I had never heard of it before, but was curious. After finding out it had been directed by Jim Henson (yes, the creator of The Muppets) I thought it was at least worth a shot.

I fell in love instantly...

This puppet animated, dark fantasy/adventure film just swept me off my feet. It's a masterpiece that needs to be treasured.

I recently learned that a 'modern' version of the story has been made. I'm not sure whether it's a sequel or a remake. Anyhow, I don't expect it to have the charm of the original one.




2. Annihilation

Told you they would be different :0)

I don't remember how I came across this film. I just had surgery, and could do nothing but watch some Netflix for weeks. I assume I thought it would be horror, lol.

Anyway, I started watching, and was amazed by the incredible beauty of the scenery.... The colorful, LSD-like shimmer, the mirror animals, the flowers and plants that cover everything inside this strange world and even take on a human-like form... I just can't describe it; you need to see it to get what I mean.

Even today, just thinking of this film can make me smile.... One of the most beautiful ones I've ever seen (the scenery, not the story-line, though - that one is pretty regular, lol).




Picking a third one was pretty difficult... there are so many to choose from. The next one is not necessarily the best, but I do like the story behind it.

3. Men In Black

You should know... I don't like comedies... at all!

If I can avoid it, I don't watch them.. ever.

When I started watching MIB the first time, I honestly thought it was going to be a real sci-fi movie. Serious and all. I know that Will Smith should have been a clue, but at the time, it wasn't.

After 10 minutes, I was in total shock. I felt offended, abused, even. I turned it off, and for 10 long years, I refused to have anything to do with the film.

I don't remember how or when, but I ended up watching it anyway. And I must admit... if you know it's an action/sci-fi comedy, it's actually pretty funny... for as far as funny in films goes, of course.

It's definitely one I will remember for the rest of my life :0)



If you want to join, feel free. this contest is open for everyone.You have 2 more days to submit an entry.

Click HERE to find out the full details of this contest

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

PHC-Footer-05.gif



signature2.gif

Graphic created with The Logo Creator Software

Subscribe To RSS Feed | Subscribe To Newsletter



SteemTerminalBanner.jpg

iSupportHHYM.gif


Sort:  

Nice, we are actually in the middle of watching the new Netflix Dark Crystal show :) it is pretty good

I've started watching a couple of days ago. Think I'm up to episode 3.
I haven't really made up my mind yet whether I really like it or just a little...

Mine would have to be

Interstellar
The Martian
And Arrivals

So do a post...list in the main contest link. Entry has to be in by the 11th. I haven't seen The Martian yet. I am so behind on movies.

Sweet thanks for the tip I’ll surely get in on it will create a post this week

Yes, please join us! We extended the entry period until the 11th, so you've got plenty of time. :)

Sweet! Thanks now I have to enter lol damn me and my big mouth

Haha, yep. ;) You've got the hard part done, though--making your selections!

I still need to watch The Martian... shame I haven't, actually...

You and @tryskele need to get your act together and block out 2 hours of your life and see it! It’s brilliant

Looked for it.... Not on Netflix...
Will need to find another streaming service 😉

Lol I'm not giving up on you that easy - https://www3.putlocker.vip/film/the-martian-5726/

Use brave browser, block all the cancerous ads and have fun!

Hahaha, thanks a lot.
Putlocker would have been the first site I would have gone to.
Thanks for making my life a lot easier 😉

Didn't work on Brave... had to go to Chrome.
I started watching this afternoon, but after about 30 minutes I decided it was probably good enough to 'sell' it to my girlfriend and watch it together.

Good thing he starts gardening that early in the movie, lol.

I don't expect any E.T.s to appear when you least expect it, which makes it 'girlfriend-proof'... :0D

I heard about The Dark Crystal's new series on Netflix. I've been curious but I haven't been able to make myself watch it as so it doesn't get ruined.

Haven't seen your second choice but I have your 3rd. You are right, they did make a movie with added comedy.

Posted using Partiko Android

People have been telling me the new series is awesome, but just like you, I'm too afraid it will ruin the original for me :0)

The first movie that comes to my mind is the original Invasion of the Body Snatchers from 1958. It's so eerie and has some very suspenseful scenes that still creep me out to this day. The 1978 remake with Donald Sutherland and Jeff Goldbloom is good too, but not as good as the original in my opinion. I recommend giving either of them a watch if you've never seen them before.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oooh, The Body Snatchers films... awesome! Must have been 20 years since I've seen them (both the original and the remake).

Bring back memories... The Blob (1958), for example... :0)

I used to have a friend who had an entire video rental store with those kind of films.... Those were the days...

Haven't seen The Dark Crystal or Annihilation, but I did see the first 2 Men in Black movies, which I thought were well done. I liked Will Smith a lot at that time, as I thought he was pretty funny, and was good acting in those type films.

Not such a big fan of Will Smith... He has a couple I like, but I do prefer him being a voice actor :0)

Well.. I like MIB because it's Will Smith 😂 no sci-fi but just funny creatures with some understandable jokes😊 i think I watched annihillation once.. but I forgot about it😂 I like horror too but drama comedy is my favourite. Good luck with the contest

Thanks, @cicisaja.

No comedy for me (there are a few exceptions, though), and please, no drama. I see enough of that in real life 😂

I live in drama.. that's why I like it😉 with some comedy.. it will brighten up my day. No comedy for you... laughing out loud will hurt you😆

So many movies about extraterrestrials came out, we saw many with guys in the house.

Enjoyed your selection @simplymike only the Black Crystal I do no believe I have seen, perhaps one day sit down to watch this one.

Netflix has recently released a new TV series of The Dark Crystal. Still haven't watched it though... too afraid it will ruin the magic of the original one :0)

I feel the same way with originals, sometimes they try recreate and just don't get it quite the way it was.

I've started watching....
They tried hard not to mess with the original...

I loved your picks and although I have not seen Annihilation, it may be one that I will be looking for! Thanks!

Thanks, @dswigle :0)

Like I said in the post, the story-line of Annihilation isn't very special, but the visuals are just amazing...

Hi, @simplymike!

You just got a 17.97% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

I totally forgot about Interstellar that was awesome. Your picks are amazing. I didn't pick Dark Crystal only because I consider that more fantasy. This one was just a tad too general too many movies

I agree on The Dark Crystal being more Fantasy... but since all creatures live on another planet, I thought it was a good fit.

Fantasy would have been a great topic too, though. After watching the trailer of TDC, I ended up watching the trailers of Labyrinth (which was also made by Henson and Froud and one of my childhood favorites) and The Neverending Story. So many memories, lol.

These last couple of years, I haven't watched too much sci-fi. Nor horror, for all that matters. My girlfriend is pretty sensitive when it comes to 'creatures', so I've missed a lot :0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85