Extraterrestrial Movies - My PHC TOP 3 Picks

in #phctop35 years ago

et.pngNew month! New Contest!

text15.png

Click the link to find out the full details of this contest. PHC TOP 3 -Contest

Just a reminder ... IT IS OPEN TO EVERYONE....

The Topic For This Round Is…Extraterrestrial Movies
It's a bird! It's a plane! No! It's a UFO!!!! Brace yourselves, they have probes! Run and send them cows by the herd. This month we would like you to gaze at the eerie lights through the clouds, be dazzled by the strong beams and tell us what your top 3 extraterrestrial movies are. From the shadows to plain sight, we are not alone. Believe!

The movie does not have to be completely alien-themed, but must feature at least one extra terrestrial character or being from outer-space.

text15.png

This is my entry into this month’s PHC Top 3 contest.

My Nominations are:

Nomination Number 1 - Enemy Mine

My Reasons for the Nomination

The second I saw extraterrestrial this was the first movie that popped in my head. I know 80's movie trailers are cheesy as hell. I thought at the time it was just going to be trash and I was more than pleasantly surprised. I liked both Louis Gosset Jr and Dennis Quaid for a little while at that time, but this movie put them over the top for me.

While it's is an extraterrestrial movie, it very ... human. I think this is where I truly started believing that we that there is hope of some sort of peace (for lack of a better word) With enough time we can come to understand each other and learn to live together.

text15.png

Nomination Number 2 - Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy

My Reasons for the Nomination

Grab your towel and get ready find out the reason for life and everything in it.!! Goofy comedy? Check. Fantastically fun? Check. Great actors? Check. Sardonic robot? Double check.
You will never look at mice the same. The books are a cult classic and so is this movie. If you haven't seen it and you consider yourself a scifi fan then you have been kicked out of the club and need to see this to get back in. I am not saying this is the BEST movie ever, it's a must watch. After this you may understand why someone may randomly answer a question with 42. Martin Freeman (WELL before The Hobbit), Alan Rickman( If you don't know who this is ...look him up), Sam Rockwell (IM2, Charlie's Angels ....) Zoey Deschanel (Elf), Mos Def (yes the rapper), Bill Nighy (the young ones might remember Davey Jones from Pirates of the Caribbean) and John Malkovich (CON-Air, RED ....).

text15.png

Nomination Number 3 - Alien v. Predator

My Reasons for the Nomination

This was an unexpected like for me. I had seen all of the Alien and Predator movies up to this point. While they were great to start they started to get bad. This movie was an awesome way to tie the 2 together and left us with a great segway to another 'franchise' based on these classics. I love the fact that the only way you have a clue of what is going to happen is the title. It does have that creepy horror movie feel but you sit in anticipation to see what's going to happen.

text15.png

AWESOME pick at usual @phctop3. This one I think maybe should have been broken it down more, or maybe that is an idea for the future. It was extremely hard to choose, there are so many awesome movies. How does one not choose E.T. or Independence Day or Mars Attacks. I look forward to now reading all of the entries. I purposely don't read until I am done with mine.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Curation Trail

We have a curation trail for @phctop3, which you can follow here to continue to add to the prize pool and the growth of the competition. Don’t forget to log into steemconnect.

Delegate to @phctop3:

5SP10SP25SP
50SP100SP150SP
200SP250SP300SP
400SP500SP1000SP

PHC-Footer-05.gif



Pay It Forward Contests

Power House Creatives _night mode.png


Brought to you by @quochuy (steem witness)

IMG-20180606-WA0005.jpg
Steemitcentral



Thank you for your continued support!
Love,

Sort:  

Howdy tryskele! Very interesting choices. Unfortunately I haven't seen any of them. lol. But I trust your opinion so if I get a chance to see them I will.

If you do you'll have to let me know what you think @janton. Thank you so much for the visit.

Howdy tryskele! I'm sorry that you have fallen off my radar this week for the most part, have you been posting? Do you work a regular job? And are you changing your posting habits since the hardfork? I know many people are posting less.

As usual, you brought some awesome choices to the table! We actually did have a hard time breaking down Sci-Fi since there's so many directions to go with it! Happy to see so many fans out here to join in with us this round.

I'm so glad someone shared Enemy Mine! There was something about that one that stuck with me, as well. I think I remember going to see Alien vs Predator with my former brother-in-law when it came out in theaters, and it was fun to have that bonding experience as I only had sisters growing up. I also forgot what a stacked cast your second pick was!

Love your post and your choices! :)

Yay an Enemy Mine fan!!! I knew I liked you for a reason @plantstoplanks LOL.
That is awesome you have such a good memory of AVP. I was convinced that it was going to be horrible. I am so glad it wasn't.

I have a brother and we didn't do much together growing up. My mom was a horror nut, so I grew up with my fair share of gore. They're actually good memories.

Hi @tryskele!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.742 which ranks you at #5424 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 102 contributions, your post is ranked at #52.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I never watched any of these movies @tryskele 😁 maybe because im not kinda sci-fi fan but I like Avatar and anything with dragon involved. Can you believe it? I don't watch the famous ET movie too😯

LOVE dragons!! I am the same way. Maybe they'll do fantasy dragons as a category #phctop3 hint hint. You haven't seen ET?? I still cry. Loved Avatar, I'm looking forward to the next one if they ever finish it.
This one was hard. Aliens .,.. there are soooo many alien movies and so different. Comedy, drama, actual sci-fi, fantasy, horror each have numerous alien movies. So a general category to chose 3 as a top? Star Wars, Star Trek and ET are the first 3 that come to mind. (Enemy Mine actually did pop in first when I read the title) So how do you choose? So I go with some of the obscure ones sometimes.

Star wars! Absolutely the first 😂 then MIB and Star Trek. I watched Predator vs terminator or something like that... but never watch it till ends😂 while Avatar... I watch it always from the scene where Jack is graunded and start a rebellion😊

Great selection @tryskele it is fun picking through your memories out one by one to try finding the top 3 you enjoyed and why.

Thanks @joanstewart. Movies and music are directly tied to memories they impact us on such an emotional level. It's amazing what pops into your head a different moments.

Thank you for reminding everyone that the contest is open to everyone.

Love your choices!

AvP!!! That's where it's at! That was a bad ass movie and all the action a movie can take.

I have been rewatching some movies that's been listed. Gotta add this one to the list lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

You're welcome @foxyspirit. Gotta get the word out !!
As soon as I saw the topic these were the ones that just jumped into mind, besides E.T. I really enjoyed AVP it was similar to both stories and i know they were completely different franchises, but to bring them together in this way was just awesome. And OMG the action.

It was genius!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the SP and then transfer the STEEM and/or SBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @phctop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo. This is the minimum entry fee, but you can add as much as you like to it! The more you add, the more you can win.There is no maximum entry fee.

Not sure how to find your post payout? Look in your Steem Wallet under Author Rewards to find the exact payout for your post. In the example below you would send the 0.014 SBD and 6.587 STEEM over to the @phctop3 account as your entry fee. We’ll take it from there and convert all of the prize pool to SBD for easy prize distribution at the end of the month!

unknown-1.png

text16.png

We always enjoy your awesome contest entries! Makes us even happier to know you enjoy joining in just as much as we do reading. These are some really solid choices, so good like in the voting round!

P2P

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Great picks, @tryskele. The 2nd and 3rd one, at least. I have never even heard of the first one. Need to check out that trailer :0)

It's an 80s movie so it's kind of cheesy compared to now, but I just love it.

Thanks for the advice for future but we'll probably come back to a theme like this in later contests :)

Awesome choices and I only read a bit of the Hitchhiker's Guide, remember finding it amusing in the first 50 pages or so! First Alien vs Predator entry I've seen! That was the first of the alien and predator films I saw and I was like "WHAAAAAAAT" haha! Freaky stuff!

Good luck for the contest :)

LOL Can't get anymore alien than AVP right!!
It's cool about the contest and I have fully expect topics like this. General or broken down it all works. It's like favorite drama .... um ... again sooooo many to choose and so many sub-genres. It all makes for more contest content.

Haha plenty of extraterrestrials in that one 😂

Oh yes, so many sub genres we could have gone in to and I'm sure we will dive in to them, it's just keeping it at the right level where everyone can get involved and the movie fanatics/buffs can take it whichever way they fancy! It's all good fun reading through all the entries though 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! Thanks for sending over your entry fee, just letting you know that I've added you in with your nominations now!

Good luck and keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming dpoll between 16th - 18th (approx.) where we put it to the public vote and let the Steem community decide their top 3 :)

text16.png

G

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88