ULOG: Episode 3 : My In-Laws’ Visit to Marawi’s Ground Zero

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

My #ulog episode for today is not about my day but about the visit of my in-laws to the main battlefield of the Marawi Siege – The Ground Zero. 


Me and my husband were on our annual leave from work and went home to the Philippines on 21st of May 2017. And on 23rd of May 2017, the Marawi Siege started that went through for 5 months. My husband is a half Maranao and they reside in MSU campus in Marawi City about 5 kilometres away from the Ground Zero. For few days, I was able to witness the sound of the war. The buzzing noise of a fighter plane throwing bombs to the city 24/7 that leads to the destruction of all the establishments. Exactly 2 weeks from now, the anniversary of the war will happen. But until now, the trauma that I happened to get during my stay in Marawi city is still present.

The War Has Ended

After 5 months of battling against the terrorists, the war finally ended on 22nd of October last year. A thankful heart here to all our brave soldiers who sacrificed their lives to gain back the land of the people. Though it ended, the impact it afflicted the people is heart wrecking. Businesses were gone, houses were wrecked, many people died, and the entire lively city has turned into a Ghost Town.

The Ground Zero

The Ground Zero has become the centre of the battlefield. It is the last part of Marawi City that has been open to the residents. Due to the airstrike and bombing, all establishments were ruined that left all the residents with nothing. Sadly, my Aunt in-law’s home was not exempted. So my in-laws visited the home of FIL's sister the moment they heard that the Ground Zero is open to the residents who reside in the place. Below are the photos of the 4 storey house of his sister alongside with the neighbouring establishments which were totally ruined.

My father-in-law. One of the establishments behind him is his sister's home.
My Aunt-In-laws. Behind them are some residents who are trying to save some materials from their destroyed home so they can build their new home.

The photos were taken by my father in law when they visited the area today. Honestly, I have been to this place uncountable times and upon seeing the above pictures, breaks my heart. All businesses were gone in just a blink of an eye. Hence, we have so many things to give thanks to God, and that is the gift of Life.

Life may seemed harsh and cruel, but God’s grace is still outpouring. Seeing these survivors with a happy smiles despite of losing their friends and loved ones, being traumatized and becoming homeless, will you still complain about life?


All photos were taken by my Father In Law
Have you voted your witness?
Consider casting your witness votes here for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @qurator, @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, @blocktrades and @curie who have been adding an invaluable contribution to the community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13