ROBOT CLAW PROTOTYPE

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

The advancement in robotics may not be as fast as the advancement in information technology . If you will try to look at it, there are companies that have been working for decades just for an attempt to come up with a humanoid robot but anybody can still say categorically that robotics industry is still primitive. A software may be easy to develop, as you are only working them electronically but with robotics, you are dealing with the real world, the outside world, you have to deal with motion, not an in-game physics but the real physics, where you have to deal with outside forces, like friction, wind, water, etc, there are tons of concepts to consider when you are attempting to build a humanoid robot. But instead of focusing on the negative, we channel our energy of what we can do.

Robotic arm is one of the most difficult engineering challenges you have to deal with, when you are building a humanoid robot, so we take it step by step. Before we try to build an entire arm that is fully functional we might want to take the first step in building first the hand then we attach it later to an elbow and the shoulder.

In this article, I am going to show you my own robot claw prototype using Lego Mindstorm parts and that may be used as an attachment to complete a complete robotic arm.

One day, while my daughter and I were enjoying some arcade games in a mall we came across to this teddy picker.

2018-05-15_16h03_31.png

When I saw this, I just thought if I will try to create my own crane claw using the Lego Mindstorm EV3 set.

IMG_20180515_155717.jpg

I started creating a platform where the claws will sit.
a1.png

Then, I used a couple of angular beams for the claw and attached it to the wrist platform.

vlcsnap-2018-05-15-16h11m45s531.png

After that, I attached an actuator, it is a device that converts rotational motion into a linear motion.
vlcsnap-2018-05-15-16h14m26s786.png

Next, we will now use a couple of long beams and connector pegs to wrap around the actuator, this will also serve a frame to house the motor that will pull back and forth the claws.

vlcsnap-2018-05-15-16h16m03s854.png

Now the frame is almost complete just a few more lego parts.

vlcsnap-2018-05-15-16h20m15s866.png

And here it is. Before the end of this article, there is a video where you will see more details in action on how did I build it.

IMG_20180513_145435.jpg

Watch it in action with this video and enjoy!

I hope that this has been interesting and informative for you,
and I'd like to thank you for reading!

You may check out my Microsoft Certifications here.

Please support @surpassinggoogle, you can vote for him as a witness or you can set his username as a proxy just like what I did.
2018-05-15_16h28_26.png


Sort:  

I am glad you that you like it! Thanks for reading my post. Have a good one.

Love how you included a video on how you made the robotic claw! Great post man!

Thanks for dropping by @andywong31, I am pleased that you find my post interesting! I check out your steemit blogs and I followed you.

You must surely had a lot of fun doing that claw with Lego pieces!

Your daughter should be happy having that little creation in the home :)

Is this the first robot robot you have created?

Thanks for visiting my post @dedicatedguy, this is my first attempt to make my own robot claw design, the first robot that I originally created was just last year when I was assigned to be a robotics trainer in the elementary grades. You are right :) my daughter is happy about this, she actually assists me most of the time when I am trying to build one. Absolutely, it's a lot of fun building and creating mechanisms out of these lego pieces. by the way here is a video of my first lego robot design, we used this in a competition this robot and my students manage to get into the finals in a national competition here in the Philippines.

Thanks again for dropping by, I highly appreciate it. I'll follow your blogs.

That is amazing mate, you are very talented!

Thanks for the praise and your kind words.

Mechatronics is practical

I liked the videos and the fact that you materials outside the box

Thanks for dropping by. I am glad that you find my post interesting.

I agree with you Mechatronics covers a lot of fields such as mechanical engineering, electronics, computer science, control engineering, communications etc., and combine them to come up with a modern application of these technologies.

I love your post, robotics is what I have interest for, but getting to pieces together requires a lot of money u know! I really enjoyed your post @jerome-morales

Nice to meet you here @tulio77, it is nice to know someone with the same interest. Yeah, sometimes we need some spending in getting robotics pieces. Thanks for supporting my post.

Are you on discord or telegram?

I am in discord.

Okay, what's your username

jerome-morales
2018-05-18_01h23_08.png
See you there.

Okay friend!
See you at the top!

Thank you for being friendly. So, your username here is the same in discord?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29