Philippine Elections: My Experience and My Thoughts for the Upcoming Barangay and SK Elections

in #philippines6 years ago

Hi Everyone!

Today, allow me to share one of the most memorable highlights of my life as a Filipino citizen wherein I was able to practice my rights to suffrage in choosing the right people to lead my dear Motherland.

During the campaign for the 2016 National and Local Elections, my family and I were so supportive of our presidential candidate who later on become our His Excellency Rodrigo Roa Duterte, and as for me, I am very vocal at that time I did take my opportunity to campaign for my presidential bet and I was so happy that most of my classmates at that time were all in for Rodrigo Roa Duterte, and among them I am the one who had joined a campaign with fellow Cebuanos together with my uncle Arnold and at the same time I had attended the last campaign for presidential elections together with my close friend @strings. During that campaign period I meet and known Steemians who are pro-Duterte like @jassennessaj whom I had seen to have experienced lots of debates in the social media and of course me, a lots of debates including our instructors and fellow engineers especially those who are pro-Roxas. And there is one time when I started my review together with my mates namely Brylle P. Gilbuena (call him Brylle), Jesilo Jan Sumalinog (we call him Siloy), Jon Myles Tan @jonmylestan and yours truly @josephace135. Among the three @jonmylestan was not vying for Duterte but there is one day that all of us stop reviewing and the three of us except @jonmylestan talked about Duterte and we were so happy to caught the attention of @jonmylestan and we started our very long conversation and it was like during our thesis but this time around we are all serious unlike in our thesis when @jonmylestan got upset since the three of us (Brylle, Siloy and me) are joking too much and making fun of our weird ideas for our thesis. So that day, @jonmylestan spilled his position regarding that election and he was a bit entangled of the two candidates which are as follows: Grace Poe and Miriam Defensor Santiago. And though he decided to vote for Duterte, we were contented and happy that we are able to convince @jonmylestan to vote for Miriam Defensor Santiago and that decision is also would be the decision of his family. My friends and I were so active during that campaign and though we are from Mandaue City, Lapu Lapu City and other parts of Cebu, we have decided to gather and watch some of the presidential debates. As for me, I lead my sitio especially the youth wherein I told them I will finance the expenses for a kite wherein it has initials of DU30, my aunt was furious at me but that didn’t stop me since my uncle Arnold and Harlou were going all in for Duterte. And I was so happy to join the one last hurray for campaign season that time wherein it was organized nationwide as for Cebu it was held at an open area in South Road Properties and as for the Manila it was held at the Grandstand wherein it was witness by lots of Filipino people. And here are my pictures during those wonderful experience of my life.

  • Kite for Duterte
    image
    image
    One of the scenes during our construction of the Kite for Duterte. I can remember that I just arrived from my boarding house that time since I reside to a boarding house during my review.

    image
    image
    image
    Kite for Duterte soaring up above the sky.
  • Miting de Avance at South Road Properties
    image
    Selfie before the miting de avance starts.

    image
    Cebuanos doing the famous Duterte fist sign.

    image
    Groufie with fellow Duterte Die Hard supporters, the one in the middle is @strings and the girl is my ex.
  • Before and After my first voting experience
    image
    Selfie with my ex during election.

    image
    I treated my neighbours to have foot spa after the elections.


And as for this year’s Barangay and SK elections I was so upset just today since the team of the opposing aspirant for Barangay Captain and his cohorts campaigned and visit in our house, and I just wearing my boxer shorts that time. And to be honest, my mind has been set to the incumbent Barangay Captain since during his term, first term including this year is full of output and service as compared to the family of the opposing aspirant to be barangay captain whi had dominated our Barangay, and I still remember to this day how helpless we are when there is no drainage system 10 years ago wherein we need to wait for 2 to 3 weeks before the flood subsides. Much for that, and this moment of time, this traditional politicians who visited our house is campaigning right now in the neighbouring sitio, and is pretty loud and distracting. To be honest, I didn’t know why President Duterte and the the representatives at both at Upper and Lower House pushed through this election and I was a bit shocked that it is scheduled this coming 14th of May and I’m a bit thankful since it would be a holiday. Haha

I guess that would be all.

Much love and respect.

Ace | @josephace135

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by josephace135 being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25