☝️How Art Molded Who I Am

in #philippines6 years ago

FB_IMG_1512972189939.jpg

Art Changes Lives

they said

I didn't believe it. I told myself that the person I am when I enter art school will still be the person I am when I graduate. I thought of that a thousand time. Guess what. I was wrong.

Change is constant and this kind of certainty didn't sinked in quite early in my life. I am talking about change in general, may it be good or bad, and accepting changes isn't that easy knowing I'm still young.


Start Changing
I've noticed I started changing when I was practicing art. Patience and Discipline are the two most common things that could be changed visibly. In terms of creating artwork, artmaking really tried my Patience in a way that I should accept the fact that I couldn't really achieve perfection. Basically calming myself down is one of my secrets in attaining the value of patience. Achieving the sense of control on each art piece I make. There will always be flaws. Flaws are lessons that should be open heartedly accepted. Without those flaws I would never have tried harder to be a better artist.

FB_IMG_1526070579352.jpg
My Artwork way back year 2013

Time management. One of the most things artist couldn't really resolve. In order to manage time for artistic growth purposes, one must let go of unnecessary habits. As of this very moment I still haven't acquired these values. It is hard for me to adjust since there are a lot of things in mind that I wanted to do. It just sounded as an excuse to escape this qualifications to become an artist. There are no shortcuts. Discipline must not be taken for granted. When it comes to serious artistic matter I tend to discipline mtself strictly so I won't mess up.

FB_IMG_1516877637185.jpg
My painting entitled 24/7 365 in year 2016. It is one of the best paintings I ever did. That painting was dedicated to all mothers. Infact I made a poem about it for my mother to read.

Here is the Poem

Shes got unconditional love all the time
She works hard and sometimes cross the line
She'll do whatever it takes for her child
She got compassion that she cant hide
She gave birth and did all the labor
Shes okay and didnt ask any favor
She protects aggressively like a mother hen
She can do things like no one can
She never complain how hard it is everyday
She shows love in the most unthinkable way
Shes ready for any bloody fight
Shes always there 24/7-365

Now I can see progress in my art practice through acquiring patience and discipline.


Theoretical Studies
I read too much and my thoughts are tied up to the conceptual part of art making. I wanted to show meaningful and relevant paintings that is why I pushed myself in reading theoretical types of books. It was also part of our class back then to tackle those references. Those studies I did made me feel as a rational being. It opened my mind to new possibilities of art making and of life itself.

FB_IMG_1516877628233.jpg
My painting entitled august

One of those simple theories I studied was Semiotics. Semiotics is the study of signs and symbols and how they are used. On a personal note, semiotics helps an individual to put a certain meaning to such thing.

For Example as I've said on my older post.

"Why august you may ask. Personally I have been painting indigenous people for quite some time now. And these people never fails to amaze me. Respected and Impressive thats what august is and thats what they are. As an artist it is my personal duty to tell a visual story about them and how important they are. I used my hands as painting reference with a paint brush with it to show that im an artist and I will carry the responsibility of telling the stories these people has to this world who seems to forget where they came from."

You can also see the red circle which means importance(for me). Red is a very catchy color that captures the eyes of the viewer. It has a big role in my paintings since it became my trademark somehow.


Exposure
I have been leading some different art exhibitions when I was still in college with the help of other students. Through those exhibitions I was able to enhance my socializing skills and built self esteem. I was able to stand infront of a huge crowd to conduct art talks.

FB_IMG_1526129845333.jpg
Art talk about Concept Making headed by DGDC

Joining competitions boosted my confidence. I am confident enough that my concepts and skill would work hand in hand. I always bring with me calling cards during exhibitions for the viewers to have. If they are interested about my works then they could just contact me for any request.

This way I was able to make connections that helped me outside the university when I graduated. More projects and opportunity arrived. But sad to say I wasted most of it.


Everything I learned inside the University I applied in real life 8ncluding tremendous mistakes. Mistakes that lead me to loosing most of those connections and friends. Above everything mentioned, the best thing to have along with those principles being practiced is RESPECT. That's what I lack the most. I was too focused with everything I absorbed.


That's it for today everyone. I hope you learned something.

Support these people and groups
@christinegegare
@deveerei
@dandalion
@jeeuuzz
@surpassinggoogle
@bayanihan
@steemph
@steemph.davao
@bestofph
@sndbox
@ocd
@bestproject
@artguildph

Peace Out and Take a Leap

Sort:  

mas wow imong works master jeuz! 😂

na unsa ra mn to sa imu oy. hehe.

Wow! You are a very talented young man.
Amazing some of the paintings you have done.
You are truly a master.
I hope you get to paint more and not get caught up in the internet too much.
I went to your blog and saw you say you are a "lost Spirit" Wonder what you mean by that?

thanks man 👌 i will surely try my best

You can also follow and tag #artzone , they'll be happy to include you and your amazing talent in their community.
steemph footer

awesome. will surely tag @artzone next time. thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10