Weekend Walk along Ayala Avenue

in #philippines5 years ago (edited)

I worked in Makati City for several years with different employers and on different intervals. The last time was until end of April 2018. This year, I had the chance to go back but to stroll, not to work, on a weekend. 😊
EDSAAyalaMcKinley.jpg
EDSA-Ayala-McKinley interchange

Ayala Avenue is one of the busiest streets of the central business district in Makati. Busy as it is, the pedestrian lanes were causing more as those greatly affect traffic flow. It is the only street where loading area for passengers is different from unloading area. At first, it was inconvenient when you get off the unloading area and have to walk to your destination just fronting the loading area. In the long run, I guess people got used to the discipline and I thought yes, we should keep the discipline.
Loading area.jpg

My errand is at GT Tower which is almost at the other end of Ayala Avenue so from EDSa-Ayala-McKinley exchange, I rode a jeepney and drop off the unloading area in front of The Columns. It is passed two buildings from where I was supposed to go but it is the nearest unloading area so I have to walk back by passing through RCBC Tower. I worked in this building sometime in 2008 to 2010 for HP supporting the Shell account. Level 6-8 is where the Embassy of Canada is. Except for the new establishments on the ground floor, I do not see much difference now.
RCBC.jpg

Getting into GT Tower and at its middle level lobby, I kept noticing this painting above on the wall of what seems like a mezzanine. I do not know the title or story behind but I am sure it is of Filipino theme because of the costume. It looks like they are dancing a native dance.
GT Tower painting.jpg

After my transaction at GT Tower, I thought of walking back to EDSA instead of riding another jeepney. Right when I got out of GT Tower, I noticed this building which is right across RCBC Tower facing Ayala Avenue. It was not there last year and I did not notice it earlier. It is obviously very new so I stepped back and asked the security guard of GT Tower. He said it is indeed new and is the Ayala North Exchange Tower. "Cool building," I thought. I meant the all mirror walls.

ANE.jpg

GT Tower entrance is facing H.V. dela Costa Strreet. I turned left towards Ayala Avenue and moved on.

It is very cozy and convenient to see the sidewalk this clear and clean. At times we call this area as lung center because sometimes it is full of people from different call centers having smoking session as their break time even during night and weekends. I wish every facade and sidewalks be as "peaceful" as this every time.
Walk.jpg

Pedestrian lanes are for senior citizens or PWDs only. Otherwise, you have to take the underpasses. This system has also helped in reducing traffic volume along Ayala Avenue.
Walk 2.jpg

Traffic volume is significantly light on this weekend. During week days, people can spend hours waiting for available ride because most public vehicles get full by the second, including Grab service.
Direction.jpg

At the other side of the street is the Makati branch of Philippine National Bank which is one of the largest banks in the country. Years ago, I heard that it is a semi-private bank but their corporate profile mentions private bank only. It celebrated its centennial year three years ago but apparently, it is still taking pride with their centennial display.
PNB 100.jpg

At the intersection of Ayala Avenue and Paseo is this monument of Benigno Aquino Jr. who is more popular as Ninoy. He was the senator who publicly criticized former martial law President Ferdinand Marcos and coined that "The Filipino is worth dying for." He was assasinated at the run way of then Manila International Airport in 1983. The airport is now under his name as Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA - Terminal 1). Maybe it is also worth mentioning that he is the one on our 500-peso bill.
Ninoy.jpg

This is the famous Ayala Triangle at the corner of Ayala and Makati Avenue. It actually spans up to where we just passed by, Paseo. The triangle is where the Philippine Stock Exchange is. Behind this facility is a mini-park where the famous Ayala Lights are staged every late November to early January in celebration of Christmas and New Year. Many people, local and tourists alike, would usually visit the garden for the lights.
Ayala Triangle.jpg

The next photo is one of those that I took in 2015 version of Ayala Lights.
FB_IMG_1558854146097.jpg

Few more minutes of walk and we will be back at the EDSA-Ayala-McKinley exchange on the first photo above. So that's about it for the short walk along this not so busy street on a weekend. Next time, I will write about the arts underground Ayala Avenue because yes, there are beautiful arts beneath the avenue. I will take photos when I go back to Makati.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

Starting in to my day @macoolette, I enjoyed reading this post. You did a nice job of detailing features of this city which were memorable to you, given you had some history with it.

This stood out to me ...

"He was the senator who publicly criticized former martial law President Ferdinand Marcos and coined that "The Filipino is worth dying for." He was assasinated at the run way of then Manila International Airport in 1983."

... simply because of the times in which we live. How many people today understand the times in which we live and, if necessary, are prepared to lay down their lives to change it? I can't speak for your culture and your country @macoolette, but here in America, the answer is very few ...

Well, I could write a post on this topic, but will stop before I get started.

Again, nice job on this post. I hope this finds you and yours doing well "over there!" 😊

Hi there @roleerob! How are you? It is good to "hear"from you again. I hope you're having a great weekend over there. 😊

How many people today understand the times in which we live and, if necessary, are prepared to lay down their lives to change it?

I can say not many. Maybe even none because I don't know anyone. (I guess that means including me when I don't know if I can do it.) Anyway again, I say not many because I have seen many examples when people tend to be more selfish than generous even those whom we thought are close to us.

I had good times and people were around me. I failed almost rock-bottom and all I hear was "I'm sorry for you." Others even just stare at me as if to say "that's your problem." The good thing is, there are few who stay. That still keeps my faith in humanity.

I just saw your anniversary post. I'll get back to it maybe when I'm done with the laundey. 😃 Either way, congratulations for a great year on the Steem platform!

Yes, life is challenging @macoolette. Very challenging ... I don't think it is a question of making mistakes and having problems. We all do. It is much more a matter of what we learn from these experiences. For the almost inevitable "next time" ...

"I'll get back to it maybe when I'm done with the laundey. 😃"

Yep, we can't escape "the real world," no matter how enticing that prospect may be. I am "heading out" shortly myself.

Until "next time," take care! 😊 👍


P.S. If and when you do chose to make the time, you will find yourself in my "Magnificent Eleven" list ... 😉

I have never been to Philippines before although we are neighbouring country. This is an awesome post with so many details on both the descriptions as well as the photos. I enjoyed 'walking' around this city and it does look like Kuala Lumpur city.

Thank you so much for your time sharing this with us. 😊

I've been to Kuala Lumpur last 2015 for a business trip. My colleagues had their own "walks" after office hours so I did my solo wandering at least near the Twin Towers. 😊 The following day after office hours, I travelled alone to climb the Batu cave. I didn't know how to get there but a lot of asking made me do it. 😃

Maybe you should also visit Philippines. 😊

I missed Makati all of a sudden. I used to work at PBCom Tower for a call center company back in 2008. Luckily, I never experienced heavy traffic when I worked there because my shift starts at 12mn and ends at 9AM.
You can experience light traffic in Makati at certain hours. But you do not want to be stuck in there on a weekday at exactly 5:00 PM. Oh boy, say goodbye to going home early.
Reading your post, I now feel like wanting to go back there. Who knows I might find you in one of the underpasses there, taking pictures of the interesting artworks. :)

12mn shift sounds pain to me. Those unholy timings are one thing that I had to "fight" with my IT Director in one of my previous jobs. That is because I do not, and maybe never will, understand why we need to "punish" employees this way. They say it's because of business need. What business need? They say coverage of support. I say that is necessary only if there is only one shift supporting a specific timezone. But if support is running 24hrs then beat me but I won't buy their reasoning. Support can still be covered by the next shift but with better timing rather than asking people to come at midnight, one or two o'clock in the morning.

Yap, I tried feeling like dying along Ayala Ave just waiting for a ride for hours. Nakakaiyak! 😃

Who knows I might find you in one of the underpasses there, taking pictures of the interesting artworks. :)

Oh no, that makes me conscious! Hahaha! Kidding aside, just poke someone you see taking photos there because yes, that could be me. 😂

By the way, are you on Twitter? I would like to invite you to join the Seven77 Steem campaign in there. @nathanmars is running this contest in whatever is the remaining of the next 48 hours and I would be very glad to pass the Steem I would get for anyone who joins through my invite. So come aboard the #Seven77 Steem train! 😊 I hope to see you on Twitter. My username there is @macoollete (Yap, different spelling 😊).

I wish I have a better rear smart phone D:

Yap, you can wish for it. Hope you get one soon. But while waiting, you can actually have good shots using a mot so hi-tech phone or camera and do post-processing later.

Many of the photos I post are actually post-processed specially the outdoor shots. I can not have good angle most of the time unless I really take time taking photos along the street. Ayoko namang pinagtitinginan na ako. 😊

Yes I have a DSLR, but the photos are way too heavy to be uploaded at Steem. The quality of the photo would be lower if I degrade the image quality. 20MB photos are not allowed to be uploaded in Steem. :( Great engagement, have a wonderful evening! ;)

My DSLR is collecting dust and molds for years in the shelf. When my friends mentioned about buying our DSLRs, I was so excited that I did in just few weeks. Shortly after that, smartphones came out. I regretted buying that bulky camera since then. While I know that DSLRs usually have better qualities, I realized I am more into convenience after all because again, there is post processing. 😊

For as long as the photo quality is not really bad, I am also not so conscious about that when posting on social media. I am not entering into photo contest anyway. 😊

You too have a wonderful evening!

The Makati City is looking pretty advanced to the last time i was there thanks for taking us on that tour :)

Really, you came to the Philippines? When?

It was a while back about 20 years ago but i am looking forward to coming back there mid next year i have a couple friends working over there now and they have invited me over maybe we will catch up...lol :)

Wow, 20 years ago! That's really been a long time. It will be worth visiting again after that because indeed, so many things have changed already. And yes, maybe we can catch up when you come over. 😃

Yep was a long time ago i would image a lot has changed over there it will be nice to see and we will keep in touch for sure. Cheers have a great week :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=weekend-walk-along-ayala-avenue


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This looks like a less polluted city area. Hope you enjoyed your day!

Yes, it does look clean and clear. And I wish it stays that way because it will be the reverse during week days when so many people are rushing everywhere. 😊

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

I understand. Enjoy ✌

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 529.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

You got a 30.32% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25