Why Jose Rizal is my National Hero!

in #philippines5 years ago

I've stumbled upon an article before debating who is the National Hero in the Philippines whereas it has not been officially declared Jose Rizal was the one or Bonifacio. Yet, to think of these two, they had opened the souls and eyes of the Filipinos before and did a great help to our nation from where we are now.

But for me in this blog post, I would like to hail Jose Rizal being my hero. Not because it was his birthday last month but with these past few days, I felt I disgraded my nation and when I think about that, I always think Rizal would dissaprove.

Below are the reasons why José Protasio Rizal Mercado y Alonso Realonda is my national hero and my inspiration on keeping the Filipino spirit, pride and heart within me.

1. He was a polyglot yet loves and urges everyone to speak Filipino

From German, French and Spanish he knew it all yet as he always says that Whoever does not love his own language is as stinky as a foul fish.

This line will always remind me that in this world full of people setting intelligence is knowing English language is wrong. Every language has its own uniqueness and words that are its own. And speaking the own tongue gives you an entitlement and pride that you live in this country and understands the people more in this specific area.

And also, who else would be speaking our language instead us? Right?

2. Anti - Violence

This is the thing that I admire about him. I was always reminded on how he wrote El Filibusterismo on the epilogue where he didn't let blood sheeding violence would be the answer in seeking peace. It would always be understanding, speaking, calmness and wisdom!

Many may disagree with me about this because of inferiority that we have before and now but I think this was the right thing to do.

You can't gain peace with wars and guns.

3. Epitome that a Filipino can be something more

I know there are a lot of Filipinos who excelled in different fields and do a lot of good and hard works but were unapprecited by the other nationality or any award giving-buddy. And with Rizal, he was recognized as a doctor, novelist, poet, etc.

Even though the competition against recognition was tough that time, Filipinos always excelled and we always have something to showcase in different fields. And I think that is beautiful. Very beautiful.

4. "Philippines is worth dying for"

As he was persecuted with death because of the novel he wrote that reflects what colonization were and how Spaniards did to Filipinos that time, he was confident that what he did what was right for the country and did it confidently! I know there are a lot of reasons not to be proud being a Filipino yet no one can argue that Philippines is worth dying for!

I hope I can talk to you and ask for a lot of things, Realonda! I hope you are watching and praying over us from above! Thank you for reminding us thar youths are the future of the nature and I couldn't be more empowered with that!

This was in USPF Museum, Mabolo. This museum is not open for walk-ins, you need to call the office and reserve a reservation

Hi! Thanks everyone for reading! A lot travel blog soon! God bless everyone

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87