Introducing Myself as an Expat "Retired in Samar - Living on Guam"

in #philippines7 years ago (edited)

My name is Randy and I am an American Expat… Retired in Samar, Philippines. I was raised in Illinois until I joined the Navy toward the end of the Vietnam war. I spent over 20 years with the Navy’s Meteorology and Oceanography Command and have worked and lived in Guam, Texas, Philippines, Chicago, and California, before retiring and going to work for the National Weather Service in Mississippi. After 5 years there, (and various smaller in-between gigs), I decided a career change was needed and was drawn to working in Real Estate. I went to school, got my licence and after selling real estated for two years, I became a Broker. I purchased a national real estate franchise and was out on my own, and never looked back… until the real estate market collapsed in 2008. Working for a living was easy, until then… but working harder and harder each day to survive was way more than I bargained for at this later stage in life. So, after almost 13 years in real estate (and 18 years in Mississippi), we found ourselves looking for a way out of the work-to-live syndrome. I was grabbing at an early retirement. I had to eliminate the stresses that way too many working people are all to familiar with.

I had met my wife about 28 years earlier when I was living and working in the Philippines. When we both considered the early retirement thing, moving to the Philippines became a more attractive option, with each and every passing day. So, once we made the decision to move to the Philippines, we sold our two businesses, the house, cars, and liquidated everything we did not want to take with us. We then shipped all of our household goods and our two cats to the Philippines.

Four years later, after we finished building our retirement home on the island of Samar, we decided to split our paradise into two parts. So we then moved to Guam (Where America’s Day Begins) to re-establish our U.S. presence. Now we travel back and forth between First and Third worlds, enjoying the best that these two distinct tropical worlds have to offer.

For several years now, I have been providing readers with a straight-forward and sometimes humorous perspective of living everyday life in the Philippines, and the Western Pacific, through my blog titled "Retired in Samar."
I also document my "One Day at a Time" adventures on my YouTube channel, also aptly titled "Retired in Samar." As a blogger/vlogger, I document the unspoiled natural beauty of Samar, the Philippine islands and it's peoples, along with beaches, waterfalls, and more. I invite you to join me in my adventures through the retired life - from the jungles to the beaches to mountain tops. Ahhh, life in the tropics! It doesn’t get much better than this (but you better have AC!).

If you are curious as to what it would be like living in a developing country, or how far your retirement dollars can go living in the realm of a Western Pacific paradise, follow along with me. There is much to learn. If you would like to know or see something of particular interest, let me know by dropping me a message on my site.

Thanks for visiting me as I remain, "Retired in Samar - One Day at a Time!"

You can also follow me at -
Blog: http://retiredinsamar.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/retiredinsamar
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCAR9haHVSBERtEx2dPSci5A

Patience is a virtue learned the world over, but one that can certainly be perfected while living in the Philippines! ~ RL

Sort:  

Hi Randy. On board with steemit now thanks to you. See you on Biri this spring?

Congrats! Anxious to see your #introducemyself post. Biri in the Spring... hmmm. That might be tough as I will be back in Guam next month.

Thank you Randy, you are the reason I joined Steemit! I follow you on Facebook and read your blog on this site. I wish you all the best and I hope to meet you one day when you and I are both in the Philippines. I still have 2 more years before I can pack up and move.

Martin WanaBeThere!
My Future Home/Farm Legazpi City, Bicol, Philippines
2014-11-20 19.16.44.jpg

Hey, that's not too far from where we live. Just a days ride! Hope Steemit satisfies your needs. And thanks for the kind words.

Well I hope in a couple years you will be back home and I can do that. Jump on a bus and go visit your neck of the Islands. I have not been to Samar yet.

We will be travelling back and forth from here on. Hope to see you in Samar some day!

To all my followers, I have decided to move away from Steemit and all the bullies that reside here, and will now be on Stishit. Join me there for more fair and easier rewards, just for participating! No more competing with bots and bullies!

Excellent introduction. It's great to have you on Steemit!

Following you!

PLEASE EXCUSE THE LOW RATING, @donkypong IS CENSORING AND FLAGGING ME

DON'T LET THE STEEMIT BULLIES WIN. PLEASE UPVOTE!

How is the cost of living there?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97