#ULOG: (3) Kipilas Falls: A Hidden Gem

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

When I was in college, I used to be part of our cheerleading team. On my first year, our coach couldn't remember my name since I was new then. I remembered she called me Pocahontas because she said I resembled this Disney character with her brown skin and long straight hair. Since then, the pen name Pocahontas had stuck with me. Everyone started calling me that.

For some reason, not only her name but also her spirit had taken me. I have developed an interest and a strong affection towards being in the wild. I love to go hiking, exploring mountains, discovering waterfalls, swimming in the sea, among others and basically just being one with nature. I like to think of myself as Pocahontas' reincarnation. Mother nature is always calling me.

Whenever I can get some time off work, I really try to do some outdoor activity. Just recently I found myself being wanderfully lost again in a place I never expected myself to be at.

P_20180630_090426.jpg

So how did I magically find myself to be in this place? Poof, no magic involved. Just pure spontaneous decision as a result of heeding an inner impulse to wander.

From Cebu, I had to fly to Davao for a field work. I was visiting our warehouse and office there and had to stay for a couple of days. I learned that one of my closest friends from college was also temporarily based there for work. Since I hadn't seen him in a while, we agreed to meet with each other.

This friend of mine also shares the same love to explore nature. Luckily, I had a day off while I was there so we decided to go on a trip. We were supposed to go to Samal Island for a day on the beach initially but we changed our plan and decided to go waterfalls hunting instead.

Everyone, I would like to present to you this magnificent waterfalls we found in Kitaotao, Bukidnon! 😍 Kipilas Waterfalls 😍

2016_1223_14415200-01-01.jpeg

It was one of the most beautiful waterfalls i have ever seen. I've visited a couple of waterfalls already since Cebu is teeming with that but this one I can say is truly unforgettable.

Mind you, it wasn't a walk in the park to get here. We had to hike about an hour and go through a difficult trail just to be here. We had to walk on rough terrain and climb down slippery slopes.

P_20180630_083041-01.jpeg

The view when you're on top of the hills was also heart warming. Seeing all these greens just melted my heart away.

P_20180630_084747-01.jpeg

On our way to the waterfalls, we had to pass through a canopy of bamboos that had bent their bodies to the ground probably because of strong winds.

P_20180630_084644_BF_p-01.jpeg

But first, lemme take a selfie! 😂 Give this cray a chance, she may only be here once. See those bamboo overhead? It's like I passed through the hole where Alice fell into Wonderland.

P_20180630_085431-01.jpeg

Looking at those distant mountains, I could only wish I had more time to explore them and stay a bit longer.

P_20180630_085024-01.jpeg

Climbing down this makeshift ladder and we were almost there. This adventure had given me an adrenaline surge. This wasn't our initial plan but it ended as one of the best spontaneous decisions I have made. Truly, the best things happen when you least expect them.

P_20180630_090113-01.jpeg

Kipilas Falls is just so gorgeous! Gigantic, wonderful and glorious. I could list down hundreds of adjectives but the words will never give justice to how beautiful it is when you actually see it in your own eyes.

P_20180630_085555_BF_p-01.jpeg

I didn't reallly have deep reflections while I was on our way here. I was just enjoying the hike, too overwhelmed to think of life issues. I just thought life is beautiful. The world is beautiful and we live for moments like this.

P_20180630_095859-01.jpeg

I'm finally home! ❤️

IMG_20180703_213107_682.jpg

This has been Pocahontas saying "Listen with your heart, you will understand." 😉

All photos are mine taken using Asus Zenfone 3 Max

Sort:  
Hello.😊

Congratulations @rizzybear, your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.

You may check the post here.


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.


See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord

This is heart-warming. Thank youu ❤️😊

WElcome :) keep sharing a good and informative post :)

yes indeed, you are the reincarnation of Pocahontas itself, I totally agree. ^_^ well done @rizzybear

Supportive kaayo ka kuya hahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98