A Journey Towards Change: Going to the Voting Precinct With My Father (Philippines' Election Day Experience)

in #philippines5 years ago



Hey guys! It's been a while since I made a post. I have been busy with work and anime (as always). Anyway, I have watched numerous anime for the past weeks, and I can't wait to just sit down and make some reviews about them. If not, I'll make some reaction posts regarding them in the days to come.

Anyway, in this post, I'll be sharing to you my experience during the Election yesterday.



May 13, 2019, Monday, was the Election Day particularly "Midterm Election". So, the candidates who will win from the election yesterday will serve under the president during his midterm of service. Basically, we'll be selecting new people for the senatorial department and other local officials in our province and city.

When I was younger, I didn't really mind the election... I didn't mind politics at all. However, as I aged, I have a better view of what's happening and I started having my own principles. It's great that I have parents who are unbiased and though we have different views sometimes, we still respect each other. So let me tell you what happened yesterday.


Voting time basically is a whole day event. In the past, I and my father used to go early to our precincts to vote. However, we realized that a lot of people go at that time of day, so we decided to go in the last few hours of the voting schedule. Anyway, I had to work for around 5 hours yesterday as well before going to the precinct.

I finished my classes at around 3:30PM and we started heading out to our precinct which is around 5-8 minutes by pedicab.


IMG_20190513_153422.jpg



Our house isn't by the road, so we had to walk for about a minute to get to the road. I took this picture and as you can see, it was still scorching at 3:30PM. That's my papa's silhouette there... We go to the same precinct, so yeah, we went to vote together.


IMG_20190513_153442.jpg



We waited for a couple of minutes to get a pedicab. It was still a bit hot, so there weren't a lot of available pedicab. Well, we could have just walked to the precinct, but it was so hot for that.


IMG_20190513_153729.jpg



After a few minutes, we were able to take the pedicab. If you read my posts before, you might have seen this place. This was where we used to walk when we go jogging near the beach. So yeah, it takes only around 5 minutes by pedicab to get to the back gate of the public school which is our precinct for the election.


IMG_20190513_153926.jpg



From the road, we had to walk a couple minutes on this small passageway going to the back gate. Of course, it's possible to go to the front gate, but the area was quite far from our place and walking through the back gate is much more convenient.


IMG_20190513_154041.jpg



This time, we have already entered the school premises. Most of the buildings at the back are for the high school and senior high school students. And we're heading towards the elementary department.


IMG_20190513_154039.jpg



As you may have noticed, I placed a white arrow pointing to a certain building. That is my and my papa's precinct where we are to cast our votes. First, we had to confirm our names on the list then head inside the room. Of course, I'm not allowed to take pictures there, so I kept my phone and started with the voting process.

Hopefully, the new people in authority who will win the election will serve the country and not let the people serve them. I have actually missed several elections in the past because I thought it wouldn't be of any use, however, it's different now. The people who I voted for may not all win, but at least I have exercised my right to vote.


IMG_20190513_155656.jpg



IMG_20190513_155702.jpg



IMG_20190513_155707.jpg



After we finished voting, I took a few more pictures of the place. It was already past 4PM that time and as you can see, the sun is still so bright. Good thing was, it wasn't humid that day. So, despite the scorching heat of the sun, it was dry and a bit windy.


IMG_20190513_160123.jpg



IMG_20190513_160027.jpg



We walked back to the road side through the back gate and rode a pedicab going to a convenience store near our house. I and papa decided to buy some snacks to cool ourselves up and as a souvenir for mama. And ohh, you can also see my and papa's index fingers with indelible/electoral ink. This is proof that we have already casted our votes. It's semi-permanent so it'll stay for several days.


IMG_20190513_161411.jpg



IMG_20190513_161434.jpg



The best cure for a hot day is ICE CREAM!!!! <3 I and papa bought some Magnum Ice Cream and some Spanish bread. We shared it and ate snacks together with mama while talking about the election.

Later that night, I took a night off, so I just hang around with mama and papa in the house. Actually, I watched a lot of anime last night over some wine which was given by my papa's friend. The wine was a bit strong, so I didn't really like the taste, so I drank it while having some chocolates. OMG, so unhealthy!!!! hahaha

Anyway, I'll end my post here. I'm hoping for a positive result of the election. Hopefully, we can change for the better! I'll be back soon with some anime-related stuff, I think... I'll do my best.

For now, I have to get back to work! Thanks for reading! じゃあね~!

Sort:  

You got a 3.64% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tegoshei! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73