ADSactly Advice - How to Use Ancient Wisdom to not Quit When Life (or Steem) Gets Unbearable

in #philosophy6 years ago

Socrates.png

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Almost everyone reaches multiple points in his life when giving up feels like a solid option, to just end our life when even the tiniest amount of stress is too much for us to handle. This sounds very much like the burnout syndrome and I would agree.

But there are times when life is going well and then it suddenly strikes the foundation of our life like a thunderbolt sent down from Asgard by Thor.

So we can experience harsh stress that kicks us out of our shoes and stress that affects us over a long period of time which completely drains us of our life energy.

We even collectively experience a depression together at the moment! Can you guess what I mean? Yes, the Steem and Steem Backed Dollar price are dropping harder than my school grades 10 years ago when I missed over 200 hours every season.

Many people have quit Steem now, and that does not only include people Minnows but also Whales that have invested a lot into this platform that received a lot of hate in the form of downvotes from other people and quit altogether.

Just look at the following depressing Steem and Steem Backed Dollar charts.

Lawd Have Mercy 1.jpg

Lawd Have Mercy 2.jpg

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Will You Also Quit?

Will you quit just like them because you are not making any money here on Steem?

I want you to think about these questions: Where would humanity be if everyone would quit when it gets tough? Where would you be if you had quit on all your problems?

We wouldn't have gotten that one beautiful woman or man that we wanted, we would have not reached our goals, or we would simply have died too early.

We wouldn't even browse the internet today as it wouldn't have been invented because the people that have invented it would have quit when things got really hard.

They would have quit because they ran out of funds, because they got injured, because they broke up with their partner and for many other reasons.

You gotta reframe your thinking, Marcus Aurelius said that a man is not who he thinks he is, but what he is thinking. If you think you are a loser then you will act like a loser, if you think that you are the reincarnation of Odin himself then you will act like an unstoppable force.

I am certain most people know the author Friedrich Nietzsche. He said, that the Übermensch is the person that does not only endures lives hardest strikes but the Übermensch loves hardship and grows stronger through it.

Nietzsche Quote.jpg

Philosophy is a powerful tool, just like history as well, we are not the first ones that go throw the difficulties of life, in fact, we cannot even comprehend what our forebears went through.

They were hunter-gatherers and they were sometimes eaten alive by wild animals, they died at a young age because of wars, they were tortured and burned alive and much more than that which is 1000x worse than what we go through.

We live such comfortable lives nowadays, we need to learn gratitude even when we are at our absolute lowest.

This is the method of true strong and intelligent human beings to deal with very hard times: Always convert every minus into a plus.

Your partner loved you that you loved more than everything else in the world? As harsh as it sounds, but now you will learn to love yourself just as much as you loved your partner, you will learn that being single comes with great benefits as well.

I personally am single for over 2 years now and if I would find a great woman that I like I would want a relationship with her but I am not actively looking for it because I value my time and because I have tons of goals which take all my time.

That is what I have learned 2 breakups ago, that being single comes with a lot of benefits (which you forget when you are in a relationship for a long time), but to learn the true value of that I first had to go through some pain, just like you might go through some pain right now.

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

The Steem Problem

Back to the current Steem depression, how can you handle that Steem problem and not quit like some other people when it gets hard?

It is a matter of your values, principles and thoughts. If you value discipline, patience, steadfastness, courage and strength and forbid yourself to ever quit then you will very likely not quit when it gets really hard.

I told myself that I will never quit Steem. The only time I will quit is when Steem stops existing and we know that cannot happen because there are many other great Steem platforms like DTube, Dlive and Busy for example.

BitCoin Chart.jpg

And if that doesn't help you then here are some of my favorite inspirational quotes that I made after reading "How to Stop Worrying and Start Living" by Dale Carnegie.

"Let's not imitate others, let's find ourselves and be ourselves".

"The most important thing in life is not to capitalize on your gains. Any fool can do that, the important thing is to profit from your losses. That requires intelligence; and it makes the difference between a man of sense and a fool."

"There is a Scandinavian saying which some of us might well take as a rallying cry for our lives: The north wind made the Vikings."

"Two men looked out from prison bars, one saw the mud, the other saw the stars."

"I must lose myself in action lest I despair" <- That means to be so busy that you cannot worry.

"A political victory, a rise in rents, the recovery of your sick, or the return of your absent friend, or some other quite external event, raises your spirits and you think the good days are preparing for you. Do not believe it. It can never be so. Nothing can bring you peace but yourself."

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Important Notes

I hope you enjoyed this post and I also hope that you use my advice and my quotes to get ahead in life and to deal with your problems!

Pictures don't need to be sources because I made them all myself except the Nietzsche quote picture which has the source written on the picture and the thumbnail which is sourced here: Thumbnail source

If you have suggestions or criticism then please write those into the comments, I will gladly answer them. : )

Authored by: @valorforfreedom

V9 Separator (No Logo).png

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

That was an amazing content!
I always say “people who quit once are always quitters”. One thing I know for a fact “I’m not a quitter”. It’s a sad 😔 watching many people powering down and eventually even quitting. However, because I truly believe in this great platform I’m certain new great people will arrive and eventually even those who quit will come back. When it comes to Steem and SBD price. Whether it’s down or not doesn’t bather me. I look at it long therm and that is what excites me. I look at every single investment as a long therm investment and that is what excites me the most. You just can’t get stressed out just because of these litle bumps in your life.

...Marcus Aurelius said that a man is not who he thinks he is, but what he is thinking. If you think you are a loser then you will act like a loser,...

👍! That’s true!

”When you look too hard your chance to find it will decrease. When you stop looking, it will eventually find you!” This is regarding when you mentioned you were single. Be happy and enjoy being single, it may change sooner than you may think 😆.

”Two men looked out from prison bars, one saw the mud, the other saw the stars."

That would be my favorite, because it’s easy to remember 😆!
Great, motivational and inspiring post!
BTW: the bitcoin chart looks healthy!

sad 😔 watching many people powering down and eventually even quitting. However, because I truly believe in this great platform I’m certain new great people will arrive and eventually even those who quit will come back. When it comes to Steem and SBD price. Whether it’s down or not doesn’t bather me. I look at it long therm and that is what excites me. I look at every single investment as a long therm investment and that is what excites me the most. You just can’t get stressed out just because of these litle bumps in your life.

That is the right mindset that you need to have! Your words reflect faith, discipline and endurance, 3 essential traits that you need to really make it anywhere! 👍

Escapism is not the solution. In fact it is the cause of the problems. When we prefers quitting instead of fighting, we make our life miserable. We put ourselves on mercy of the tyrants and bullies. A person who don't like to fight, ultimately fell prey to the hunters (tyrants, bullies etc.).
This mentality becomes infectious. A pessimist can also make others sad. Hence, we should keep away from these types of persons. Steem has a great potential. Quitting is not a solution. Fighting is the only option which can take us to success.
I have written so many posts and posted so many comments on others' posts but I don't always receive upvotes or comments from the fellow steemians. Should I get frustrated or should I quit steemit? No! Only determination can make me successful. Be brave, be a fighter. Never give up.

If we start quitting it can become a habit and we will start giving up more than we normally would.

I give your comment a 100% upvote for the sincerity and wisdom!

Thank you @valorforfreedom for appreciating my comment. It was your article which inspired me.

It's absolutely true..Despite all the current advances, to be happy.se, it is better to refer to ancient wisdom, because it has more than valuable teachings.

Many of the tips we are given today to be happy are not new, but come from ancient wisdom.

A wisdom that seems to have been relegated to ancient times but that we continue to use today, because we did not internalize everything it wanted to transmit to us.

Today, it is time to start letting go of what we can not change, to accept situations as they arise and to start taking the helm of our lives.

Falling into obsession, refusal and guilt will bring us nothing but misfortune.

Many of the tips we are given today to be happy are not new, but come from ancient wisdom.

Good observation!

Today, it is time to start letting go of what we can not change, to accept situations as they arise and to start taking the helm of our lives.

This deserves a whole series of posts, that is a great philosophy. 👍

I think that at some point in our lives we wanted to abandon our projects and maybe it is due to the time it takes to achieve what we want, in our mind doubts are combined, such as: is it worth what I am doing? and the answer is if it makes me happy what I do, then if the effort is worth it, in short if it makes you happy what you do, do not abandon your path. There is a phrase from Aristoteles that I always take with me and I share it with you ... There is only happiness where there is virtue and serious effort, because life is not a game ... greetings

I totally love that Aristoteles quote. If you work with purpose on something you will feel good at the end of the day.

Firstly because you are proud of your work and secondly you do not really think of other things when you get busy with your work!

I am a believer in the fact that hurdles eventually makes you stronger. Of course all the problems in life cannot be lumped together but I find that there is a general pattern to life. Once you go through a situation, next time you learn how to avoid it or deal with it when it occurs.

There are many type of people on this platform but only one kind will remain here and be remembered. The people who are here to add value to this place by using quality content and are interested in earning Steem/SBD and not dollars.

Once you decide to stick to you guns turns out that there is little that can be done dissuade you from you path. Steemit requires dedication and perseverance along with a healthy dose of smart attitude. The price of crypto will go to the moon sooner or later but waiting for it is wasting time. I personally try to earn as much steem/SBD as I can and find it easier to not look at the dollar value of my earnings.

I am a believer in the fact that hurdles eventually makes you stronger. Of course all the problems in life cannot be lumped together but I find that there is a general pattern to life. Once you go through a situation, next time you learn how to avoid it or deal with it when it occurs.

That is what Nietzsche would say! Warriors embrace hardship.

Yes it is really historical attachment just agrrtaone and actually I gain knowledge from this post my dear friend I am happy now to see your post just a great one a this post photography this person is great one in this world I like this person..

All people like your post fluently and I am also like your post..
And to praise your all post and your post to help for all steemians..

And your community just to extra ordinary o create..
So go ahead and carry on your activities .
We support for you all time..
We wait for your next post @adsactly

You are absolutely right. In life we ​​must be able to hold the principle that everything will be beautiful in time. We should not stop just because there is a stumbling block or a strong wind. When the wind is strong we will be taught how we step on the ground with a steady and not slip to fall down. When the wind blows hard we can even cling to the tree in order not to fall. Because there is a saying that the higher the tree the wind is stronger . If it is currently in Steemit is already in the search for money then we must return to our goal of joining steemit. Are we just looking for money. TENTU NOT
I'm sure there's a lot of fun and joy to share with friends from around the world. we can exchange cultures and experiences that will interweave humanity because we are actually human beings who are social beings who need to socialize.
When we choose to join steemit in this philosophy I am sure we will not stop just because of the low steem value. but with patience, hard work and cosnisten I am sure we will return to the beauty that has also been felt before. When things are normal. We must make sure to get into steemit as a seasonal writer who works only during the harvest season, a high value steem.

Thank you @valorforfreedom
Thank you @adsactly
Thank you Steemit you share something deeper and meaningfull
Warm regard from indonesia

I guess the best way to keep us from quitting is not to lose our hope. Whatever happens, just hold on and do not be trouble - everything will be ok soooooonn

Faith would be a better choice than hope, both work tho!

Yeah, the crypto downturn caught me by surprise too and it is depressing to always see prices going down.

But yeah to answer your question, if everyone quit, the prices would fall more lol

No one would be able to achieve great accomplishments if humanity just quit at the face of hardship though

No one would be able to achieve great accomplishments if humanity just quit at the face of hardship though

Adsactly! Hard times give us the opportunity to check how strong we are.

i know i will not quit.. i have survived and had to survive many things before in my life...many obstacles came before me..quitting never helped..

Indeed! We also lose most of our progress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73