Pause for 10 minutes to spend special time with a loved one ... don't miss the moment.

in #philosophy6 years ago

Five or ten minutes is nothing in the day, time goes in a flash and cannot be replayed. I have been listening to Oprah Winfrey talk about Mindfulness and the concepts of time and flexibility. She makes a lot of sense.

Just picture finding yourself in the following scenarios, would you pause?

  • Trying to get out the door in the morning. When suddenly the 3 year old asks, "Mummy/daddy will you play with me?"
  • An invitation from a partner for a 5 minute hug when you are in the middle of meeting a deadline.
  • Retreating into nature for 10 minutes breathing in the beauty when time is ticking away.

The thing is if one misses all those 5 or 10 minute moments then it has been missed. Not to be replayed.

Who says that it is not possible to stop? Just you! We all set ourselves time constraints in our minds believing that meeting deadlines are important. My technique is to say it does not matter, I think timelessness, I do not look at the clock when I am late because I rush too much , get agitated, shout orders, drop things and loose even more time. As a result I am remain calm and am some nicer to be around.

I guarantee however that in years to come it will not be those work commitments you will be reminiscing on; it will be those special loving moments that stopped you in your tracks for ten minutes. The connection, the touch, the love, the laughter.

Live in present moment awareness, make every moment matter. I always smile when I see my beautiful lab Ivy. So glad I spent so many fun times with her. Ivy left this world in 2011 aged 14 years old. She was a gorgeous old girl.


Cheers


Sort:  

howdy there angiemitchell! ha what a great dog, labs are the very best friends!

Hi janton, it has been one of those days - on the hop. Labs are such gentle dogs for families aren't they?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78