Slow down - you're going too fast....

in #philosophy6 years ago

These are the words reverberating in my mind at this very moment. I am sure it is a Simon and Garfunkel song from the 70's! Recalling songs and singers is not a strong point of mine. You would not want me on Your Music Trivia Team!

No matter how long ago this song came out it still is potently important today as well. Many of us are guilty of going too fast and slowing down is normally not a blip on our horizon. Probably because we are going too fast intent to finish whatever in a timely fashion.

I for one admit to going too fast this morning; no break for me right now as I try to tick off the list of must do in my head. It is one of those days that I've left a number of jobs for the last moment. Will I every learn to stop procrastinating? Will I ever change my spots? Maybe a philosophical question to answer in another post!

Anyway, a much needed zone out zen meditation is on the cards right now as I quieten my mind and go to another space. Meditation is a relaxing deep breathing time out and so recommended to gain a sense of peace and rational perspective on one's life. Even as I speak about the positive effect of meditation I am feeling so much more relaxed. It is a daily practice of mine. I prefer long meditations but I admit that on busy days I make do with 10 minutes. Walking or cycling is a form of mediation and I have been known to do this regularly. It's okay, I keep my eyes open or otherwise I would end up in a ditch! Going into a timeless space eyes open or closed is a wonderful feeling.

Here is my meditation partner for today as I get ready to get in the meditation position.</center

Thanks for listening, it certainly helped me to slow down and realise that going helter skelter is crazy. You would think that I already know about the dangers of going non-stop! This is one of traps of being human.

**

Cheers

Angie

Enjoy reading my post. Feel free to comment


Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

hey it's a good thing you get a good night's sleep every night!
yes, you have a good memory.
the song was Simon and Garfunkel's "Feelin Groovy"
from 1966! I loved those guys.

Slow down, you move too fast
You got to make the morning last
Just kicking down the cobble stones
Looking for fun and feelin' groovy..

thanks for the reminder @angiemitchell!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88