Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

This is the second post from a trusted PALnet author that's been about Neoxian so I guess it's time I pack up and head for this illustrious city in the Discord clouds and see what's up.

Seconded everything you said about tribes. Steem was a hot mess when I joined courtesy of the massive run up ... these days I'm super glad I made it long enough to see actual communities appearing besides my homies at @dtube and @dsound.

Neoxian is one of our trusted bankers in the community and has built up a decent tribe for himself before "tribes" were officially released. dtube decided to do its own thing, but perhaps we'll see dsound create a tribe in the future too. Getting tokens tied into all of these dapps and communities is going to create some really awesome opportunities to bring in other crypto communities. We've already had some interest from ETH dapps that are seeing how much more affordable our platform is and the benefits of having free transactions. Who knows? This could be the turning point.

It sorta feels that way, doesn’t it? If this isn’t the bottom of Steem vs BTC than I am firmly convinced Steem vs BTC has nothing to do whatsoever with the Steem blockchain.

It’s exciting time again. It will be very interesting to see which ones try and make an actual tribe/community out of it and what ones are looking for a quick cash grab. Along with all the people who just try and milk things as they always do.

It’s always great when people have more power and this seems to be a great way to make it happen. I think it also sends a very loud message if people don’t like things enough and have the skills they can go build their own platform on top.

When you going to get your gaming community up and running? :)

I stepped down from Archdruid and all curation efforts a number of months back. I really don’t want ever do that again. Just too many hours and not being able to make much of a difference. I still hang out there as a member but it's mostly quite these days.

So much spam in the gaming tags, so many trying find cleaver ways of not getting caught stealing content. It will and did drive me crazy.

I hear ya, this is all what led me to stop curating for the past several months. The cool things about tribes though is that you can get a team of like-minded individuals to help manage the content and remove people that are repeatedly abusing your tag from showing up on your front end. The question of is it worth it is kind of complicated though, ultimately I think we'll only ever get out of these communities what we put into them. The higher quality content and better community engagement we have, the more people are going to want to be a part of it. Getting people that believe in the vision and want to help build something is all part of it. Even if you don't end up leading one, maybe someone will start a really nice gaming tribe and get you on board.

The issue came down to people saying they help and then did nothing or “I just don’t have the time”. I even caught people running off telling other communities they were doing such and such for community a, b, c to try and get an in with others so they get votes for how “helpful” they were.

60+ hours a week was not enough back then. I just don’t got it in me anymore. Let alone I just can’t afford the time. While two other people run it now they are very pressed for time.

https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr

Some great thoughts on the process we are going through. There is new excitement with the advent of tribes especially neoxian's that for myself I am finding new energy, if I could only stretch time further.

Now that Dragon is another thing. It is fantastic! I have a great fondness for dragons. They are too often misunderstood. ;o)

I hear ya, I feel like I'm stretched so thing right now it's ridiculous, but I think it's going to be very much worth it. I'm glad you like my dragon!

I am personally trying out as many as the communities as I can, and seeing which are my favorite to read and gauging where it will be the most profitable to post through.

I like how I can blog on different interfaces. Its a great way to organize my posts.

All of my actifit posts are on that front end, palnet is a catch all, maybe I can use neoxian for my ulog, and I definately look forward to blogging more about crypto.

Because I know so much more than the average person and I could REALLY use an interface that shows ONLY my crypto posts.

I would ask where I can park my dragon, but as far as I can tell, these things land where they want. :D

Time will tell, for now it's in gestation. Without millions of users holding stake it's not really anything but a novelty. As a new minnow the sobering reality that I'm in the top 1% has come crashing down on me and until the distribution changes drastically it's extremely difficult to be bullish because we're creating niche communities.

I should just shut up though as my opinions won't be popular and being a company man is the only way to grow. I'll finish by saying my generation of steemian that's never seen steem over 45 cents is going to be very skeptical..

Posted using Partiko Android

I suppose you could look at either way really... what happens if STEEM keeps dropping and the Tribe's tokens become more worthwhile? It'll be interesting seeing STEEM whales moving into tokens to hedge their losses. Honestly though, I'm thinking about when active communities that are built around games and platforms that want to monetize their user base realize how dirt cheap it is to create a community and token on STEEM. There's a lot of opportunity to build something amazing here.

I'm definitely appreciative of the potential and that some life has been given to the platform. It was all but flat lined just a few weeks ago.

I agree that it's enticing and presents an amazing opportunity. Who will figure that out and how will they know is the question. Out of the current list of scot tokens I see maybe a few rising out of obscurity. I'm of the mind that until we have a decent population of staked players that universal themes are a stronger attraction than niche communities. Universal themes being, money, investment (Leo) or sports because the world loves football etc.

Pal has awesome people involved but a palnet tag does nothing for me and post eip it's just a subset of the larger lost at steem sea ecosystem. Of course I could be totally wrong but that's a tough sell to imagine that slices of second layer steem will have more value than the actual native token which is steem, engine is just choosing which octane, but it's still gas in the tank. I'll keep an open mind and do what I have always done and see how it goes..

Posted using Partiko Android

The goal with PALnet is specifically to avoid going the niche route and more or less, just create a better economic model than we've seen on STEEM and to also have some kind of official moderation than doesn't play favorites. To me, one of the biggest problems with steemit is that the tools in place to fight spam, plagiarism and abuse don't mind dealing with the obscure "bad actors" but seem entirely unwilling to go after whales. We've already knocked the rewards off a few whale shitposts that got to trending and have zero problem doing it. When we have a random bad actor that refuses to leave and decides they're going to target random community members to punish us, which happened recently, the got entirely purged from the platform. While some see it as centralization and some will probably see it as an abuse of power or censorship, there's a lot of people out there that this appeals to and they will ultimately be happy for it. Our guidelines are pretty simple and laid back, as long as you aren't coming here to do harm, which we've done a pretty good job of defining in our community guidelines now, then you can pretty much do what you want. As far as rewards go, well people will never 100% see eye to eye on that, but as long as you aren't putting a picture of a Twitter post at the top of our trending page or some other virtually zero effort garbage, people will probably generally leave you alone. I like to think of what we're doing is the essential steemit experience with a little "give a fuck" added in.

Yea I can appreciate all of that, I'm certainly not saying the pal is a bad thing. Anarcho capitalism with no governance was certainly not a pretty picture. In theory economic incentives and disincentives along with social pressures and mechanisms should be enough, but humans can be emotional, erratic, and highly illogical especially when their precious profits are involved.

Pal has managed to create a hard fork in a way by circumventing the governance and politics of steem, which is definitely bad ass and satisfies my revolutionary spirit. After the next HF it will be interesting to see if the momentum from being a proactive "give a fuck" community will lead to a safe haven of sorts. Flag coalitions and good guy intimidation tactics are probably a necessity for anyone that might rock the boat or gets caught in the crossfire.

You see.... The more water gathers in a place, there's every tendency that a flood might be inevitable and we all know that floods don't leave a sign of good presence. That's how steemit was becoming but with the tribes and new innovations it has made it possible to apportion the water in different tanks to make it function like a drinking water to all, instead of a flood... And everyone who got tired or left are coming back so as not to go FOMO on the new innovations in the steem land.
I understand your thoughts clayboyn and I'm happy to see you in neoxian city tribe.

We hope the SMT's hasten itself.... Cheers.

#palnet

I suppose time will tell. Thanks for the welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63722.47
ETH 3049.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.03