Sort:  

For a while now I've had the idea of writing a post called "the 7 deadly virtues" and Patience is one of them. It's exactly as you say, we are taught young, that patience is a good thing and that patience brings about what you want... but that's not even logical! when it comes to dealing with people, showing them that you are patient person will only make them take advantage of the fact that you can wait, and they will delay delivering. I say this as someone who has done that on numeral occasions... One's deadly virtue of 'patience, leads me to commit the sin of procrastination.

Of course overly demanding impatient people are also annoying... in my work i find that people that demand things without any flexibility, are also terrible at rewarding your effort to appease them, because to them everyone is 5 minutes late.

But your idea of patience goes a little deeper than that, because you are also ting it with your perception of time, priorities and self reflection on who you are... I agree with others here who said that you seem more 'chill' and nonchalant rather than patient...

This comment is in danger of becoming a post so I'll bail here :))) but not before pointing at how dope the images in this post are. kudos!

That makes sense to me, I definitely resonate on a chill frequency. :)

I repeatedly read your posts @clayboyn! I was trying to digest well your perspective in life. Actually, I am impressed on your coolness. Patience is a virtue, a proverbial verse, which I think I need to improve.

For sure, you are a worry free person. Because, I do believe that what gives stress is on how we react to every incidents or situation or to things. Thanks a lot for sharing this. It made me think of how importance patience is.

Interesting perspective. People say I am patient also, I also don't really see it. I tend to view patience as more an external thing. I have always been able to wait for other people to say what they need to say and am ok generally with people not getting to the point quickly...which is sometimes useful when reading Steemit posts. If you are patient with others sometimes the relationship can be very one sided but usually that patience rubs off and their is a mutual respect and patience there.

Agreed, there's certainly give and take in everything.

It really sounds like you are wrangling with some truths. It’s impressive that you are willing to be so “real” and that you’re willing to describe everything you are processing on your journey. I wish you well!

Interesting musings. i think patience is about quelling your ego and being present, without looking for gratification.

Yes, patience is having a long term goal and knowing the universe has your back.

Your conclusion would be the opposite of patience. for example i have recently studied counselling at university and it requires great patience to be fully present with and focused on a client.

Agreed, conscious communication definitely requires being grounded in the present. I think I worded the ending a little weird, but the gist of what I was getting at is that less random stuff seems to ever really bother me (in regards to the everything else becoming kind of irrelevant part).

Sounds like maturity, surrender, acceptance, and self respect, too. I have a real hard time with anxiety, its just how I am wired. But I have been looking back on the last year or so as well, and while I do tend to overthink still, and get myself into stupid overwrought mentalities, I don't have panic attacks any more, and I do feel largely in control of my life. Some things are difficult still, but each day is a new one, and I am always experimenting to find what will make me the happiest. And in that way, I feel like my world is mine... and that I just have to fine tune some of my habitual responses, and I will find the calm I am seeking. This is a cool post because it kind of fascinates me that you can be so chill hahaha. Thanks for sharing the insight.

LOL, I guess I do have chill by the boatload. :D

Congratulations @clayboyn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Loading...
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85