Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Haven't played Binding of Issac, but I can relate to what you said because many rouge-likes has a bit of that relation to real-life, and I imagine one with religious references is going to be more obvious about it.

I enjoyed reading this :)

I do tend to be drawn to roguelikes in general, but I think BoI specifically is a treasure trove of philosophical retrospection.

I was hoping you were going to get into the religious aspect a bit deeper because there's been huge documentaries made on how much the programmer put into conveying his own history of abuse and depression in the game. Great article tho.

Thanks for checking it out! I considered getting into that part of it, but I feel like all of that is very obvious on a base layer if anyone is playing the game or reading/watching anything in it. Perhaps that's why this game resonates with me so well though as I've had to deal with plenty of my own depression and the guilt that religions seem to push on us. Religious guilt and original sin are some of the most horrible things humanity inflicts upon itself from my perspective.

It's a form of child abuse.

I saw this in philosophy and thought the same thing haha. I do love all the rougelike elements you've pointed out, and Isaac has become the cornerstone for new rougelike games because of it, but what they've always failed to reproduce is the incredible metaphorical depth of isaacs storytelling through symbolism. Incredible game, I recently purchased the entire DLC bundle to get the Platinum God achievement once and for all.

Honestly Clay... I had some similar thoughts as I was learning the story of the game... not being a fan of religion myself, i relate a lot to the way you receive it...

It doesn't hurt that it's a very fun game with a very high skill ceiling too. :)

We (my two little sons and I) love this game too. Its a bit disgusting, which is why the boys love it 🤣 We dont really pay attention to the creepy religious thing, the boys only care for the game 🤣

LOL, it's a great game, even if ya don't really dig beyond the surface level of it. I'm just wondering how long it will take them to realize what the things that shoot the lasers are...

Shhhhsss...they are only 8 and 4, still many moons to go 🤣 my 4 yo even thinks this is Halloween themed game

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72