The Locus of Control - "You" are what supports your survival not what you feel you can control

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

This is just opinion and is not established fact. This is merely what I think is true at this point in time.

The Self as Exoskeleton

The locus of control can give us the illusion that we are only what we are in control over. When we think of the body we have the central nervous system which includes of course the brain but there is also something called the autonomic nervous system. The autonomic nervous system is something you have a very difficult time controlling if you can control it at all. The autonomic nervous system includes the sympathetic nervous system and the parasympathetic nervous system.

The conscious mind represents the part of us where we feel in control. The locus of control is what is behind this feeling. The self is more than just the conscious mind but is also the subconscious mind. The self is more than just the brain, and more than just the body.

The self is that which supports the continued survival of the body (including the brain and all other vital organs). The self therefore includes the external or extended mind. This is the reasoning behind extended mind theory. But it is pretty obvious when we think of the astronaut who is in space and who knows without oxygen from their space suit they cannot survive. The space suit becomes part of "them" as it has become essential to secure their continued survival as much as any other vital organ such as the brain, heart, kidneys, etc.

Autonomous or semi-autonomous software are still part of the self if it supports the continued growth and survival of the individual

In my previous post I mentioned the concept of proxies, of agents, of "extended will". An extended will is still part of an extended mind. I like to say that to be the best requires transcending the limitations of the brain. In many cases it is our brain which becomes the limiting factor in our growth, in our success, and in some cases the brain itself can threaten our long term survival. The concept of an extended mind is to understand that you can use processes outside of the brain and it's flaws to improve homeostasis.

For example I cannot track the internal state of my physiology using only my brain. I rely on a heart rate monitor which can detect and interpret what my heart is doing better than my brain can. Heart rate variability for example is not detectable at all by the brain but is detected by the machines which for me become part of my mind to tell me what my body is really doing. An EKG can reveal even more data and when combined with machine learning it can tell me a detailed picture of what my heart is doing even if my brain is incorrect.

In other words we rely already on machines and advanced instruments to better understand our physical bodies. Those machines become part of us as much as our arms, or our eyes, or any other part of our nervous system. These new senses emerge for us when we have more data and ability to process it. The self is merely that which supports the continued health and longevity of the individual. "I" am that which supports my continued survival and or growth whether I control it or not.

References

  1. http://www.oxfordbibliographies.com/view/document/obo-9780195396577/obo-9780195396577-0099.xml
  2. Leaders as Proxies; Sentiment as "Extended Will" of The Community, And Why I'll Never Be A Dictator
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Exoskeleton
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Psychology_of_self

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88