Birthday Musings: The Evolution of Me starring Ayn Rand, Pearl Jam and more...

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)


Lately I've been thinking a lot about how I got from THERE to HERE:

The Heroes of my transformation- from an oblivious being with blind faith in what I had been told by my elders- to a critical thinking being...

It all started when I was 16 years old. I went to visit my cousin in Boston, and while we were walking around Harvard square we ran into street musicians.

They were singing this:

Closer to Fine

"I'm tryin' to tell you somethin' 'bout my life
Maybe give me insight between black and white"

"There's more than one answer to these questions, pointing me in a crooked line... And the less I seek my source for some definitive- the closer I am to fine."

I bought two Indigo Albums the next day.

Galileo

"And as the bombshells of my daily fears explode, I try to trace them to my youth"

"If we wait for the time till all souls get it right, then at least I know there'll be no nuclear annihilation in my lifetime"

Least Complicated

"So long ago when we were taught
That for whatever kind of puzzle you got
You just stick the right formula in
A solution for every fool"

"What makes me think I could start clean slated, the hardest to learn was the least complicated"


A year later my mom came across a college scholarship- I was to read the Fountainhead by Ayn Rand and write a five page paper on what it means. (Mom had no idea what she was handing me- the world is a funny place)

I didn't finish in time to submit- but I did finish.

And it changed my world.


“I could die for you. But I couldn't, and wouldn't, live for you.”

“Freedom is: To ask nothing. To expect nothing. To depend on nothing.”

“To sell your soul is the easiest thing in the world. That's what everybody does every hour of his life. If I asked you to keep your soul - would you understand why that's much harder?”

“Don't fool yourself, my dear. You're much worse than a bitch. You're a saint. Which shows why saints are dangerous and undesirable.”

“Listen to what is being preached today. Look at everyone around us. You've wondered why they suffer, why they seek happiness and never find it. If any man stopped and asked himself whether he's ever held a truly personal desire, he'd find the answer. He'd see that all his wishes, his efforts, his dreams, his ambitions are motivated by other men. He's not really struggling even for material wealth, but for the second-hander's delusion - prestige. A stamp of approval, not his own. He can find no joy in the struggle and no joy when he has succeeded. He can't say about a single thing: 'This is what I wanted because I wanted it, not because it made my neighbors gape at me'. Then he wonders why he's unhappy.”


It was Ayn Rand who concreted the bond between me and my soul mate- the third time we saw one another I came upon him reading the Fountainhead. I told him that I was also reading it and he looked at me like I had sprouted another head, then challenged me with questions that sparked an incredible conversation.

To this day I have never met another individual, in person, who has read that book. I get why he stared at me like that now- a truly large coincidence in retrospect.


And we also shared another love- Pearl Jam

Elderly woman Behind the Counter in a Small Town

"I just want to scream...Hello!"

Nothingman

"Some words once spoken, can't be taken back"


Release Me

"I see the words on a rocking horse of time"

"I'll ride the wave, where it takes me"


He then introduced me to:

Tom Robbins

“When we're incomplete, we're always searching for somebody to complete us. When, after a few years or a few months of a relationship, we find that we're still unfulfilled, we blame our partners and take up with somebody more promising. This can go on and on--series polygamy--until we admit that while a partner can add sweet dimensions to our lives, we, each of us, are responsible for our own fulfillment. Nobody else can provide it for us, and to believe otherwise is to delude ourselves dangerously and to program for eventual failure every relationship we enter.”

“...disbelief in magic can force a poor soul into believing in government and business....”

“Love is the ultimate outlaw. It just won't adhere to any rules. The most any of us can do is to sign on as its accomplice. Instead of vowing to honor and obey, maybe we should swear to aid and abet. That would mean that security is out of the question. The words "make" and "stay" become inappropriate. My love for you has no strings attached. I love you for free.”

“Our lives are not as limited as we think they are; the world is a wonderfully weird place; consensual reality is significantly flawed; no institution can be trusted, but love does work; all things are possible; and we all could be happy and fulfilled if we only had the guts to be truly free and the wisdom to shrink our egos and quit taking ourselves so damn seriously.”


And I in turn, introduced him to Sara Mclachlan- before she was popular:

Possession

"Through this world I stumble
So many times betrayed
Trying to find an honest word
To find the truth enslaved"

"Oh you speak to me in riddles
And you speak to me in rhymes
My body aches to breathe your breath
Your words keep me alive"


Fumbling Towards Ecstasy

"Companion to our demons
they will dance, and we will play
With chairs, candles, and cloth
making darkness in the day"

"and if I shed a tear I won't cage it
I won't fear love
and if I feel a rage I won't deny it
I won't fear love
Peace in the struggle
to find peace"


Those artists/musicians/authors marked the beginning of a new era in my life, one where I questioned everything and took nothing for granted.

That hasn't changed.

It never will.

And now, I am off to a birthday adventure- hope you enjoyed reminiscing with me- My Lovely Steemit People!



Generously created for me by @son-of-satire

Have you filled your witness votes?
Check out these passionate and competent souls:@ocd-witness, @teamsteem, @steemgigs, @ausbitbank, @roelandp and @dragosroua; then go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses
If you don't see their name, simply write it in the empty box at the bottom of the page.

To better understand what a witness does read @dragosroua's post Witnesses: What they are and why you should care

Sort:  

Wishing you a Brave New Year ahead, dear @dreemit, full of all possibilities. It's good practice to take stock, from time to time, and ask ourselves where we've come from and where are we going :)

Closer to Fine is part of my journey, too, a soulful, questing song. Wishing you further tranformation and liberation along the Way.

Happy Birthday, my friend, may it be radiant with love and light (heartedness) :D

Agostino-Arrivabene-Il-cantico-del-respiro-genera-promesse-2014-Oil-on-Wood.jpg

Thank you so much @yahialababidi, I cherish your words my friend :) Forwarding those wishes back to you!


Quotefancy-4983826-3840x2160.jpg

Received your wishes with a smile :) What an intriguing quote, reminds me of one by Heidegger I admire:

Longing is the agony of the nearness of the distant. Who can explain the mysteries of the heart? Certainly, not biology :P

The painting reminded me of this quote for some reason, that's why I posted it. Yours is far more poetic ;)

Happy birthday! Well, I remember reading some Tom Robbins at one time, so long ago. I never got around to reading Rand, along my twisted path I was probably already an anarchist before I'd heard of her writings.
Have fun doing b-day stuff!

Had an amazing day on the back of a motorcycle, skyline drive in Watkins Glen offers tremendous views- plus Thai food- anddd, yeah still having fun, just with some drinking stuff haha!

Drinking on a birthday? Wild stuff I tell ya, next you'll be smokin reefer too.

Shizit, I'm all about the Madness- every other day of the week! (Erm, yep, every other day with the reefer is about right- it's the drinking I slowed way down on ;)

Head to chat when you see this :)

WHAT THE!! :O The Fountainhead was very tranformative for me as well, and it came at such the right time, too. Roark was a hero for me, and it provided solace for me during times of isolation. No wonder we get along so well!!

Musing through quotes and lyrics is pure genius, sis-tematic! They really conveyed the message effectively. I hope you had the most wonderful birthday! Here's to being 29 forever!!

Ah yes, Howard Roark was incredibly inspiring for me (there was so many similarities in my mind between him and Howie, along with sharing a name, it was almost mystical)

Thank you bro-nchobusters! I did have a great b-day!

Sarah McLachlan. Shudders

:0D

Oh come on, there was also Pearl Jam! Haha!

I know, it was a great list. I was nodding away then I froze. Someone beside me on the train was reading my screen over my shoulder and all his hair fell out. The woman across from me went into labor and she wasn't even pregnant!!

Such is the power I exude, that people freeze, their hair falls out, and they have miracle babies all from the telling of my initial spark of self realization. I fear for them if I go on.

lol!

Hallelujah sister!!!! :0D

Sorry I'm late!

Happy birthday @dreemit!

Dude, you can't be late- any time you arrive you are right on time ;)

I fell far behind in everything today. I hope you had a good one.

Happy bornday my friend. :) Hope the adventure is an exciting one.

A great selection of quotes that say a lot about you. :)

Thank you much sweetheart! Just got back from a long, scenic motorcycle ride and an interesting Thai dinner ;)

Happy birthday @dreemit!
And I love your quotes from the Fountainhead. I've only finished reading it a few weeks ago, and am still not sure if I like Atlas Shrugged or The Fountainhead better. But I can relate to never have met anyone who likes that book as much as I do, besides some one particular person I'd call a soul-mate.

May your life be full of freedom. May you live for yourself.

Thank you @nobyeni! I would struggle to choose between them myself, but I read the Fountainhead at such a pivotal time it will always be my favorite! Only soul mates can truly get us :)

xo

Oh, and happy birthday :P

Oh, happy birthday, @dreemit! I can so relate - music is such a huge part of my life, I know how much it helps you grow. Same goes for books.
I really hope you have a good one ;)

Thank you! The arts are ever expanding my mind :)

I'm sure I will!

My first experience with the Indigo Girls was also a cover of "Closer to Fine". It is such a great song. I played that self titled album over and over until I wore it out. The whole thing is just amazing. I have started following them on Facebook and I have noticed that it is the song they close every show with. Good Stuff!

Oh I did the exact same thing- absolutely agree! I still need to see them in concert :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33