Breaking out of the familiar

in #philosophy6 years ago

I've always been one to give things a go, you know, try out something new even though it might be a little out of my comfort zone or area of expertise. I don't see much point in holding back through fear, unfamiliarity or judgement. I don't mean things like trying meth-amphetamines, cannibalism or anything so extreme though; I mean things like new foods, places, sports, book-genre's, events and the like. Life seems too short not to do so and who knows, maybe I'll like it?

This week the young lad who makes my coffee each morning at my friends café asked me about shooting as he'd heard me, and other patrons, talking about it from time to time. I could tell that he was pretty keen, but a bit tentative, to try it out and so I offered to take him one day, which he jumped at. Now, not to stereotype but this guy seems like the least likely person to want to go shooting and yet here he is asking to go. He even told me how nervous he would be and that he has never even seen a gun in real life. We chatted some more and I could see his nerves subside and excitement rise as we did so and before long he was grinning and saying, "this is sick dude, I can't wait!" Well, he's going to have to because prior to any shooting is my famous safety and firearms lesson which I need to feel confident he has understood before sending lead downrange. He'll have a blast though. People who come out always do.

In the past I've held back from trying new things, doing new things, going to new places and getting out of my comfort zone. I've always been happy to explore a little but would generally defer to what was familiar and comfortable. Around 18 years ago, on turning 30, I decided that needed to change and I broke out. Since then I have done some amazing things and have loved them or hated them. I've also expanded my paradigm to encompass new things, new thoughts and opinions which is probably the biggest win!

The phrase, "life is short, play hard" gets thrown about like the stupid cliché it is, however in reality life is short and shouldn't be squandered. People have different needs of course and some will challenge themselves more than others; Do that white-water rafting trip they always felt afraid to do, try olives for the first time or even apply a heightened level of ownership and discipline in pursuit of a better position at work or a greater relationship with their partner...Whatever.

Breaking out of the familiar and into new territory can expand ones' life-experience exponentially and, as I said above, ones' paradigm which of course has a knock-on effect in most other aspects of life. So, I'll take this young lad shooting and see how we go. Of course, for me just taking someone shooting like this takes me out of my comfort zone. I shoot live ammunition and so there's an element of danger. It would only take a split second for the gun to be turned on me, or someone else, so it puts me firmly out of my comfort zone; I would normally only ever shoot with someone I trust implicitly. I feel I'm a good judge of character though and can read the signs so am reasonably safe. I also stand very close behind the novice shooter so any moves to turn around with the gun would get dealt with...Let's just say painfully firmly. :)

Sort:  

There is no better feeling than seeing someone shoot for the first time and no you had a small part in possibly making it a part of the rest of their lives. I love instructing firearms and would love to do so on a full time basis.

I have taken some steps recently that have definitely placed me out of my comfort zone and so far I am seeing some really great benefits of doing so!

Would be good to shoot with you. As you know I shoot a lot but have never had any formal trsining with an instructor. Besides, would be good to swap tips I reckon. I'm taking a couple girls from work next Sunday. Should be fun for them I think and for me too watching them from tentative and afraid to competant. I'll do a post on it.

Ps. Got my new holster this week. The Double Alpha, Alpha X. Looking forward to trying it out.

I just looked up that holster...what in the "ray gun" craziness is that thing!?! lol I bet it will smoke some competition stages.

I'm sure I would learn more from you than you would from me.

Haha, let's just say we'll learn equally. I would just like to hang out with a cool like-minded dude. You. So year, that Alpha X is off the chain huh? Makes for some really fast draws. It holds the handgun in firmly and with zero rattle and has a safety catch also. It's fast to draw from, very light and way better at its job than I will ever be. I reckon it will save me around 1 second from draw to first shot over my existing holtser which is a more generic Guga Ribas version.

I'm looking forward to trying it out. I was going to put my rig together this weekend however some idiot ordered the wrong belt size and has to wait to get the right one in. (Hopefully next week). The idiot was me of course. :) I also got some new mag pouches hence the new belt, plus I want to keep my other holster rig set up for my CZP09. I'll do a post on it next week anyway.

I know some guys were holsters and mag holsters that have spacers to bring them away from your body. Is your rig set up like that? I have only used duty and concealed gear. Is the belt a rigid type or just what we refer to as a "operator" belt made of nylon and a metal buckle where the belt loops back over and velcros?

Does the Alpha holster rotate forward and backwards or is it stationary?

Here's my CZP09 rig. Yes, the belt allows the mags to sit off your body and are adjustable for angle (in/out/forward/back). My new mag pouches are different to these Double Alpha ones. Better. Faster to remove and more set-able.

The belt has an inner belt which loops through ones belt loops. The outer belt is rigid, yes. Both have opposing velcro on them so once the inner belt is on the outer one with the mag pouches and holster can be attached very quickly and securely.

The Alpha X is adjustable for 360 degree angle to accommodate different shooters. The mags and gun need to be set at a certain distance from the body and on the sides, not too far forward. Different IPSC divisions have different rules. OPEN division means anything goes. This, and my new rig, is set for Production division so the gun and mags can't be more forward than the sharp hip bone to either side of the person. So the gun has to be at the side, and not set forward. Some images of my current rig below...Taken just now. You'll note a small round magnet on the front mag pouch which is also used for mag storage during a course of fire, or post-action.

P.s. I want to get a thigh-rig as well, not for competition...Not sure what to get but have been looking into it. I won't use it much, only if there's a zombie apocalypse and then I'll use the hell out it I guess so it's not high on the priority list right now.

The inner and outer belt look identical to a stipped down duty belt.

The only time I used a thigh holster was when i worked narcotics for search warrants. The only reason I would use one is if i were carrying a rifle as a main weapon. They are horrible fir getting in and out of cars and for me, i draw much slower out of a thigh rig.

I've never used a thigh-rig. Didn't think of the issues you mention. Yeah, drawing would be much slower which is why we never use them in competition. I think they look good, but probably only have a benefit in the advent of having to carry additional equipment. Having it low and out of the way is the benefit I guess. I'll see what happens. I can get a kydex holster reasonably cheaply which would sit in the traditional position and considering that I am used to drawing from there, and am quick at it through muscle-memory maybe it' the best way to go.

very well said! I love to take on new things that I may be skeptical about. I have found that there is some very exciting things behind something that may be a little scary. also, that pistol looks beautiful i love those grips.

getting out of one's comfort zone occasionally can pay big dividends. Who knows, the person may actually like the new thing. If not then at least they are more experienced and can look backwards with no regrets about not trying it in the first place.

Thanks, the handgun is a CZ Shadow 2 which I have recently acquired. 9mm semi auto. Here's a full image with my CZP09 below.

It is always a bit difficult to start new things but it is always a great examination and one always learn from it.

Yes, I agree.

Never point it at anything you want to keep.
Finger outside the trigger guard until boom time.
Every firearm is loaded all the time.

Your kind treatment of this guy will inform his beliefs about gun owners for the rest of his life.

Thanks mate. Yeah I agree. The first-time shooter only gets one chance at learning the right way...First time. Good habits are formed then, as can bad habits be acquired. I'm a pretty decent instructor when it comes to this sort of thing so I reckon he'll have fun and learn the right way as well.

Well, I don't know much different as life has forced me try new things whether I wanted to or not, not always great outcomes, but hey, I'm still alive. Teaching someone else that guns don't kill people and can be great fun is a good thing I think. Behind him is probably the best option with that slap hand trigger ready for some firm guidance. You'll be making a new friend I think hey.

As long as he doesn't shoot me, himself or anyone else it'll be a win!

Hahahahahaha, true man, my misses had a little controlled mishaps at the range, but learned a very valuable lesson and will never do it again. At least she did so in style and towards the targets

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62480.78
ETH 3045.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91