Order and chaos...And scones

in #philosophy5 years ago

Life is a balance of many things: Good and bad, highs and lows or success and failure to name but a few. Each has a counterpoint though right? Bad stuff happens sometimes, although good happens too. It's a balance, or sometimes can be weighted more one way than the other.

One of life's balancing acts, at least in my opinion, is that of order and chaos.

I was reminded of this last week when a colleague-friend of mine spoke to me about her unhappiness at work, which she felt was permeating through other areas of her life, as it often will I guess. I didn't really have the answers she was looking for, however considering she is a she, my friend was probably not actually seeking answer...Just someone to listen to her, which is exactly what I did.

She is feeling out of control, in her life, and her negative feelings in the workplace were adding to what she called an overall crappy feeling throughout other aspects of life. She was feeling trapped, unable to move forward. Sound familiar? Yes, I've been there too.

I said a few things to her, some of which was based on a quote I read a long time ago in a book about Napoleon and his military strategies. You can see it below. Of course, my friend isn't on a battlefield thankfully however it still applies to life in general. The chaos of life is not always controllable however even in just attempting to do so we can find some degree of order, enough to permit that one single step forward that begins a new journey towards a better future.


The battlefield is a scene of constant chaos. The winner will be the one who controls that chaos, both his own and the enemies. Napoleon Bonaparte


It was also appropriate to deliver a little phrase that I thought might help her move forward. It relates to a person's ability to actually decide upon a different course of action, or even just a course of action where it may seem that none exist. It also speaks of persistence and perseverance, the fact that we all have the ability to choose a different paradigm and of course that the journey, the actions one take, is the reward. You know, the journey itself is the value, not just the destination. You can see a little phrase below which is a shortened down version of what I said I guess.


Deciding to take action is an incredibly difficult step, but from there the rest is just persistence. Human's can do anything they want to. They can take the action required to bring about change and order to their lives: The reward? The process and actions themselves. Galen KP


The result? Well, we will see. As it turns out a friend of mine called me later in the week seeking a reference for someone else that had applied for a job with her company. [The person who had applied used to work with me.] She is not getting an interview based on my reference. However, I mentioned my colleague-friend at work who I thought would be perfect for the role and she is getting an interview with my other friend, the GM of that company. So...We will see how that goes. My friend, the one struggling to find control and order in her life attacked the rest of the week with renewed vigour...A great change to see. I think it's a great step forward and a perfect example that out of chaos can come order in life...

Now...Why use pictures of scone's, jam and cream? Well firstly because this was my afternoon snack and I wanted to show it off and secondly...It perfectly demonstrates order and chaos. Just look at that ordered and structured plate in the first image...And then the chaos that is the second...OK, too much of a stretch of the imagination? But I bet you want some scones right? 😂


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

Sort:  

Great thoughts as chaos creates resilience which has been key for me in my journeys through life from many aspects!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes I would like some scones thanks😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Ate 'em all...Sorry. 😁😇

Posted using Partiko Android

Well that's just not fair mate🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Couldn't help it...Were just so tasty. Couldn't get them into my gob fast enough. 😛

Posted using Partiko Android

If I could offer some advice to your friend, please ask her to stop building her thoughts in the shape of a spider web, attempting to encompass every possibility.

While we might capture every possible forward path, we can only follow one thread at a time.

Otherwise, we become cocooned in our own interleaved thoughts.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'll pass it on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.439 which ranks you at #2120 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 2123).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Damn it has been an eternity since I have had scones. I tried making some, they were crap.

You got a 5.98% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @galenkp! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70884.24
ETH 3570.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76