Getting High, Hanging Out

in #philosophy5 years ago

That's the most important part, right?

getting high hanging out.JPG

The end goal is to be able to relax and hang out with people we love. There's no real meaning to success or productivity when the real thing is already here. We have to work, we have to take care of ourselves, but mostly we can just get high and hang out.

Doesn't matter what you get high on, for some people it's yoga, for other people it's weed or alcohol, or other drugs, idk. Alcohol is one of the hardest drugs I know of and it's ever-present in society so I don't judge anymore.

I do think it's probably better to try and get "high" on something healthy like meditation or exercise or whatever, but I admit that is easier said than done.

Life Isn't About...

Life isn't about living as long as possible, it isn't about being as successful as possible, it isn't about being as productive as possible. The groupthink of society will always encourage productivity because productivity is good for society, but it's not so good for the individual a lot of the time.

Factories are extremely productive for society, but also shitty for all of the individual humans involved.

Hanging out might not be productive for society, but it's great for all of the individual humans involved. When you can't really hang out anymore, it gets weird.

What Happens When You Let Go

So lately I'm less worried about organizing my life or planning out my days. My to-do lists have gotten shorter, vaguer, and less demanding. And I still don't follow them half the time. I'm floating through life, experiencing whatever decides to impinge on my consciousness at any given moment.

Ironically, this has me working two jobs, starting an art collective with some great friends, working on several ambitious music projects, even just keeping the house cleaner and practicing meditation more than ever.

All this good shit, and while it isn't easy, it's easier than the alternative. Humans aren't meant to follow plans, to chase abstract goals, to be tyrants upon our future selves. We can relax and still thrive.

Sort:  

You really touched my life this evening by giving life a meaning through those words. Thank you friend @heymattsokol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Glad to hear it Max! be well

It's very comforting to read your words, Matt. Hope to get into this stage of letting go the to-do list...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33