How to Manage Space and Time

in #philosophy5 years ago

You can manage Space and Time if you fully submit to what is.

Nothing exists beyond right now. Past and future are truly errant concepts, false assumptions that we try to force onto the universe.

IMG_7491 2.PNG

You will never get more hours in a day, and you will never have the extra energy to do all those tasks on your to-do list.

All we can do is cut back, try to do the few things that really matter to us.

A good to-do list for a day might have three or four things on it, and some of those things will be optional.

When the time comes, who cares what the words will say on your piece of paper? The calendar says it's time to do one thing, but Right Now says it's time to do another.

Bossing Yourself Around?

When you try and schedule all your hours away, to plan out your life to achieve great things, all you do is act as a maniacal dictator trying to boss around your future self. You can't really know what you are about to do. You might guess, you might try, but it's all clouds receding in the distance.

Don't get me wrong, some things are predictable. I'll probably be at my job later, since I'd like the paycheck to have enough dollars in it to enable my survival. But I know all that right now. It's not some guess at the future.

I'll probably practice the drums, but why? I used to think it was about chasing a dream of success in the future, but now I know better. It's because it feels good right now.

The Calendar is a Mirage

The calendar, the to-do list, the timelines, they're just imprecise guesses at some vague future.

The more that we build rigid structures to project our present desires onto the future, the more we oppress our future selves. Our future selves are people who aren't us. It's someone else.

Just to be clear: You aren't your future self.

I believe a society, as well as a person's life on the individual level, should have the absolute bare minimum of planning or awareness of the past. We can't let go of all of it. But we can let go of so much of it. We can let go of 95% of our ideas of the future and the past and lose almost nothing.

You can just let it go like releasing a helium balloon to float off into the sky. The only reason we don't is that, somehow, through some weakness or misunderstanding of human psychology, we're so fucking scared to let go of it.

but all we have to do is open our hand and watch it float away.

Sort:  

One of my favorite songs of Dave Matthews Band says "the future is no place to place your better days"... Thanks for sharing your thoughts Matt Sokol!

By the way, there's a book called "liminal thinking" that tells about these things and also connect with some points that you mentioned. (http://liminalthinking.com/). I think you may like it...

This does look cool! I'm gonna take a look, might buy it and give it a read. I love book recommendations :-D

I like your videos when you talk about books! :-D

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 98 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17