The Confused Atheist: Dealing With The Problem Of Evil

in #philosophy6 years ago (edited)

Sometime last year, I officially called it quits with religion. I had decided that atheism is the way to go and I went public with it. That was the beginning of my almost a year long atheistic life. Upon reflection, I tell myself I am the most confused atheist I know.

download (29).jpeg

It turns out that I am well aware of the ‘ultimate’ answers to most atheistic arguments. I mean, when I asked questions with the intent of showing atheism as the most logical choice, I know within myself that these arguments aren't as grand as I make them to be. In most cases, I do not even think they help promote the atheistic contemplation, especially when dealing with an experience theist.

The Argument For Atheism: The Problem Of Evil

download (30).jpeg

There are several arguments for atheism. Actually, the goal of most atheistic argument is to sow the seed of doubt. I dare say that unlike the theist, the atheist’s goal is to make the listener decide to re-evaluate everything he knows.

One of such arguments is the problem of evil. The problem of evil is a fairly simple and straight. According to wikipedia:

The problem of evil refers to the question of how to reconcile the existence of evil with an omnibenevolent, omniscient, and omnipotent God (see theism). An argument from evil attempts to show that the co-existence of evil and such a God is unlikely or impossible.
Problem of evil - Wikipedia

At the surface, this looks like a solid argument, one that would give a theist a run for his money. Well, to me, it isn’t.

The Problem of Evil And The Problem Of Morality

download (31).jpeg

The major problem with the argument based on the problem of evil is the atheistic worldview itself. The atheistic worldview lends itself to moral relativism. Here’s how one website defines it:

Moral relativism is the view that moral judgments are true or false only relative to some particular standpoint (for instance, that of a culture or a historical period) and that no standpoint is uniquely privileged over all others.
Moral Relativism | Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

What this means is that there is no generally acceptable way to differentiate between right and wrong. So what the atheist calls evil is based on his personal opinion and doesn't really mean it is evil. Here, the atheist is in a dilemma. Before he can say something is universally evil, he must discard his moral relativism.

The Problem Of Evil And The problem Of Knowledge

images (14).jpeg

Imagine that the atheist somehow crosses that bridge. He probably argues that he doesn't believe in absolute morality but is simply using that argument to make a point. Well, there is the problem of knowledge.

Evil is sometimes a necessity. For example, when people make bad choices, they are supposed to suffer the consequences of their action. I mean, it is only fair that people reap the consequences of their actions. As such, the argument shifts from the presence of evil to the degree of evil.

Here is the twist. Here, the atheist argues that there is just too much unnecessary suffering in the world. Here lies the problem: on what bases does the atheist claim that there is too many suffering? What is the standard?

In answering these questions, the atheist inadvertently begins to play God. In so doing, he’s indirectly arguing for the existence of God. How? He ’s going to be laying claims to a knowledge that's epistemologically impossible for a finite mind. He’s saying he knows all possible outcomes so he can pick the exact limit for people to experience evil. He’s saying he has the perfect standard for how much suffering people should experience for their actions.

Changing Any time Soon? No

To be honest, this doesn't change my atheistic inclinations one bit. I still feel atheism is more logical than theism. I’m opened to discussions though. What do you think?

Image source 1 2 3 4

Sort:  

Err.. I read it all. And frankly, I don't know what to say. I do believe in God. 🙂

Haha

You have every right to

Hmmn
So I've been dealing with an atheist all along
There was once upon a time when I was considering becoming an atheist too
But dear God saved me
Heck, I do believe in God
Though, sometimes, I still practice some atheistic traits though...
But God really does exist and I believe in Him....

I want to be saved too o

You practice atheistic traits? Like?

Not anymore.
I strongly believe in God

While I was away (how does time fly so fast???)... I missed this post!

Interesting... as all your posts tend to be :)
I used to struggle with the thought of evil also. I don't anymore.

I think people want too many things. Always wanting, then they get what they want - find out they don't like it, and now want a scapegoat. lol

But in the past, I wanted to change people's views. Because - if I have peace, and I believe that they can too.... why wouldn't I want to help them see?

Now I see beyond that point. I have peace. and I'm so grateful. and I hope that others will receive it as well. But their peace (or lack of) can't affect mine. It's personal, and intimate, and in the end - the only thing that matters.

I do hope you find it too :)

My phone battery is low and I have a lot to say on this. I'll do that when power is restored

Looking forward to it :)

Er...

I'm sorry I haven't replied

Could you wait an extra while?

Please?

Thanks

But dear God saved me

This made me smile... on so many levels! Thank you for brightening my day

Awwn
Thank you so much.
I'm glad I could make you smile.

You see, yesterday, I was having a down time and someone said something that made me smile too so I really do know how it feels.

Thanks for allowing me make you smile.

It's a kindness from God ;)

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

You have been featured on @wafrica blog

Courtesy of @nmalove

Wow

Thanks a lot

Blessings

I believe in God. I don't believe in the church, the "children," the dogmas, the rules, the bullshits. I don't believe in anything that stands between me and God.

And why do I believe in a higher being? Because I have no choice. He embarrasses me every time I challenge him.

Why isnt atheism even attractive to me? Because it is too datumless, too directionless, too futile and i really dont give a fuck.

Haha

Atheism is messed up 100%

But hell, what's theism without religion? I mean, to assert the existence is to declare someone has the divine right to tell you how to live your life. And that's where religion comes in

So between atheism and theism, I'll say atheism and save me a space beside a nightclub in hell.

Beautiful...
Very well said.
Sometimes, I do think when people talk about God and all, they're majorly referring to the church and pastors and the likes

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by IamTheGray from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75