Relationships are transactional?

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)
I remember the first time I said this, and I remember it vividly. I mean, there is absolutely no way I would have thought about it, without questioning my very own moral fiber. Transactions? I mean, the word is used as a cold description of something that is purely material, like commerce, and we all want to believe, and I'm in that group as well, that relationships, friendships or even love are way above such things.



img src

However, in my mental exploration I did manage to find a way to reconcile the thought. Why was it important to do so you ask? Simply because I want to make sure I'm being honest with myself. The idea that I give without expectations of winning anything back is beautiful, inspiring, but is it entirely true? is it?

Before you begin to type your best attempt at dismissing my point, allow me a few more minutes of your mental bandwidth, I think I just might make my case and disarm you from any anger you might be feeling at the moment.

When I talk about transactions, I'm not exclusively talking about things that can be commoditized, that have a strict value in dollars or satoshis. I am also referring to things that have experiential value, and thus are just as precious to you and me.

In the name of honesty, you can't possibly tell me that the only reason why you became close with someone was because of some altruistic ideology, or I should say, I can't. For example, some people are fascinating artists, thus they inspire me, some are amazing thinkers and challenge me, some are great listeners and they become a shoulder for a tired soul, but everyone in my life today and in the past has been assigned a value, even if describing such value is very difficult to do.

I find the idea of accepting that all relationships are transactional to be quite liberating. In my mind, If I can accept that I am friends with someone because they bring me joy, maybe because of how funny they can be, their talent, their kind nature or what have you, allows me to appreciate the relationship that much more. In other words, I do not take it for granted, I'm recognizing the value.

You might think I might not be right in the head for confessing this, but I've even told friends of mine that our friendship is transactional, just to see how they react to the truth. "Hey brother, you know why I like you... because you always give me some real talk... and I need it, that's why I call you my friend... for the real talk!" - Of course this implies that if the very reason why the interactions have been happening, the reasons why the friendship has even sprouted were to be removed, that might signal the end of the relationship, but this latter assumption is not necessarily the case, simply because humans in more aspects than one, are very adaptable.

Imagine how crazy it is to tell someone the truth like this, and then picture me having done so over and over, because I'm crazy enough to test my theories. I've told my girl, more than once actually, that I love her and appreciate her, because she challenges me intellectually a lot, and as much as I may love the green eyes and the pretty face, that's not an uncommon trait, but her intellect is.

If you read that last paragraph, and you think I've gone mad, I would not blame you. But honestly, how about some brutal sincerity for your life too? is it scary? or would you find it refreshing?

Sort:  

Nah, not going to challenge you there. There is always some kind of exchange that happens when people are relating...

Even if I was going to live someone unconditionally in some altruistic sense, I still receive something in that (the joy of being altruistic, etc).

All life has a transactional quality, because relating is about an exchange of something on some level.

😊🙏🏽☯️

Posted using Partiko iOS

All life has a transactional quality, because relating is about an exchange of something on some level.

you would be surprised how many people would cringe at that thought.

Funny isn't it? It's like there are two lists in your mind, delineating which attributes and qualities you can value in somebody, and which you shouldn't.
'Sparkling wit' is good, 'Has a boat' isn't.
A friend of mine was looking to settle down, but struggling to find the right girl.
I suggested he could date overseas, and include Aussie citizenship in the overall package he was offering; but apparently that wasn't a valid attribute to be considered. Same as money.
It's okay for a girl to like you because you were born handsome, but not because you were born here; or to wealthy parents. Why?

complicated questions my friend... who determines what's morally right to desire? and if the "transaction" to continue my theme is agreed upon, does that even matter?

One of the definitions of a transaction is

trans·ac·tion - an exchange or interaction between people

so yes, there's always something to gained or valued between any type of exchange, monetary or otherwise. We unconsciously measure our transactions with others and place values on them all the time, choosing to spend more time with those we deem to be of more value.

You are being too logical my friend... young souls would cringe seeing us agree hahahah

Hahahahaha. AGREED! Hahahaha

Hey, posted some logos for the Dopen Mic app. Would love to hear your input.

There is nothing unusual about this. Every relationship is conditional and it has to benefit the parties in it. It doesn't have to be a case of physical or monetary gain like you pointed out. It can also be emotional.

I have a saying:

not every good thing last long

The quality of a relationship is not in its longevity but its impact. I don't believe in keeping a relationship that has outlived its usefully. Relationships are transactional and transitional as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Transaction relationships are very interesting, I agree with this because there are also advantages and disadvantages in relationships. 😂

are they zero fee transactions ?

I had never really thought about it this way but it makes sense. It also provides perspectives when we consider how we approach commodity driven transactions as well as price and value have to different measures many times and we could say the same for relationships...

Posted using Partiko iOS

Geez, I quickly read 'transsexual' and was like "oh boy".

Posted using Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface

LOL hahahhahahaha that made my night

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

🏆 Hi @meno! You have received 0.1 STEEM reward for this post from the following subscribers: @cardboard
Subscribe: automatically support your favourite steem authors :) | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34