Sell it all... - thoughts of abundance and scarcity

in #philosophy6 years ago
I keep on thinking about this and honestly, the more I think about it, the more it feels right. What am I talking about you say? About this, here, us, the fake safety you and I have purchased, because we deemed it to be the right move. I mean, I'm not criticizing you, I did the exact same thing. You and I have been amassing so much crap, the idea of moving to a new place sounds like a nightmare. Does that not mean something?
It's not like I don't understand why we do it, as a matter of fact it's very easy to explain. I can easily read some history books and notice that "abundance" in many ways is very new to humanity. Yes, that is almost undeniable. Just a century ago most of us lived simpler lives, and thus never own much, never needed much. But the instinct, that's always been there.

Instinct?


Yes, I think that is the right word to describe it. Imagine a world you can't even imagine (hilarious line, I had to use it one day). In this world everything and I do mean everything is a struggle. You need water? Struggle to get it. Oh! You need food? - Struggle, Fight to get some, maybe if you are lucky and relentless you will. OH WHAT? YOU WANT SHELTER? - FIGHT!!! FIGHT FOR YOUR LAND, that's the only way you can guarantee it.

That world, the one you can't imagine, but yet you just did, is long gone. We don't need to struggle that much, I mean, I know we complain, but a literal bear is not waiting outside our village to eat us, not that I know of at least. So the question becomes: Did our instinct change too? Did we adapt fast enough? or are we still acting as if the Bear is on the other side of those trees?

Do you see what I mean? - My point is that, we might be victims (I don't like this word, but it's fitting) to our basic instincts (I do like these words). We are still programmed to collect resources, secure not one, but as many shelters as possible because the bear could come and claim one of them for himself. Well, maybe not the bear, but the bear of this somewhat thought experiment that you can't imagine yet you just did, is just a possibility of danger and loss.

Now, in this chaotic world, we needed that skill, we needed that awareness, we needed to be constantly thinking of ways that we could secure "treasures". Back then however, I'm sure the treasures were much simpler. A good rock to break nuts, that possessed the right concave surface was as valuable as your favorite Apple product, if not more valuable. So you needed to secure a second one, or a third, just in case.

So maybe... It's time to evolve too. Maybe its time to explore what the new paradigm proposes: "Abundance" - So that we can stop buying anchors, buying things that keep us grounded to a world that is begging to be explored. Does that make sense to you? It seems to make a lot of sense to me.

So maybe the time has come, to sell it all...


Other posts by yours truly

• Innocence is more important than life - Controversial thoughts for a common Sunday
• I've been playing around with Musing.io - Loving it so far
• Are you thinking about running for witness?
• Talent is overrated...
• Thoughts on Guarding the Reward Pool

img source

Sort:  

sells all hoarded steem monster cards

It's also funny because some of the stuff hoarded we never see until it's time to clean again. Something to not having it be accessible. In this new age though, we're also at a point where even if you think you'll need it in the future, you have the option to simply buy it again with one click. Doesn't apply to things of sentimental value though. Or...?

Idk about that... i mean, i have some thing I rather keep. Like my old acoustic guitar, she's been with me for almost 20 years, I can't sell her, it does not feel right.

I've been slowly selling a lifetime accumulation of stuff for several years now.. it's definitely a long-term component of one's basic life strategy at this point... But I get it when some peeps want to "sell it all" and move on quickly. I'm kinda enjoying the slow way tho.

Sometimes it's hard to believe how many things i picked-up along the way.. how many impulsive short-term gotta-have-it "buzzes" that swept over me... So nice to be free of THAT. Took a few years to break those programmed fake desires for stuff but I'm glad I did it.

I might go for the quick and painful hahahaha

It is instinctual. Resources are instinctually horded be they food, shelter or money.

Without certain resources like food and shelter you can die so it makes sense to do some hoarding.

no doubt, I don't think its learnt per say, but it is exaggerated by generations of consumerism.

Every time someone talks about abundance and removing the importance of holding on to possessions I think about guitars. Now I only have one guitar that's particularly meaningful to me at this point, and I could give away the others without qualm. But that one is necessary, it couldn't just be replaced by another guitar of the same manufacture even in a world of perfect abundance.

Having seen your videos I suspect you may have this problem even more than I do.

Oh poly, I had GAS (gear acquisition syndrome) for years. That being said, the guitars in the background of my videos are made by me. I dabble in luthiery.

;)

It amazes me the things humans have convinced themselves that they need when they don't.
Nice article!

I'm starting to see it that way too...

Grandma used to say less is best or less is more. You can have abundance and be poor and more can make you poor. Grandma was one smart person. Thanks for sharing.

Sounds like she was a wise lady!

I have a lot of crap. Not as much as I used to have but still, a lot. I don't need most of it, I just wanted to have it. It mostly falls int 2 categories, stuff I like, and stuff I use. Stuff I like, various decorative things, rocks, crystals, old toys, etc. Stuff I use, tools mostly, guitars and amps...
I could get rid of a lot of that stuff, but I enjoy having most of it.

at the peak of my G.A.S. I had about 37 guitars all and all. Obviously most of them did not get played. I ended up selling 20 or so, giving away a ton more and such.

So I'm kind of talking to myself a lot here... hahahah

You got a 30.73% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @meno!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63671.94
ETH 3040.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01