There is Nothing Worse Than Mediocrity

in #philosophy5 years ago

"The price of excellence is discipline. The cost of mediocrity is disappointment." ~ William Arthur Ward

The last part of this quote is what I want to focus on in this post. Mediocrity to me, is the one of the worst fates a person can endure. In this society, mediocrity puts you in that position where you aren't bad enough to just leave the game, or smart enough to enjoy the full success of your more talented peers. You aren't special, because nearly everyone else is on the same boat.

You do not enjoy the admiration nor the pity of others. Somehow you are in this weird position where you are alone and yet at the same time you are not. Because your vision and your future is not clear, you end up never leaving.

Take school for example. I myself, was a mediocre student. I am sure most of you reading this post were mediocre in school too. In my very first post on Steemit, I was very critical of schooling, insisting that it was a waste of time. So the next logical question was: Why didn't I just leave? The answer was because I was mediocre at it. Always doing well enough to earn some accolades, but not the ones that matter. When I felt down, there would be a small silver of hope telling me that I just need to try a little harder. I could have been some words of encouragement, a stroke of luck, etc. I would feel rejuvenated, only to be disappointed yet again. It was an endless cycle. I felt like the donkey and the carrot; the carrot was just close enough to be seen been never touched. Looking back, I sometimes wondered if I would be any worse being an F student. At least that way, I would be painfully obvious that I should walk away and no one would argue such a decision.

This situation can be attributed to anything. Dating is another example. Most relationships are destined to fail. If you were disabled and deformed, the thought of being in a relationship or being married probably wouldn't even exist in your dreams. With that possibility out of your mind, body and soul, you would be able to move on, and live a different life than the one set for you. But instead you are in the purgatory of mediocrity, where you are just good enough to stay in the game and likely endure a plethora of disappointment.

The same can apply to sports, social media and pretty much anything.

I highly suggest to avoid being mediocre. It's not worth it. It takes a lot of courage to walk away, especially from the things that you worked so hard on. But you have to maintain an objective view of yourself in order to preserve what little time we have left on this earth. In the end, you will likely end up in a pleasant paradox, where walking away increasing your chances for overall success because all of that wasted energy is now being spent on the things that you are actually good at.

Thanks for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88