Art and Philosophy - Overcoming Bad Experiences

in #philosophy6 years ago

Yet another story to tell that came to me while painting. There is no step-by-step process here, because I was preoccupied with my thoughts to make some progress photography, instead I will put some artsy photos from my beloved pexel's. Something like this:

pexels-photo-102127.jpeg
Source

You could read in my previous blog about my "minor" bad, recent experience that actually inspired me to write on the subject. I say minor with quotes, because it wasn't that small of a damage caused (around 3.000 Euro), but definitely minor compared to what people lose on daily basis.

Overcoming some serious and bad things in my life made me a little bit more resilient to losing things I don't consider to be too important. Material stuff that we lost isn't something that's easy to experience but it's also not something you should worry too much about. Why? Because it's replaceable. Easy as that!

In my 30 years of life I lost people to Alzheimer's, drugs and death, so I did learn how to cope with loss of something/someone big. So much so, that losing material things is something I can overcome in matter of days.

pexels-photo-542556.jpeg
Source

Is it easy?

Simple answer would be NO. People are very possessive by nature, in questions of other people or material possessions. Losing something that is yours can be completely devastating, but to be honest to your ego first. My initial thought always was:

"Why me?"

Like it was personal. But that's just it, it's not personal, it just happened to you and not someone else by number of circumstances. Taking things too personal, in my experience, only makes it worse, and here is why.

If you look at it from that angle you are bound to feel guilty, even when you shouldn't feel that way. Your judgement is clouded when you find yourself in bad situations and guilt is not helping anybody.

Looking at the "Big Picture", ASAP!

Losing something puts your mind in alarm state, you are left with blurred and narrowed vision. All you can think about is how and why something happened. You trace your steps, over and over again, hoping to find some mistake you made that will strangely calm your mind.

This is perfectly fine for initial reaction, but not something you should dwell on for a long time. Accepting the situation as it is and moving on from it, hopefully with a lesson or two is the best way (at least for me).

pexels-photo-253682.jpeg
Source

Being grateful!

Wait, what?!

Yes! I am talking here about overcoming bad experiences, in my case being robbed. What is there to be grateful for? That's is my main, we can call it, trick to overcome anything. I was upset, naturally, for a good hour or two. But, then I remembered my secret weapon and used it:

  • I was grateful that it was only material things and that we are safe;
  • I was grateful that we still had money, passports and mobile phones with us;
  • I was grateful that car was fully insured and we didn't have to pay for the damage made on it;

I am absolutely sure, that no matter how difficult the situation is, there is always something to be grateful about. That calmed me down almost instantly and it gives you a better perception of things.

1.jpg

And here is my little artsy experiment, not to bad for amateur, right?! :)

With love,
Tamara

Sort:  

I think that regardless of the bad experiences you have to try to look for how to move forward without getting stuck in that bad moment. There is to be grateful because your life is safe and although you lost material things of great value, something as important as your phone and your passport are safe. Robberies are never easy but you have to continue in the daily struggle.

Absolutely agreed @reialfr, except that I don't see it as daily struggle, more as a daily blessing :)

Absolutely agreed @reialfr, except that I don't see it as daily struggle, more as a daily blessing :)

This is very clever. A very mature stand you make here. Congratulations on the great job done in this post!

Best wishes,
@ravijojla

Thank you @ravijojla, I'm glad you liked it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85