The price of collection

in #philosophy6 years ago

Humans are collectors and no matter what one may claim, I find that no one is free from the habit. Most people look at collection as a process that gathers material items like stamps or money but it is not limited to that of course. Some collect travel experiences, others collect notches on the belt, emotions or, the satisfactions of being free of material collection. There is always something, I collect Steem, I collect moments with my family, I collect my thoughts here on the blockchain.

It is interesting to not note that even though we find people who brag about their collections unattractive, we may still be jealous of their collection itself. It is also interesting to note that people who will find the collection of one thing ridiculous will find that whatever they collect as valuable, even if it is as equally ridiculous. I hear of people building and collecting toy trains sets in their basement which I find crazy but, who I am I to say what doesn't have value? To each their own, no matter how useless a task may seem to me.

One thing that I try to remember is that to be able to collect takes some kind of sacrifice, even if it isn't a logical trade. In fact, perhaps all collection is somewhat illogical as it will always include some form of emotional attachment. It has to because it is always an act upon a want, a fulfillment of a desire. I want to have this, I am willing to pay this for it. I want more of this, I am willing to pay more for it. Collection, however nonsensical as to what is collected is an investment even though what gets held is utterly valueless.

People will give up money, time, relationships and all kinds of things to get a little more of what they want. Collection comes with an opportunity cost always and for me that means that I have to be very careful with what I choose to collect as I don't have the cost to waste on frivolous opportunities at the moment. However, those that feel they do have the resources to waste will gladly trade what they have for what they want. It seems like a great trade.

The problem I see too often though is that people quickly start to attach their self worth to what they have collected and no matter what that is, they then start to protect their position, defend against attack and get even more attached to it. Rather than it becoming a source of relaxation or value, it becomes a position of stress where the mind continually sees threat to what they have around every corner and, in every eye they met. Pretty soon, the thing that they fought for becomes a source of worry.

Is worry part of the want in the beginning? I think it comes as part of the growing attachment as the desires are fed until out of balance and identified with. A car so beautifully restored sits in the garage in fear of getting it scratched, a stamp collection hidden away to prevent theft, situations avoided to hold onto an emotional state. Is this healthy?

I don't know but when it comes to the things I look to collect I try to make them something that is valuable to my own experience and at least currently, that means something with utility. This is why I collect Steem but it isn't because I am attached to Steem as a thing itself, it is because of the opportunity it has to provide other opportunities that I want to collect namely, moments with my family and, my thoughts.

Today, @galenkp and I were talking about how we might see each other in the future and I found myself saying to him, if Steem does... We haven't talked a lot of the ins and outs of Steem yet but, we will. One thing we did talk about is the opportunity to earn value from anywhere which means that if my family want to experience Australia for a longer period, if Steem does well, we will be able to support ourselves without having to stress as heavily about the types of jobs we may be able to get.

The amazing thing I find is that with enough Steem Power, we will be able to survive mostly on a vote here and there for ourselves and curation on others to live a better life. Sure, we will have to live simply but, that is some kind of dream situation. Living by helping others live. This is of course a risk as it is banking on Steem surviving but this opportunity isn't available to us in any other arena as of yet.

There is no way we can do the same earning what we currently earn and investing what we have to spare but on Steem, here I am paying the price for my collection by doing something I enjoy. Most work at something they dislike so they can get what they want. I can get a chance at what I want by doing something I like. Even if Steem fails, I would have been doing something I like, even if I don't get all that I want.

Honestly, I don't understand why more people aren't taking this opportunity with both hands and running with it as hard as they can. But of course, everyone has a hierarchy of what they want and what they are willing to pay for it and even though the desire levels are high, the price is too much for many. So instead, they take lesser desires that are easier to reach, the low hanging fruit that make them feel like they are getting what they want but generally through ways that they don't really enjoy. It is an easier path to walk but it doesn't lead them to where they want to be.

What do you want from this life? What are you collecting? What is it worth to you?

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

There is honestly no better item to develop a collection addiction to. The platform itself is a pretty attractive sell without the rewards, doesn't take much to convince me. I hope more people will channel their time here and make profit of the best way to use spare time.

How's your brothers visit going Taraz? I keep reading wonderful articles, but I'll love to hear it from you - in one word

but I'll love to hear it from you - in one word

Cathartic

Hi Taraz. Whilst I was living in England I collected old war comics. From a hobby it turned into a massive collection. I have over 7500 of them dating back to 1954. You can't find them now and they are fairly rare. It has become more of an investment now and see every year going by as an increase in value. I have basically done the same with Steem seeing value in my time doing something I enjoy. I also ask myself why there aren't more doing the same thing. Early bird gets the worm springs to mind, even the ones joining now are early birds.

Over 7500 old war comics! I like old stories.

My collection of stuff has gotten too big, i'm starting to sell it off on ebay, its all comic books, magazines, toys etc

I hope you get a good price for them and then buy something that you can never have too much of and never need sell.

I'm going to invest it in tattoos which are light and easy to move and I cant sell them!

I am so ready for a new tattoo!!!!

As a kid while, I was in school I had this crazy addiction of collecting empty Pen Cases. I used to collect it from teachers, my sister,my father and even my friends.I was so addicted that i waould count them daily before going to bed. they were nearly 200 pen cases in total.

I still remember how heartbroken I was when I lost them during our House shifting.
And now when I am grown up I like to collect pictures of my friends. Although I dont count them daily but once in a while when I open them it fills me with all those memories that I had spent with them.

I've often wondered what "collecting" really is.

I have collected many things: stamps, art, coins, books... and I have ended up selling most of my collections simply to live and get by. So, in a sense, they were a "store of value." They were also "moments" in life... and perhaps psychological "souvenirs" that represent my innate tendency to "delay gratification," often to the point where it is no longer relevant.

I'd LIKE to "collect" SP, but don't count on it because I could end up having to start cashing out tomorrow for no reason other than the winds of fortune turned...I do love the ultimate ideal of collecting enough SP to where simply supporting others offers a basic support of ourselves through curation. Alas, I am only about 1% of the way there.

You got a 32.39% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tarazkp!

I used to collect music but with everything now available at the click of a mouse, I just got rid of it all.

I use to love to collect all things horror related: Movies, toys, books...ect even use to subscribe to a horror box that mailed up varies horror swag. but it seems lately that I just want less material possessions in my life. I guess you could say that I still collect a fair amount of books but digital and physical...

It must be some basic evolutionary construct. Maybe we developed this urge so we collect things we need and give us pleasure. The reason it stresses us out is because we can collect so much these days, where we end up attached to someplace.

I think the points you made mean that steem is even more down than anyone realizes. There is so much incentive to collect it. There's more incentive to collect steem than any other crypto.

I collect good books because I grew up wanting to afford them but I couldn't. I am also collecting Steem because thanks to you and a few others, I understand how valuable it will in a few more years.

Hope your fam is doing great! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30