(Do) We Love Gifts More Than the Ones Who Bring Them(?)

in #philosophy7 years ago (edited)

Like Elton John would say, "It is a sad sad situation," my friends. I was observing some couples around me (in a completely unfreaky way) and realized that they probably have better chances finding Bigfoot than actually feeling love. Of course, those couples look happy on a surface. I mean, we are living in the 21st century with social media controlling our lives... How could anyone be publically unhappy?

Anyway, I was mostly surprised by the fact that those couples base their relationships on a "dog and owner" rule. I mean, you know when your dog is more in love with the treat you have rather than your presence? Or when a mom comes back from the shop and kids run to her just to find out what she brought from the shop? Yup, those were the good times. Sadly, some people are still stuck in those times.

I saw one Facebook post of a girl who just got a coat from her loving boyfriend. She wrote something like "He bought me a coat. My heart is beating much fast out of love." I was about to ask if she loved her boyfriend or the coat but realized that it is a shame to insult innocent people. After all, it is not her fault that she cannot understand the deeper kind of love, which goes beyond materialism.

Most of the people judge how loved they are by the amount of money their other half spend on them.

It is quite tragic... and beautiful at the same time. I don't know about you but seeing such things happening in the world keeps me amazed. It's like I don't need to watch sci-fi and fantasy movies anymore because the way people act is beyond that.

I am not saying that buying gifts is wrong, though. We must always treat our beloved ones, especially when we can. However, if I loved a woman, I could spend eternity with her without receiving a single gift and still feel how my heart beats faster when she is around. That's what love is.

If you need gifts to keep the love going, think about what you love in the first place.

Sort:  

Sometimes the best gift cost nothing...;)

This is a very interesting topic. I took a test of 5 love languages and gifts is one of the factors that we can feel loved. I think gifts are a great way to show affection but it is not up to outsiders to judge a relationship based on their gift-giving actions. The most important presence of my partner is his emotional support, but very now and then, a little indulgence for each other makes us stronger. All in all, every relationship is different and I respect people who feel loved their way.

yes, as I said gifts are important and should never be forgotten. I was more talking about the situation when gifts become the only indicator of love. And I believe it is wrong.
Also, I agree that I cannot judge any relationship apart my own. But I just saw that clear trend which I cannot ignore. I wish I was wrong, tho :)

Congratulations @writingamigo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70