Note To Self #1

in #philosophy5 years ago (edited)

Found this in the archives at the magical commune where I lived when I was itty bitty.

Looking at this image, I'm reminded of experiences I had when I was a child – of staring at photos of myself – studying my face – looking far beyond the surface – searching for things I believed a photo could tell me...things I couldn't perceive from the inside.



This image draws me in like few are capable of doing these days.

Something about my pensive expression – like a gentle foreshadowing of the heaviness my spirit would so soon come to carry – and my softly furrowed brow, framing eyes already so intent in their focus.

I can't help but wonder; what was I witnessing? What had so arrested my attention in this moment? Is this a record of genuine melancholy?

Or am I simply observing with the entirety of my presence, just as I do today?


Remembering Kindness

Gazing at this likeness of my younger self – I feel a compassion for her that hasn't been so easily come by this lifetime.

I'm so terribly hard on myself – striving for a kind of perfection that is ultimately unattainable – holding myself to impossible standards and berating myself for failing to live up to them.

Somehow, stepping outside of myself and courageously looking back – with the invaluable perspective afforded me by photographs such as this – I'm able to hijack the stubborn self-loathing that has become such a dominant part of my inner dialogue.

When viewed as this beautifully innocent little human, I can so effortlessly forgive her flaws. I would never belittle her the way I so habitually disparage myself now.

I could never fault her for trying her damn hardest and being so wonderfully, imperfectly human.


littlez1bitty.jpg


I Love Her

I adore the patchwork freckles, already kissing my soft little cheeks, and the cowlick – that stubborn wave that lays in any direction but the one I want it to – on her, it's a sweet touch of character...the delightful wabi-sabi woven into her cute little, tow-headed fringe.

I'm charmed by my lovingly crocheted poncho and signature 70's plaid pants – likely hand-me-downs, well-worn and threadbare, softened by the four siblings who came before me – with holes in the knees; perfect for the absent-minded worrying of tiny, curious fingers.

I want to wrap her up in my arms, snuggle into her neck and whisper softly... 'it's all gonna be alright.'


Today's my birthday; I often fall into contemplative reverie on the anniversary of my birth.
Though I've vowed to gift myself with a much-needed break from all things electronic, I may post bits of this day's inner meanderings – reflective crumbs for my future self...that I may always find my way back to my truth.

Sort:  

Happy birthday my Scorpio twinsie!! I love the picture Zippy zippers.. are you sure you are not gazing into the possibilites of choco cake ?

We are all imperfect and we should be able to love ourselves just for that , for our strong points and flaws and be able to give ourselves a little soul hug... :)

If that fails.. then.. here is a virtual hug from me ! <3<3<3

Awww...thank you, my precious piglet buddy! I'm tickled to know our birthdays are like neighbor patches in an intricate quilt. Scorpio magic! <3 Big hugs, Pechi! xoxo

Dear Zippy, I missed your birthday yesterday! I am so sorry.. I hope it was beautiful. I love that picture of you, I knew it was you before I even saw who it was, as I saw it resteemed on @clayboyn's page. You have such a memorable face. Who took the picture, do you know? It's award-winning worthy. Just magical.

Happy happy happy birthday.. I hope the coming year is the best ever!
♥♥♥
Lotsa love!!!
Serena

Oh, dear Serena – as if you have anything at all to apologize for! It was rather lovely. Relaxed and laptop free – just as I wanted it to be. :)

I have no idea who took this photo, but – I agree; it's pretty flippin' epic.

Thank you for the beautiful GIF. It's so very you. <3 huggles! xoxo

My gosh, this was a beautifully written post. Every word touched me. And yes - I felt the same looking at that expression!!! I see such sadness - but not from a temper tantrum, or a lost toy.... but that deep sadness that can't be defined... and to see such a little one with it!

wow. I really do wonder what was happening there too. What had those little eyes already seen of the world?

Happy birthday beautiful friend - thanks for touching my heart today <3

Thank you for seeing me, sweet one. I just posted a follow up 'Note To Self' this evening. I think I'm moving towards finishing up a post I started years ago for my regular blog. I've a feeling it'll offer some context for why this little human already wore such an intense expression. Stay tuned. <3

That's a wonderful photo all by itself, but your "contemplative reverie on the anniversary of my birth" has given it that extra "zippyness", that extra dimension and depth I've beccome used to with all your posts. You're truly a wonderfully, imperfectly human, perfectly kind and wise person. So, congratulations, dear @zipporah, and thank you once again for being here, enriching all our lives 😍🙏🍸🍰

I hope you have a great day! 💖

I know you and I speak the same language, good sir Winston. I appreciate the kindness you always afford me – a sincere compassion that is felt all the way across the globe. Thank you for bein' my friend. xo!

It's a valuable lesson: when you look at your younger self you're not as hard on her as you are on your current self. If we remember that tomorrow we would not be as hard on ourself as we are today, maybe we'll live a happier life <3

Happy birthday @zipporah! Be kind to you :-)

It's true – invaluable, really, the lessons I glean from these photos. I suspect remembering to truly love myself will be a lifelong effort, but....I'm learning.

s-l640.jpg

Thank you, dear! 🤗💜🌺

This is just a lovely post from a lovely person!
Happy birthday, Ms Zippy!
You've made it all the way around the sun once again. :-)

Yep – that appears to be true. Here I am...43 year-old me. Let's see how the next rotation goes. <3 hugs! :)

The photo is powerful, just like your writing. Happy Birthday!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, kindly, Mr. Nate. Glad to know you appreciate my ramblings. ;)

What a wonderful treatise on self-compassion! I love your big heart, so so much... 💖

Birthday2013Wonderful.jpg

And I love yours, miss KittyGirl. I really do cherish your presence. <3 xo

Oh my god you were so cute (not that you are not now) but oh my gos those freckles and eyes filled with wonder... remember her and embrace her for that is who you are still, we all shift but we also are who we were, are and will be. Happy Birthday just becoming wiser... Best regards and hope you celebrated among yours

I do agree – I think I was pretty damn cute! Intense, to be sure, but cute none-the-less. Thanks for the bday wishes, dear! <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24