Hiking in the Belgian Countryside Again - Beautiful Fall Weather

in #photo5 years ago

IMG_20181204_130240522.jpg


About 8 months ago, I wrote a similar post where I went on a walk through the same area as you see on these pictures. Only, then it was spring and it was around 30°C, it was a whole lot colder this time around.

I usually walk down this path whenever I visit my dad in my hometown of Tremelo. This time of the year, the dirt roads are muddy and are full of leaves that have fallen of the trees. It's extremely slippery and not the kind of terrain I want to walk through with my good shoes.


IMG_20181204_125749859.jpg


I usually make a quick stop at the small bridge, just to check the water level of the small stream. I'm looking forward to the day where there actually a decent amount of water flowing through, because the past couple of years the water level has been very low.


IMG_20181204_125856130.jpg


IMG_20181204_125923382.jpg


This area was apparently pretty busy, back in the 19th century. People used it as a foot-road to go to the nearby town of Werchter. I've tried magnet fishing in the small stream, but I reckon that there are just too many decaying leaves in the bottom. That would certainly cover any sort of relics, making it impossible to get them by magnet fishing.

Still, it's easily one of my favourite areas to walk through, since I played there a lot when I was a child. A bunch of trees have disappeared since then, but a lot are still standing. Seems like the lightning struck a couple of them down as well...


IMG_20181204_130050550.jpg


IMG_20181204_130111032.jpg


Notice that those trees have massive mushrooms on them? I have no idea what species they are, but they are bigger than your hand. Probably not edible though and I wouldn't be able to get to them if they were.


IMG_20181204_130132236_HDR.jpg


Usually I'll come across a few people on these walks, when it's very muddy, people like to come there for mountain-biking or cyclocross. The area isn't exactly big enough for a 4x4, but I do see some jeeps occasionally.

It was around 10°C the past couple of days, which is a lot warmer than usual. We have yet to see below zero temperatures here, which is a little bit concerning. I for one can't wait till we get a few inches of snow, that's still going to take a month at least though.

I hope you've enjoyed reading this post! Have a great day!



Sort:  

Lovely countryside @daan, better put on those gumboots not so ;)
Here we're already sweating, but temperature changes overnight to a sudden cold spell, climate change is definitely playing a part, I agree, it is worrying!

It's good that you can still take some walks now. It seems to be constantly raining here for the last week.

The nights are drawing in too so there's little time. Good to see you getting out even at this time of year.

Oh here it was raining too for around 4 days straight. Just got lucky with this one day of sunshine and blue skies :D

It looks deceptively warm in those photos! I guess you got a good day before the darkness came out... or maybe things are completely different over the border! IT does look like a nice nature walk though... I'm hoping the snow will hold off until next weekend, I have to drive to Koln!

It's the filters I've used :D It really wasn't that warm, like I mentioned just 10°C.

I know, deceptively warm! I've come to expect it here in Netherlands... it looks fine from the inside, but then I freeze as soon as I step out!

Looks like you had a beautiful day for the walk, I would so much prefer walking there than around the busy city where most of my walks take place

Hi @daan, looks like my neighborhood here in east east Belgium

Posted using Partiko iOS

Huh, I had no idea you were from Belgium. Guess that kinda explains the love of beer...
This is in Tremelo, Vlaams-Brabant :)

Yes, Beer-Belgium is the place to be.
I'm in Eupen area, means 1.5 hours away

Nice post! That looks like an awesome walk and a cool area to explore. You are lucky that you don't have to worry about snow for another month. We were slipping and sliding all the way in to work today! Hopefully we end up with the more mild Winter they were calling for.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @daan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.752 which ranks you at #4841 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 251 contributions, your post is ranked at #33.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 333 (12/07/18)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25