Mayfly season!

in #photo6 years ago (edited)

20180702_072043.jpg

Mayfly season is almost upon us, here by the lakes in northern Michigan. I'm told in summers past, they were so thick that leaf blowers had to be used to clear them off the sidewalks.

Once out of the water, they only live about a day. Just long enough to reproduce before they die. Can you imagine having a life that short? What would you do with those few hours?

Hopefully something more interesting than staring at yourself in the mirror like this guy. 😉

Sort:  

I didn't know their lives wee so short! I've only seen one here once. I thought it was a baby dragonfly.

They creep me out. I know that's mean, especially since they're harmless, but come on! Butt antenna?? What the heck is that about!

(They actually do live longer, but it's their nymph stage. They spend all their lives in water, then grow up and die. If that's not a reason to bring back Toys R Us...)

Adulthood kills!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81