Stuctures. Photochallenge. St Francis Xavier's Cathedral, Adelaide.

St Francis Xavier's Cathedral, Adelaide.

This is my entry for today's Structural Photochallenge.

If you would like to participate click here for the details.

This magnificent cathedral is situated in Adelaide in south Australia. It has been classified as a Gothic revival building adapted from the early English style.

The first foundational stone was laid in 1856 and the construction of the tower was started in 1887 but it was not finished until 1996 after suffering considerable damage from an earthquake in 1954.

tqsayd6pel.jpg

Celtic symbols are featured throughout and the cathedral has had three organs throughout its history. The first one was put in place by Johann Wolff in 1896. It had two pedals and one manual. This was replaced by an organ with two manuals by J.E.Dodd in 1926 and this was rebuilt in 1954.

Source:

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

wt9p7tuiz2.gif

Posted using eSteem Surfer

09nl4xkzj2.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks very much @pixresteemer. 💐

That is a very lovely cathedral. I've always loved this style and bricks are my favourite. Have a nice day dear Trudee 🙂

Hello dear Erika. Thanks so much for visiting. This really is a magnificent cathedral and one day I will do a blog on it as I had the pleasure of taking photos inside as well.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=stuctures-photochallenge-st-francis-xavier-s-cathedral-adelaide


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks very much @steemitworldmap. 💐

What a big cathedral! Very impressive and probably haunted too!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I didn't look or feel haunted @kaminchan but then again.......i did visit in the day time. It was beautifully maintained and the structure was quite incredible. Many thanks for taking the time to visit and comment. It is always appreciated. 💐

This place has such strong vibes!
Probably the guardian enetgy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

I must take another look to see what you can see @kaminchan. 😊

Aha! It’s just my imagination! It’s always quite wild!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coming from the UK these buildings are two a penny. Everywhere you look from churches to cathedrals many built around the 12th Century.
It so great to see the similar style but in pristine condition and under 200 years old. Great picture Trudee. Have a great day my friend 😀😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi Andy,

Yes, I daresay buildings like this look very familiar to you. England has such a wealth of architectural history compared to Australia and this is one of the things that appeal to me if I ever get the opportunity to travel there.

Great to catch up again. I hope all is well with you and Jemma on your island paradise. 😊 THanks so much for your welcome visit my friend. 💐

ello dear Trudee .... this is really a magnificent Gothic structure. It´s perfect! I am impressed!

Thanks @mers I will do a post with more photos of this great cathedral soon. Glad you like it. 😊

What an impressive cathedral such cool detail

It certainly is JJ and very well maintained. I'll post more images of this magnificent cathedral soon.

It looks so pristine I look forward to seeing more photos of it int he future I hope your weekend is going well :)

wow Trudee that is such a classic and elegant building! I love the look of the different colored stones, that's very unusual! And you've been inside?

It is quite an incredible building John and Yes, we went inside. One day I will do a blog on it. 😊

Howdy this fine Saturday Trudee! Oh I look forward to that post!

I'll try and get it done before the end of the year. 😄 😁

howdy Trudee! oh, before the end of the year? lol. well yes, there's no reason to rush it and it's your blog so you can do it when you feel like it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83