Animal Photography - Downy Woodpecker

in #photocircle5 years ago

Hey Steemians! I took these pictures last summer as a woodpecker pecked away at the tree in my yard. It was after I started the day job and I can remember how tired I was from the new job but I still managed to snap a few pictures. It was easy since I didn't have to walk off my deck. This was one of the last animal photography shots I took in 2018 as work consumed my life. Slowly but surely I am getting back to it though!


Share your photography to #photocircle and follow @photocircle!


Downy Woodpecker

I am not much of a bird watcher so I can't tell you much about this woodpecker, but I at least took the time to try an identify it. I do believe it is a female also. These woodpeckers are loud and it was the noise it was making that prompted me to check outside to see what it was. I ignored it for about 30 minutes, but then it dawned on me that it would be a good time to take some pictures of it. There are a lot of different birds around here so now I am curious how many different species I can capture!

DSC_0559scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0559CROP.JPG

It was actually pretty hard getting a decent picture of this bird because she wouldn't stay still. There were quite a few shots where the body came out good but the head is just a blur. It makes me wish I had recorded a short video to go along with this post as well.

DSC_0553crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0550crop.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0547scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!

I don't think I've ever even seen a woodpecker before, so this was new for me. At least I've never paid so much attention to one, if I have seen one. Per the website I looked up to identify her, a male would have a red patch on his head.
DSC_0543scaled.JPG
You can click on the image to view full screen!!
DSC_0543crop.JPG

Category#animalphotography
CameraNikon D3400 24 MP
LensAF-P NIKKOR 70-300mm 1:4.5-6.3G ED
LocationSuperior, WI

I wasn't sure if I was going to share these because I wasn't satisfied with the background. It was a grey and cloudy day and I feel like it would have looked better with a blue sky in the background. I believe fall was already setting in so the lack of green in the picture was fitting!

Thanks for stopping by and hope you enjoyed the Downy Woodpecker! Steem on!

@bitfiend

Woodpecker.gif

Previous Animal Photography Posts


When I joined Steemit I made the decision to always Power-Up my earnings. For now, payouts are set to 50/50 but you bet I will convert & Power Up! Besides internal transfers, I have never cashed out and don't plan on it! Power-Up only!

power-up.jpg

Please Consider @comedyopenmic for witness!

Proudly a part of the #comedyopenmic / #comedyopenmicespanol community! Make people laugh with your original jokes! Curate, Participate, Donate, Delegate!
Click The Banner Below To Vote @ComedyOpenMic For Witness And Disrupt The Steem Blockchain With Laughter!
Support COM Banner

Thank you to @matytan for the great banner

Sort:  

Hello @bitfiend, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87