[Video] Photography Tutorial - How to Shoot Sunstars.

in #photocircle6 years ago

Looking for an interesting photography idea? In this video I'll show you how to shoot sunstars! Shooting in bright sunny conditions is usually not good as the light is very harsh. But I'll show you how to use it to your advantage!



Click on the video below to check it out!

To achieve this effect, shoot at around f16 and position the sun so that it's peeking behind something. You have to finesse your position otherwise you won't get the shot.



It's a simple technique and you can get some stunning results! Here are some shots during the night (be sure to take a look at the street lights)...





I didn't mention it in the video but the following images are from an art installation just outside of the Chihuly Gallery in Seattle. Out of the 4,000 images I took while on vacation these were some of my favorite. I'm not sure quite why - but I guess it's those unexpected serendipitous shots that resonate with me! Plus it could have something to do with the circular rainbow around the sun (which I've never seen before). As a side note - while chatting with a fellow photographer the next day, he told me he saw the rainbow in Vancouver!



That's if for now and on a final note - if you love doggies, be sure to check out my previous video - Episode 12: Behind the scenes submission for @flamingirl's "We Love Animals" photo contest. Click below to head over to DTube.


STEEMIT_PLUG

Posted from my blog - check out colonphoto.com for more!

Sort:  

Worth pushing your luck with your wife, great shots! Haha! Cool video @mikeycolon!

LOL You - know how that goes!

When I ask friends and family (that are not into photography) if they want to come with me shooting I get moans and sometimes a "hell no"! LOL

Yup, I know that story all too well. It's good to have photographer friends that understand and move at a similar pace.

But the flipside to that coin is you can get stuck chatting and not working on getting shots! LOL

Haha! True! But that's what the drive and often the hike are for...

Congratulations @mikeycolon! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Great tips, I enjoyed your video too. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14