Looking across at Manhattan

in #photocircle5 years ago

Looking across at Manhattan

As you most probably have worked out by now I work in Manhattan, but I occasionally venture over to Long Island City for a morning stroll before heading to work, and these shots are from Long Island City, looking across the East River at Manhattan

1 views from Long Island City-1.jpg

Sony A7iii 66mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



The main building in this shot, is the Main United Nations Secretariat building by the East River, it is the first building I worked in when I first came to NY many years ago, and possibly from Monday, I will be working in till I finish working in NYC, I say possibly for two reasons, firstly the people in the spots we are meant to be moving to have not moved yet, secondly because change is constant and I can't be sure the plan for us to stay there for any set duration is a sure bet, but there is a good chance I will be working there till I retire but I have learned to be flexible and time will tell.

1 views from Long Island City-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 35mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



This second shot shows some of the Manhattan Skyline, it doesn't show any of the well known around the world buildings, but does shot a couple that catch my eye, the tall Dark building is the Trump World Tower building on First Avenue, which also featured in a post earlier this week with looking up and sun flares.
The other interesting building it the tall think looking building called by many the pencil building because of its small footprint is 432 Park Avenue, a 96 floor residential skyscaper, which features 125 Condominiums

1 views from Long Island City-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 126mm F8 1/200 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And this last shot is zoomed in on this old building on Roosevelt Island, covered in vines and such, it was a smallpox hospital initially, and was open till the 50's when it fell into disrepair and was abandoned.


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.


tatooddj.png

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.745569 lat -73.959178 long Long Island City NY d3scr

Sort:  

🙌

Posted using Partiko iOS

I especially like the ex-hospital.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Yeah that is my favorite of these, its strange in NYC with all the new construction and shortage of space, how this spot has stayed vacant and run down for so long

I hope your weekend is going well

Not only did I enjoy your photos, but I also enjoyed learning more about the buildings in your photos. Thanks for sharing.

I hope you will quickly learn about your job location.

Seems like we will be moving on Monday and the ones that were there should have moved out yesterday, for me I don't really care at the moment, eventually we will move to hot desking so its first in first served and luckily I am always the first in the office

Great shots @tatoodjay, never having been to NYC it's fun to see the buildings we hear about. So you are moving to a new job location? Hope that is a positive thing for you! Enjoy your weekend friend!

Thanks and my job basically stays the same just a bit of a reorganization and a new location the rest pretty much stays the same

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Those are some awesome shots and that is really cool that you worked in the main UN building. I got some shots of it myself one of the times I was in New York.

And I move back into it today, I know exactly where you were standing taking this shot as well, but i should I walk by it at least once a week :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=looking-across-at-manhattan


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great photos. Wonderful views of Manhattan. I am always amazed at spots like the old hospital on Roosevelt Island. In the most expensive real estate markets in the world you can always still find old buildings begging to be redeveloped.

Thanks and I have been surprised to see it vacant and run down like this for so long.
I do remember reading something a few months ago that there were plans to do something there but havent noticed any work on it yet

Great shots Jay, with a clear blue sky day ....

thanks mate yes it was nice that day unlike the recent weather we have had

I'm in Toronto, so our skyline does not compete..

But sometimes, when you look up and just go wow, you know.. just... wow

And NYC is always a pleasure to visit.. the city of cities

Ohh yes even have worked in NYC for many years now sometimes i look up and still get that WOW feeling

I hope your weekend is going well

I had a perfect storm of good coffee, podcasts, laying about losing muscle mass..

simply the best kind of weekend.. thanks for asking..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83