Milford Duck race Cleanup

in #photocircle5 years ago

Milford Duck race Cleanup

I'm Back

Well Semi back, will be on today but also have a lot to do, tomorrow I will be back to my normal routine
One Annual event that I used to go to every year here in Milford is the Milford Duck Race, which is a fun family event or many years it was run by a local school to raise money, but when the school closed the event stopped for a few years, and restarted last year ran by the United Way of Milford and the Woodruff Family YMCA as a fun family event and a fundraiser.
The Fun part os all the people going there to watch the race, and the Fund Raising is through people can buy a duck ( well they do not get the actual duck just the number on it) and prizes are donated and given to the first os many ducks that win the race.

I missed the event this year I forgot completely it was on at the time but happened to walk past as they were collecting the ducks after the race and that's what I will share in this post

Let me first show you the track for the duck race.

The ducks are dropped I believe by a Bulldozer off the bridge in this shot, below the firetruck and above the waterfall.

1  Duck Race clan up-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 52mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


You may wonder about the firetruck and the spraying water, that's part of the cleanup after the race and I showed some detail of the firefighters in this post, for this post I will share some shots of the duck cleanup.

The Ducks float down the river in the race, and the first so many are collected and the numbers noted for the prizes that are donated and given to the winners of the race, the flotation across the river is to stop by from floating away and out to the ocean.

The guy in the canoe in this shot is collecting the ducks and loading them into a canoe, they are then put into buckets and pulled up by members of the event staff up onto the bridge and stored away for future years events.

1  Duck Race clan up.jpg

Sony A7iii 46mm F8 1/160 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


This next shot is zoomed in to show more detail of the ducks collected into the canoe

1  Duck Race clan up-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And another shot of the ducks, now I am probably too Old to still find rubber duckies floatign down a river or collected like this in a canoe, I still find it such a fun event.

1  Duck Race clan up-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 240mm F8 1/320 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



And another wider shot of the firefighters hosing down to get the ducks out of the rocks so they will float down to be collected

1   Duck Race clean up-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 90mm F8 1/200 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 41.222014 lat -73.057572 long Downtown Milford CT d3scr

Sort:  

That looks like a lot of fun and cool that it is a fundraiser!

Well, I'm glad you are back. I hope the time you spent with family was pleasant. At least you got a little respite from the grind!

Pretty cool deal to show the aftermath of the duck race. Behind the scene as it were...

On an unrelated matter: My friend (who has a swimming pool) found a rubber duckie with a solar cell so the duckie in his pool is lit at night. It IS as cool as it sounds!!

Glad to be back :)
Thanks it was cool to see the cleanup even if i missed the race itself

How cool is that rubber duck your friend has must be awesome to see :)

It seems like it would be really hard to determine which duck crossed the line first if they just dump the lot of them into the river all at once. It still seems like a really awesome event!

It is such a fun even a pity I missed the actual event,
They use those flotation thingies to channel the ducks to a little channel that the ducks go into one by one and thats how they pick the winners

That makes a ton of sense!

When I saw your title I thought it was real ducks! I wondered how they got them so well trained :D

NOw that would be so cool a real duck race with Actual ducks ;)

I love these duck races! Nice shot of the close-up ducks! Which lens were you using there?

These events really bring the people out and create unity in the community, doesn't it? I will say that the duck race that I used to go to put numbers on their ducks back so there was a clear winner and you sponsored a duck. That is how they made their money.

And as I rescrolled the pictures, I see that yours have numbers! LOL

Great post and such fun times. I hope you had a wonderful time away!

!tip

Ohh yes I had a great Time Zoeys Birthday and Chris's Graduation were celebrated :), the first time I have been to graduation and it was a fun event a lot better than what I was expecting LOL

I was using my 24-240 Lens for most of these shots, I handy lens when walking around :)

Thanks! I do love your stories.

For a minute there i was confused saying to myself how cruel is that the ducks been dropped off the bridge by a bulldozer how can they allow that then further down the post i noticed they are rubber ducky's ...lol...you had me going there for a while :)

Had me going, too. I thought they were dumping live ducks off a bridge into the river with a bulldozer, and I thought, ---> WTF kind of barbaric behavior is this?

I was also relieved to find out they were just rubber.

Yep @tattoodjay has a way of putting things in a twist so funny but all ended well....lol :)

Sorry about that and your not the only one i should have worded it better and no Ducks were harmed in this race ;)

Haha..i bet there was but it did make a good story with a happy ending..lol :)

Lol that’s true enough

Oh my goodness! I was expecting actual live ducks! I was thinking, they dumped them with a bulldozer?! What?
LOL
Looks like a fun event!

I really worded this post so badly I maybe should have put the photo of the rubber ducks first
I can say no ducks 🦆 were harmed for this event

Bah ha ha, Well, I enjoyed this post, no matter what kind of ducks were involved. :D

ok THATS GOOD :)

This is so fun! Do you have a large gathering each year? Looks like a beautiful day :)

I missed the actual event this year but they used to get a good turnout with lots of people and vendors

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for the resteem Appreciated ;)

Bringing the child out in everyone, what an awesome event to fund raise on.

Outing for families, target practice for the fire department fishing them out of the rocks, so glad they are rubber duckies not the living ones at that.

OHh yes if I saw the fire department spraying live ducks I would not be impressed but with rubber duckies it is fine and fun :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88