Landscape/Seascape Contest Week #042 - A wall of ice

in #photocontest5 years ago

DSC_042.jpg

This photo was taken in Greenland. We are approaching the Eqi glacier, one of the most active glaciers in Greenland. The ship makes a stop about 1 km. from the glacier. It is an amazing sight. Like a wall of ice! The sound of a calving glacier is loud and powerful, like rolling thunder or a sudden blast of a shotgun. The chunks will hit the water with a huge splach, creating waves we could feel on the boat. The glacier is about 5 kilometers in length, 170 meters high and it moves about 19 meter a day. I really felt very litle in front of it!


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next photo shoot. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest photo shoot, check out :
Steemit Portrait Photography Contest Week 94 - Two of a kind


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

What a fantastic shot! I see you like to travel all around the world. I've been focusing on Europe a lot. 😎

Thanks :) Yes I do love to travel. Greenland is in fact in a way "Europe" It is it is Danish, but with an inner self-government. They speak Danish, you fly directly from Copenhagen ...( I was born an raised in Denmark, but mooved to Norway as an adult) I did focus a lot on Europe when I first started to travel and I have been to most European contries, except Portugal, Spain and Switzerland. I am starting to look at Europe again. Been to Poland. Going to Hungary in september and Spain in december....

Congratulations @digi-me! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77