Tarantula Hawk

in #photocontests6 years ago (edited)

One of the most excruciating and debilitating stings we have here in the Arizona Desert.
_MG_9053-2.jpg
It's a wasp, a solitary wasp at that, but why is it called the tarantula hawk? Because it literally prays on tarantulas! Who does that?! What in the world prays on tarantulas and it's smaller than they are, much smaller?! These terribly cool wasps do!

Needless to say I kept my distance from this seemingly little insect. This wasp is nothing like any other wasps though. It packs a sting that according to what I have read, it's excruciating and debilitating. Yikes and ouch! Super ouch!

I was also lucky to spot these fluff balls, cute desert cottontails. Much more cute and safer to be around than the previous critter.
IMG_9867-2.jpg
I don't believe this much cuteness needs any of my blabbering. Therefore without further ado, enjoy the fluffiness :)
IMG_9880-3.jpg

IMG_9871.jpg

IMG_9878-2.jpg

IMG_9877.jpg

Greater Earless Lizard!
_MG_1015.jpg
Say what?! Nope, it doesn't have any ear openings, but I'm sure they manage :) This is one of the most colorful lizards here in the Arizona desert and a favorite of mine. This particular one seems to be a survivor nevertheless. Notice it's short and grayish tail. It must have had to ditch part of it's tail in order to escape danger. Pretty cool feat!

_MG_1068-2.jpg
This is the most common lizard in the area and altough its not fancy at all, it does have a cool name. Urosaurus ornatus, also called tree lizard but this name is much less exciting so lets not call it that here ;)

This is the first time I’ve seen this handsome bird. I was impressed with it's long tail feathers and black mask.
IMG_4710.jpg
This bird's name is Abert's Towhee and he's also a resident of the South West.
IMG_4711.jpg
These pictures were taken while it rained, a much needed break for all desert creatures.

A mourning dove enjoying the rain.
IMG_4723.jpg

Pair of desert quail or Gambel's quail (godorniz in Spanish)
IMG_4702.jpg
The male can be distinguished from the female by it's black markings on it's throat, chest and belly. Quail's are mostly terrestrial birds, however, they do "glide/fly" a little bit to avoid danger. A type of "flying/gliding" such as that of chickens or pheasants.

This is all for now. I will make another post as I am able to capture more of these beautiful desert creatures with my camera. As always, thank you for reading my posts!

I hope you enjoyed these photos as much as I enjoyed taking them :)

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 2/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-09T07:09:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 58.50/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations on a curie upvote!

This post is a true beauty!

Cheers!

Omg THANK YOU!! 🙏🏼 Please let me know how I can support what you do ❤️

well one of the things we are struggling now is witness position.
You can vote for Curie witness to support our project of helping quality and persistent authors without much success. :)
Cheers!

Absolutely, do I just type curie? I will try it, thank you!! :)

Indeed!
And keep posting quality stuff and we are all pleased, and soon you can reap your rewards. ;) See you around, Cheers!

Howdy partner, I'm @photocurator, a curation bot; I keep an eye on the photo feeds, I vote random photos of my followers and at the end of the day I publish a post with links to the best photos. Follow @photocurator to get your photos curated in the future!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85