A picture of an Elk I think? Taken on a recent adventure.

in #photofeed5 years ago

Saw this what I think is an Elk when I was out adventuring with my brother and I had never seen one around here before at such low elevation, just deer.. I've seen Elk up in Flagstaff, and I imagine there's some down in the canyon there, though this was a first for me after my whole life of living around here.

Unfortunately the shot was handheld from a long ways away and I could barely even properly zoom in to get a lock on the creature as it was running pretty fast and my brother was also yelling really loud in the distance cause it was getting dark.. But I managed to get at least one where I could decently make out what it looks like and I looked on Google and am pretty sure it is Elk.

I looked online and apparently they represent endurance and strength and stuff like that which is perfect for the close to 20 mile hike we went on.

Also when I first heard it and saw it I thought maybe it was a huge mountain lion going after my brother cause it was running fast and breaking a bunch of plants as it ran which is not typical from my understanding of animals, they usually only run like that when a predator is chasing them? From my experience anyways.. So it was a bit surprising.. I wonder why it was running so fast and breaking so much stuff as it ran?

Perhaps there was a mountain lion or some kind of predator after it..? That's a possibility and something to be concerned about, especially as I want to go explore that area more in the future and even have plans in the not too distant future to check it out with my friend.. So.. Something to be cognizant and aware of and to also respect. If need be I think I could fight one off with my big heavy tripod, but.. I wouldn't wanna even get close if I can help it.

Anyways that's enough for now. For those who appreciate details.. This was filmed in.. Uhhh.. The wilderness sort of close to Sedona/Jerome in Arizona and was captured on an ELPH 360. Peace!

IMG_4364 normal.jpg

Sort:  

He looks like he is scared, this place is very beautiful with trees left and right.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hey Paul' your right that's an Elk. You pulled it off, nice shot!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28